We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Ariki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Casa Ariki to your Saves list
Casa Ariki
From the Municipal Market, 2.5 blocks South | Del Mercado Municipal, 2.5 cuadras al Sur, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Oliver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Found Casa Ariki on an internet search. Reviews all commented on what nice people the owners are. For us this means more than whether or not the building is 5 star. After all it is Sara and Baldo that we remember and smile. It is safe, friendly, clean , and located just out of the busy part of town. It was our first time visiting Nicaragua and staying at Casa Ariki was a great first stop in the area. They know the area and are most helpful in your needs. Baldos family coffee farm produces excellent coffee. If they do go to the mountains and grow coffee and open a hostel there, we would stay at it, for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAriki_SJ, Owner at Casa Ariki, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We were so happy to have you and your wife stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    14
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
24
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I just returned from a two day stay at Casa Ariki in San Juan del Sur. The accomodations were comfortable and the staff is wonderful. Great food and great coffie. The highlight of our stay was a rapelling tour by the owner, Baldo. We started with an historical tour of an old fort, then rapelled down a 360 foot cliff followed by a swim in the ocean and finally an ice-cold Tona beer to top off the experience. Thank you Baldo and Sarah for your wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAriki_SJ, Owner at Casa Ariki, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank YOU for your great review and for staying with us! Looking forward to seeing you again someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I chose this place based on its fabulous ratings from prior guests, and I have to say, I have no idea why they loved it so much. For $50, I got a place where the noise of the run down building kept me up all night and one of my coldest showers in Nicaragua. The "free filtered water" did not taste as if it had been filtered at all (and I had some stomach upset afterwards), AND there was only about a cup of water IN the filter. All in all, the place was ok. The people were extremely nice and it felt very secure (the gate was always locked and there was a security guy at night). However, a place of this caliber doesn't really deserve to be more than $20-30 for a room (even a private room). Oh, also, the toilet was broken.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAriki_SJ, Owner at Casa Ariki, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're sorry that your stay with us was not 100% satisfactory. If you stay with us in the future, please do not hesitate to let us know about any problems in your room or otherwise so that we can address them! The toilet has, of course, been fixed. Saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We only stayed for a few days and unfort8unateluy didn’t get to go surfing…which is clearly the thing to be doing in San Juan. Although there’s plenty to keep you occupied in a nice (if a bit touristy) beach town with loads of bars and restaurants.
The owners were very friendly and available if you needed to ask questions etc.. The room was adequate with a shared bathroom. It did seem a little steep in comparison to other places in Nicaragua but not crazy prices.
One negative point, when it rained (and it rains hard!) the ceiling leaked a bit…nothing dramatic but did mean we had to move our bed in the middle of the night to avoid drips!
Certainly a good place to stay in San Juan

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAriki_SJ, Owner at Casa Ariki, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hello James, and thank you for your review! We are terribly sorry about the leaky ceiling in your room, and we have since addressed this issue. We hope that you will consider us for any future stays in San Juan del Sur. Saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed two nights in november 2012. The owners both speak English very well and are tremendously helpful, especially if you Spanish isn't so good. The location is right in town, and a short walk to the beach or anywhere, yet it is not noisy. The bars with all the parties are far enough away so that you won't be bothered. The room was clean with a nice ceiling fan and a/c was available. Very safe place, and they also have a night watchman who will let you in and out. An added bonus is that the owner's father has a coffee farm and you get to drink coffee from it for free in the morning. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here with a bunch of friends and it was perfect. Baldo and Sarah are great hosts and can help you with any questions you may have and can give you great suggestions on what to do in beautiful San Juan. From home cooked meals, to surf lessons, to rappelling tours...Casa Ariki has it all. Totally safe place and perfectly located within walking distance to everything. Can't wait to come back...Baldo and Sarah, you're the best!! Thanks for everything!! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We found casa Ariki via Tripadvisor and stayed there for two nights. First of all,the owners were very very nice and gave us lots of tips about what to do in San Juan del Sur. Also they had the best equipped and cleanest kitchen that we have experienced in all the hostels in Central America so far. Apart from the kitchen everything else was clean too. Also they had a guard to watch the door for the whole night so we felt really save there. However, there were still some things we didn't like. Since the price for a private room with a shared bathroom was 25 Dollars,we expected it to be very good. Unfortunately,the matresses were  quite old and uncomfortable and there was nothing to hang wet towles on in the room. Also there were no mosquito nets in front of the windows,so we had some ants,mosquitos as well as geckos in our room. And there was a dove nest right in front of our window,which they should remove,since we couldn't really sleep longer than 05.30 because they started being really active at that time. Apart from that we had a really nice time in casa Ariki and would recommend it.  

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Ariki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ariki

Address: From the Municipal Market, 2.5 blocks South | Del Mercado Municipal, 2.5 cuadras al Sur, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only two and a half blocks from the municipal market of San Juan del Sur and only three blocks from the bay, Casa Ariki is a home away from home. With five private rooms and beds for up to 17 people, we offer a laid-back environment to relax and enjoy your time in San Juan del Sur to the fullest! In addition to comfortable accommodations, Casa Ariki has free Wi-Fi, a guest kitchen, a common area with boardgames, books and magazines to borrow, a balcony on the second floor with an incredible view of the town's rooftops, free coffee from Matagalpa and friendly staff. Want to rappel down a cliff, surf, ride horses or view the ocean from the tree tops? No problem! Our staff can set up rappelling tours, surf lessons, beach transport, horseback riding, canopy (zip line) tours, fishing and much more! We're sure that when the time comes to check out, you will leave Casa Ariki reluctantly, wanting to come back again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Ariki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ariki Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Ariki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.