We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food, Amazing Staff, Amazing Experience!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Hamacas - CLOSED

Banana Hamacas
Main Street next to Casino, San Juan del Sur 00001, Nicaragua
+50587894397
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Asian, Caribbean, Mediterranean, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Banana Hamacas is a restaurant and bar located in the center of town in San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua. Chilled atmosphere in the day and the best place to pre drink in town during the evening.Our food and drinks boast flavors you won't be able to find anywhere else in town.At Banana Hamacas, everything we serve is fresh and healthy. All of our dishes are cooked using extra virgin olive oil. Our famous juices and smoothies are either 100% natural, or sweetened with local honey. The majority of our produce comes directly from local sources.We also boast the FASTEST WIFI IN TOWN!So come in, grab a drink and a bite to eat, relax and enjoy.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Food, Amazing Staff, Amazing Experience!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Bowls are delicious!!! Wraps are fantastic!
My fav is the Carribean bowl!
"Lets fo pre-drinking at Hamacas before we go drinking!!! woop!"
Seriously, fun place, fun people and awesome food!!!!
Can't wait to go back!!!
See you in Nov!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Banana Hamacas, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Michelle, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We're very happy you enjoyed our food and drinks. You were a joy to have here at Ban Ham. We hope you come back soon. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    8
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Great food, great atmosphere, great company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I highly recommend you stop by this little gem if you're in the area. The food is good and good for you! The smoothies are super yummy, and everything they use is local and fresh. During the day it's a place to have a laid back breakfast or lunch and watch a game. Once the sun goes down they turn up the music and the banana shot ski comes out! Definitely try the trash can punch, and don't worry about having one too many. Just stop in the next morning for a detox smoothie with breakfast.

The staff is super chill and very attentive. It's absolutely a place I'll visit again. It's super easy to find; just keep an eye out for the giant banana

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Banana Hamacas, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Laine, thanks so much for stopping by Ban Hams. It was a pleasure to have you and your friends here. I'm just sorry you missed out on the title of 'Flip Cup Champions 2012', but you were close. Thank you for your review. We hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Is like walking into your best buddy´s place who happens to make amazing food! The menu is just great... It is refreshing to have healthy food and drinks available in town. The prices are perfect for the kind and amounts of food you get and the staff tries really hard to make you feel at home. Went with a group of friends and all of us were fully satisfied with every order.. We are coming back for sure!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Banana Hamacas, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Lu, were very glad that you enjoyed your time here at Banana Hamacas. Our aim is to make people feel relaxed, so we're happy that you had a good time here. We look forward to seeing you again. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Banana Hamacas was by far the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I recently visited San Juan del Sur and ate at Banana Hamacas numerous times. Each time the food was excellent and affordable. The staff were pleasant and a joy to talk to. If you want a healthy, satisfying meal, I highly recommend it for breakfast, lunch or dinner! The smoothies are to die for as well!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaHamacasSJDS, Manager at Banana Hamacas, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Denise, your comments are very much appreciated by all the staff. It was such a pleasure to have you here to hang out and dine with us. You're sorely missed. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bananalicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Banana Hamacas is a vibrant and friendly establishment in the heart of San Juan del Sur. The food and healthy juices were delicious and very reasonably priced. The staff were very attentive and friendly. I recommend this place as a great lunchtime pitstop or breakfast hangover cure :) If you find yourself there after dark, make sure to try a shot at the banana ski!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Banana Hamacas, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Liz, we really appreciate your review. You were great fun to have at Ban Ham, and we hope you come back soon. We're very glad you enjoyed partying and then nursing your hangover with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Hamacas also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Hamacas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.