We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Hamacas - CLOSED

Banana Hamacas
Main Street next to Casino, San Juan del Sur 00001, Nicaragua
+50587894397
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Asian, Caribbean, Mediterranean, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Banana Hamacas is a restaurant and bar located in the center of town in San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua. Chilled atmosphere in the day and the best place to pre drink in town during the evening.Our food and drinks boast flavors you won't be able to find anywhere else in town.At Banana Hamacas, everything we serve is fresh and healthy. All of our dishes are cooked using extra virgin olive oil. Our famous juices and smoothies are either 100% natural, or sweetened with local honey. The majority of our produce comes directly from local sources.We also boast the FASTEST WIFI IN TOWN!So come in, grab a drink and a bite to eat, relax and enjoy.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Delicious!!! We will definitely be back tomorrow. We read about this place on TripAdvisor. We are sorry that we did not eat here earlier.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaHamacasSJDS, Manager at Banana Hamacas, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hi. Thanks for leaving a review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed yourself at BanHams. And we're glad that this website is helping you travelling folk, explore great places to eat and drink! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    8
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome smoothies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I actually developed an addiction to the Banana Hamacas smoothies! The only downside is that they weren't open longer during the day.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaHamacasSJDS, Manager at Banana Hamacas, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hello. Thank you kindly for leaving a review. It's very much appreciated. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit at BanHams. And we're sorry that we couldn't full-fill your late night needs. Come on back whenever you want. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great smoothies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Delicious, huge, smoothies and very tasty breakfast and lunch options. I had the tacos with eggs, avocado, beans and cheese and they were great. There is WIFI here too! I only wish they were open for dinner too since there didn't seem to be too many other vegetarian-friendly options in town.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaHamacasSJDS, Manager at Banana Hamacas, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hi! Thanks for being so kind as to leave such a great review. We're very happy that you enjoyed the food and drinks. You're welcome back any time. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“drop the television”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Excellent breakfast burrito for Nicaragua. I agree with another poster that it feels like an internet cafe that serves food. It is boring sitting on the street staring at the back of someone's laptop. Not bad for take out, but not a place where to take a date.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaHamacasSJDS, Manager at Banana Hamacas, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Hi. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're very glad you enjoyed the food. We're sorry you felt like it was an internet cafe. We don't actually supply any computers for our customers. In fact, we don't have any computers in the restaurant at all. Just the fastest WIFI in town. And remember you can plug your lap top in FREE OF CHARGE!!!!!!! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omatepe
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best smoothies/tacos in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

They do really good tacos and smoothies. The cashew banana smoothie I had was incredible. The atmosphere is nice as well, lots of people passing through, good wi-fi and a couple LCD tv's playing surf videos or sporting events.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaHamacasSJDS, Manager at Banana Hamacas, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Hello, and thank you for being so kind as to leave such a splendid review. We're so glad you enjoyed the smoothies and breakfast tacos. Please, come again. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Hamacas also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Hamacas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.