We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Onda Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Buena Onda Backpackers to your Saves list
Buena Onda Backpackers
Barrio frente sur, San Juan del Sur 99999, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Denver, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Buena Onda Backpackers is a great place to stay in San Juan del Sur. The views are incredible and the owner, Baba, is a fantastic host. For the money I don't think you'll find a better option in SJdS with a private room and private bath.

Keep in mind that there is no air conditioning as the place was designed to take advantage of the breezes coming in over the hill. If the air isn't moving it can get rather hot and the bugs will certainly settle in with you. Also, the local roosters seem to love to call out to each other at all hours of the day and night which can easily interrupt your sleep. That's not an indictment of Buena Onda, just a reality of being in town in SJdS.

I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to my friends heading to Nicaragua.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    7
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
51
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband an I stayed in Buena Onda Backpackers for three nights and we loved the place! The atmosphere is great with amazing views to the beach and great chill out areas! Although we have to say that there are some little things that could better.

POSITIVE
- Baba the owner! He is really kind and helpful at all times!
- Amazing views!!
- Great chill out areas with comfortable couches, wooden chairs and hammocks
- Clean and complete kitchen to use
- Huge and clean room (we stayed downstairs in a private with bathroom)
- Free cofffee and free water

NEGATIVE
- No mosquito net in the windows, which is not good. The place is located in a little jungle, so there are many insects of all kinds. We couldn't open the window any time and it was pretty hot even with the fan. The bathroom doesn't have a window, so insects are free to get in! We left the door shut all the time to avoid them get into the room
- The water from shower is really weak, so its is hard to have a good and refreshing shower

Even with these points we definitely recommend this place! However be aware of the insects situation if you are not really comfortable with that. We found a way to avoid it and we would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have been here twice now and love every minute at Buena Onda. I don't know where to start. The beds are large and very comfortable. The rooms, kitchen and even the refrigerator and hangout area upstairs are spotless. Rooms are large and very comfy. Views from upstairs are outstanding, really the signature of Buena Onda. But the best of Buena Onda is the famous Baba. Baba is very eager to facilitate his guests stay with just about any reasonable need his visitors may have. He has hooked us up with the best places to eat being gourmet evening meals or quality budget breakfast at the market for less than $2. He has arranged taxi service with his driver(Miguel) to Costa Rica, only 20 bucks, wow, fishing or the drink as many Tonias as you want afternoon cruise with Captain Dario, I even saw him arrange laundry service for another guest. Baba is the best host ever! He is a complete natural for the travel industry.

The walk from town is very short, just a few minutes from the Cathedral and about six minutes to the waterfront through a neighborhood full of friendly locals. Baba serves coffee in the morning and offers his guests use of the kitchen and stove, nice for having some drinks or appetizers before heading out for fun.

Buena Onda is a quality place and a tremendous value. My best advise for staying at Buena Onda is to book all the nights you have planned at SJDS at once up front. Don't book a couple of nights as a trial and then love the place and have to leave because he is always booked....Buena Honda is just that good of a place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Baba (the name of the owner of Buena Onda Backpackers) keeps the place clean and convenient. It's a hike up to the hostel, but the view is completely worth it. The sunset from the hostel was one of the most beautiful views I've ever seen. The rooms are big, everything is clean, and he gives you towels. Cold water in the showers. Ask for a room on the second floor, so you get the joy the view every time you step outside your room. He also has a small computer for his guests to use to check the internet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hostel has many great things going for it, including a very friendly and helpful owner Baba who booked us shuttles to the beach and was very pleasant. The location is good, a short walk from the main drag and the beach. We had a downstairs room which was probably the biggest we had throughout a six week trip in central america. The common area has hammocks and a great view of the beach and makes for a pleasant spot to relax.
Unfortunately there are no mosquito nets on the windows. Bear in mind that it is very hot in San Juan and there is only a fan in the room! THis is fine if you don't mind bugs, but I do, and there was a lot of bugs! The first night I insisted we keep the window closed but the heat was unbearable so we had to open it. There are bars on the window but they are very wide spaced and leave plenty of room for creatures to enter the room!
The bathroom doesnt even have glass in the window, just an open space, again plenty of opportunity for bugs! Look, if you don't have a problem with bugs this is a great place. If like me you don't appreciate fairly large bugs and a pretty big lizard coming in your window then book somewhere else. I just think you should know this before you go.

Room Tip: Go for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Buena Onda is little out of the way and difficult to find but worth the effort. Baba is a great host and the accommodations are clean and spacious and the view is incredible. It is quiet and a little away from the party crowd which is a bonus in my book. Even so, it is still only a short walk from the action if you are so inclined. Highly recommended and a steal for the price.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We LOVED this place. At first I was really annoyed by the walk (10-15 minutes uphill with our backpacks in the heat) but it's worth it for the view. We booked far in advance just for one night (our last night in Nic) and we were given the best room in the house, right on the top with a big window! We also had a king size bed and private bathroom, maybe this is written on the website but we stayed at a lot of places so I didn't retain the information, and honestly for the price I didn't expect that at all. The deck outside of our room is great for relaxing in a hammock and watching the sunset over the bay. We also made use of the kitchen to make dinner. We were initially concerned that having our room on the top floor where everyone hangs out what going to be a problem as we go to sleep early but everybody was very calm and quiet and completely respectful, we didn't have any complaints. This place is highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: I didn't see the other rooms but you can't beat the view from the room at the very top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buena Onda Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Onda Backpackers

Address: Barrio frente sur, San Juan del Sur 99999, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, calm, and welcoming space for travelers. Enjoy the amazing view from the rooftop terrace, have a drink in a hammock or a full plate of lobsters ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Buena Onda Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Onda Backpackers Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Onda Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.