We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent beachfront choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Estacion

Save Saved
You added La Estacion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Estacion
Calle Costera | Ave. Central, Zona Costera, San Juan del Sur, San Juan del Sur 2568-2304, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Williams Lake
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A decent beachfront choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

A decent hotel right on the main strip, which fronts the beach, and where most of the vendors and pricier restaurants are located.

The rooms are not exquisite but large, clean and comfortable.

Breakfast is included in the room price and is served in the associated beachfront restaurant across the street. Breakfast is a-la-carte, a nice treat, and the choices are good.

Thoroughness of daily room service was hit-and-miss in regards to toiletries and towels but the sunshine girl with the big smile at the front desk (Yorleny) cheerfully corrected any deficiencies.

Bernie

Room Tip: If you don't mind the bit of extra noise from the happenings on the main drag, book a beach fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
7
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Undoubtedly, good location: next to delicious Italian ice cream shakes, with the beach front, restaurants, bars and much more, but maybe fault for certain people who we like to rest in silence, because after a few days, noise "around a bit," stunning. that does not mean it's bad choice to stay, otherwise, I recommend only rooms away from the balconies. Of course if the noise bothers you, if not, then I recommend the room 2 ... "(202)" beautiful views. say no more a place that would return choice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located on the main strip! Room is big with a balcony over looking the street and view of the beach.

The breakfast is included and is across the street in the resturant. Great views of the ocean while enjoying breakfast! For the price and location this is unbeatable!

I really enjoyed this hotel and it's location walking to everything! San Juan del sur and it's surrounding beaches Madera, mujual and mesilla are awesome! Also The mirador with San Juan had amazing views of the whole town and coast! Beautiful special place here in nicuaraga! Safe travels !!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at SJDS with no reservations. I went thru about 6 hotels (saw rooms and all) before settling on this one. We were able to bargain down the cost by paying cash and staying 5 nights. All in all I am glad I stayed here. For the value it is one of the nicer places. Here are some pros and cons:
Pro:
-location location location. We had wrap around balcony and loved the view. there was a parade 3 nights that we enjoyed from the balcony.
- great staff. Sweet & accommodating. One even let me borrow his phone to make a collect call to the States.
-a/c
-fun bright decore. Spacious closets and bathroom. Loved the lightweight bed spreads
- dead center of town. Loved the lively-ness of it all. Was great to sit on balcony and watch Nica life.

CONS:
- the a/c rained down the wall and sprayed the bed all day/night. I'm sure it was working hard but maybe it needs to be serviced more.
-in 5 days they only cleaned the room once and at our request. I don't need fresh towels every day but the garbage and a sweep ( beach sand) would be nice.
- while the richly painted walls seemed clean the white doors were filthy.
- not quiet. There was outside music, parades, loud birds, an occasional chainsaw. I did not mind but if you want quiet do not stay here. It is the dead center of town.

Would stay here again for the price and view. I'd say it's equivalent to 3.5 star in the States

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We spent 3 nights in late Feb. at La Estacion and it was as described by trip advisor. Basic, but clean and safe in a great location. Great views of ocean bay from third floor. Good staff and breakfast included across the street at the Bueno Gusto. Breakfast was on the basic side, as reviewed by other traverlers, but I had lunch and drinks there later in the day and was very good with a good atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Nicaragua
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Noting special about this but good location and clean. Rooms and lobby are kind of 1970 Howard Johnson, but friendly staff and nice room Good value too,

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel is across the street from the beach in San Jan del Sur and so a great location. We checked it out in advance and introduced our well behaved dog to the manager to see if we could bring her. After a few basic questions about barking and personal habits, it was a go. Upon arrival, we were greeted with open arms.

It was reasonably priced, with a friendly staff and had clean - good sized rooms with a small refrigerator. It was light and airy with airconditioning and comfortable beds. Some rooms have small balconys overlooking the beach or the side street. There is security at the door 24/7. It does not have a pool, but is in the process of building one. With the beach and local bars and restaurants so close, those amenities were not missed. We live in Granada and go to San Juan del Sur with some regularity. This will be our new headquarters for sure.

Room Tip: There are 3 stories to this hotel. Rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd floor, about 20 total. Rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Estacion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Estacion

Also Known As:
La Estacion Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur
Address: Calle Costera | Ave. Central, Zona Costera, San Juan del Sur, San Juan del Sur 2568-2304, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#11 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Estacion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Estacion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.