We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“drop the television” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Hamacas - CLOSED

Banana Hamacas
Main Street next to Casino, San Juan del Sur 00001, Nicaragua
+50587894397
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Asian, Caribbean, Mediterranean, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Banana Hamacas is a restaurant and bar located in the center of town in San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua. Chilled atmosphere in the day and the best place to pre drink in town during the evening.Our food and drinks boast flavors you won't be able to find anywhere else in town.At Banana Hamacas, everything we serve is fresh and healthy. All of our dishes are cooked using extra virgin olive oil. Our famous juices and smoothies are either 100% natural, or sweetened with local honey. The majority of our produce comes directly from local sources.We also boast the FASTEST WIFI IN TOWN!So come in, grab a drink and a bite to eat, relax and enjoy.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“drop the television”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Excellent breakfast burrito for Nicaragua. I agree with another poster that it feels like an internet cafe that serves food. It is boring sitting on the street staring at the back of someone's laptop. Not bad for take out, but not a place where to take a date.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaHamacasSJDS, Manager at Banana Hamacas, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Hi. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're very glad you enjoyed the food. We're sorry you felt like it was an internet cafe. We don't actually supply any computers for our customers. In fact, we don't have any computers in the restaurant at all. Just the fastest WIFI in town. And remember you can plug your lap top in FREE OF CHARGE!!!!!!! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    8
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omatepe
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best smoothies/tacos in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

They do really good tacos and smoothies. The cashew banana smoothie I had was incredible. The atmosphere is nice as well, lots of people passing through, good wi-fi and a couple LCD tv's playing surf videos or sporting events.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaHamacasSJDS, Manager at Banana Hamacas, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Hello, and thank you for being so kind as to leave such a splendid review. We're so glad you enjoyed the smoothies and breakfast tacos. Please, come again. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best hangover breakfast in San Juan Del Sur, and Canadian ceasers!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

I pretty much eat here everyday.. Smoothies are huge and so delicious. Atmosphere is warm and welcoming, great painting on the wall. Food is fabulous, breakfast burritos are hands down the best I have had on my trip. They have wifi, total bonus. Defiantly a spot worth checking out. I will miss it when I leave.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaHamacasSJDS, Manager at Banana Hamacas, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Hi. It's very kind of you to write a review. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed our food and smoothies so much. We strive to supply the people in SJDS with the freshest and healthiest ingredients, so it's great to hear that they are being enjoyed. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“good food, street side seating not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The food was good but the atmosphere was impersonal. It was a little warm, but we sat outside which I won't do again in the afternoon. The noise and the sun were too much too handle at once. All of the other guests were using their laptops. It felt more like the internet cafe next door. Mrs Sam G was not a fan of the Jamaica Tea. We love stirfrys, so this place was a treat. The food was good but the portions are on the small side. We left and had appetizers on the beach for dessert.

The owners might want to change their name. Mrs Sam G was offended by the image of a banana wearing a speedo.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaHamacasSJDS, Manager at Banana Hamacas, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Hi. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're so glad you enjoyed the food. If you left a little hungry, try the mega bowl stir fry next time. And yes, it will be very hot in the sun in the afternoon. Next time, perhaps you could sit inside the restaurant under the fans. Also remember to take advantage of our super-fast WIFI. We are so sorry to hear that Mrs Sam G was offended by the giant banana wearing a Speedo. He wanted to be fully nude, but we thought it best to cover his modesty. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Love the food love the staff recommend the back door. This is aust eat on San Juan. Also a great place to watch a game with our a lot of people getting in the way.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaHamacasSJDS, Manager at Banana Hamacas, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Hola, and gracias very much for leaving a review. It's very kind of you to take the time to do so. WWe're looking forward to seeing you again, soon. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Hamacas also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Hamacas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.