We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Winner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Isabella

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Villa Isabella to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Isabella
Diagonal Norte Iglesias Catolica San Juan del Sur Rivas, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Winner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Hotel is owned by a Californian who spends lots of time at the hotel and is a great source of knowledge on nearly restaurants, beaches, tours and general info on Nicaragua. The rooms are clean and spacious and quiet. The inclusive breakfast is American style filling and tasty and the service is excellent. The hotel has Wi-fi and a swimming pool and is located on the North side of the town, just a few blocks from most restaurants and bars but still distant enough to be out of earshot from the night life banter. While not the most luxurious hotel that we stayed at during our 2 week stay in Nicaragua, this was the one my teenage kids liked the best. Gary R

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    34
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
35
36
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aachen, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at Villa Isabella just for one night, cause on the next day my girlfriend get bit by bit more bites on both legs. First we thought it were just normal mosquito bites but then my girlfriend found a bedbug in the bathroom, then we started to find more indicates for those bugs and we found the bugs poo and an old shell of a bug. now to the rest of the hotel we paid even in low season overpried price the breakfast was okay. the staff was helpfull and friendly. the chef didnt gave money back cause of the bugs, thats the resaon for this review now.

Room Tip: dont take room 8 if u going there
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Forget anything negative you've read about Mike being a jerk, because for us, that certainly was not the case. We loved him, just like the hotel. After a crappy night in another highly ranked "hotel" (who shall remain nameless), this was just what the doctor ordered. Great, clean rooms, nice refreshing pool, delicious breakfast and way friendly staff, we almost didn't want to leave! Paid $70 per night, and would've gladly paid more (but not really..lol). I could not recommend this place any more!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed at Villa Isabella for the entire month. It was clean, had friendly and helpful staff, and tasty breakfast. My whole family also enjoyed the pool, relaxed atmosphere, and delicious coffee. It is perfectly located for walking down to all the shops, restaurants, and of course, amazing San Juan sunsets. We felt well taken care and the staff was more than willing to meet any random need that came up. Both Mike and Jane were hands on and went above and beyond to make our long stay a memorable one!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftpiercefl
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I just returned home 3/18/2012. What a nice surprise and such warm hospitality, clean rooms, wonderful breakfast. An over all pleasant experience, the owner/manager a real hands on person, in total control of this delightful place. You may call him Mr. Mike. Thank you Sir for everything, your establiment shows your dedication.

Martha

Room Tip: need to specify upstairs or down
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We just visited San Juan del Sur as a family of 7. We stayed at the Hotel Villa Isabella and had an amazing stay. The staff bent over backyards to accomodate us and the made to order breakfasts were fantastico! Our 5 kids loved the small pool - just perfect for cooling off during the afternoon and the variety of hammocks and rockers were fun and functional for hanging out on in the evenings. The whole town is right outside - just an easy couple of block walk to the beach. When in San Juan del Sur again we will definately stay here. 2 Thumbs up! :-)

Room Tip: MANY Options!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Very nice B&B. Excellent breakfast choices. 24/7 coffee. Clean, good-sized rooms, comfy beds, hot water, AC, small refrigerator, quiet location. Close to the beach and restaurant/bar row. Mike, the owner, is energetic and goes out of his way to be sure his guests are well taken care of. Jane was very helpful in booking our next hotel and guide (Willmore Rueda) on Ometepe Island -- thank you, Jane! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Isabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Isabella

Address: Diagonal Norte Iglesias Catolica San Juan del Sur Rivas, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 53 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Isabella, an intimate hotel, is dedicated to your full enjoyment of San Juan del Sur and the surrounding Pacific Coast paradise. Our attention to detail and personal service frees you to focus on your stay, either for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Isabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Isabella Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Isabella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.