We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family, clean place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Romano

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Romano
Save
You added Casa Romano to your Saves list
Avenida Mercado, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice family, clean place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

The owner (mom I think) was a bit cold but the rest of the family was very nice. I nice alternative to the hostels, which are a bit dirtier. Didn't use the kitchen so I can't comment on that.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    11
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
21
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I totally echo the previous reviewer. We stumbled upon this place by chance after the hostel we had planned to stay at was full. $20 for a lovely, clean room with bathroom. When we were being shown around by the "mum" of the house, she told us we had use of the kitchen, which was great for us as we prefer to cook our own meals. However, shortly after we started using the kitchen, it became clear that this was a problem. The utensils/plates etc are shared with the family - they cook their food in the same kitchen. I felt slightly uncomfortable with this at first as some of the plates/utensils were really nice. However there was no sign/cupboard specifically stating what guests were allowed to use, so we just used the stuff in the kitchen, as previously we were told.
The lady of the casa was rude and cold with us. She would huff and puff each time we cooked - she would instruct us to wash up straight away and put the dishes back, nitpicking about a smear left on one of the plates, for example. She clearly did not appreciate us cooking in her kitchen. This would be fine apart from the fact she clearly advertises the rooms come with full use of the kitchen.
I had told her we would be staying for a week, however after three nights she asked when we would be leaving as she had a reservation - exactly the same as the previous reviewer! We checked out the next morning and I begrudged giving them $80 of our money. Really bad customer service - don't open your house to guests and then be a poor host.

Room Tip: If you stay here, dont use the kitchen!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We were very happy to find this quiet, clean and cheap place. Our room was nice and confortable and the bathroom was okay. The access to the kitchen was very useful as well as the wifi. However the family was not friendly at all. The mother was always dark and cold. Furthermore we had the impression they were not very satisfied that we used the kitchen.
We wanted to stay two weeks but we paid only for one. 2 days before the end of the first week the mother told us that we had to leave because she had a resevation. We were very surprised as we thought they understood we wanted to stay one more week. She did not apologize. With that all the good thoughts we had about this place collapsed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, SK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed at another hostel in SJDS, and we much prefer this one. It's right near the main part of town - the markets, shops, and the beach. The service was great, the fellow working when we checked in was polite and helpful. The room was perfectly clean, with a nice shower, nice bed, and wifi. The hostel had a good kitchen, and a nice backyard area. After staying in other places and looking into other hostels in the area, this will rank as our top choice in SJDS. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Although no-frills bare, Casa Romano is clean, colorful, and comfortable, with very attentive and considerate owner/managers. The younger Claudia speaks English well and the wifi is good.
My room was freshly painted, with new tile on the floor and in the bathroom, and a comfortable double bed.
A half-block from the beach, it is not air conditioned but there is a fan in the room. No food is served but a clean and well-equipped kitchen is available for use. And it is quiet. If you prefer to avoid the continuous loud party type of hostel and get to bed early, bring your own shampoo and relax at Casa Romano.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I have to agree with the other reviewer ... love this place, location i great... staff are friendly. I am sitting out in the common area as I write this was happy to find this hostel after paying a deposit on another that turned out to be a dump.. found this for $5.00 a night cheaper than the dump.. so I am very happy :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We discovered this motel quite by accident. We had decided to go against the norm , to take a chance and find a motel once we arrived in San Juan Del Sur.
This motel is amazing! The owners are long time residents of the property and have been offered on numerous occasions to sell yet have not even considered it. Once you stay there you will witness first hand their pride of ownership.
The rooms are very clean and all have private baths. I am very picky when it comes to cleanliness and I am hear to tell you it is clean.
The motel is located 1/2 block from the beach/ bay in town. Its location is ideal for everything you can think of from tours, nightlife, or a stroll along the bay front.
Although, the motel is close to the beach it is very quiet. There is a beautiful private patio area with hammocks a jacuzzi, and a multitude of exotic plants. It is very peaceful. The motel offers Internet service , a common television and Dvds for your use as well as an extensive library and a kitchen.
The price per person was $10.00 unbelievable!!!!$ 20.00 per couple.
They have larger rooms ( new ) that can hold up to 6 people, all rooms even those with multiple beds (perfect for large family & group of friends) have their own private bath.

I was told by the owner that the rates do double during high season. In my opinion at either rate it is a bargin. I think you will agree after you have compared other properties within the same geographical area offereing the same amenities or even less that are charging a lot more.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Romano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Romano

Address: Avenida Mercado, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Also Known As:
Casa Romano Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Romano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.