We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Macua's help was invaluable and made our holiday memorable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macua Tours & Travel - Day Tours

Macua Tours & Travel - Day Tours
Carr Panamericana 112km, Texaco 150m Norte | Next to Atlantic City Hotel and Casino, San Juan del Sur 47000, Nicaragua
+505 2563 3652
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Best way to know Nicaragua and Costa Rica, Tours, Transportation, hotel bookings, Home Rentals, Real Estate.
Penticton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Macua's help was invaluable and made our holiday memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We used Macua to get from Liberia, CR to San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua and back as well as for a day tour during our trip. We were impressed by the professional, efficient manner in which we were transported through the Nicaraguan border (something we would not have been able to do without Edwin's guidance). Both Edwin and David were incredibly knowledgable, spoke great English, and entertained and educated us on all aspects of Nicaragua. We had a great tour day, laughed often and packed so many adventures into our day. The drivers were very capable, professional and friendly despite our language barriers. We would go not hesitate to recommend their services and hope to see them in the future

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    0
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Trouble-free transfer from Liberia to SJDS and an outstanding day tour. Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Our party of six spent a fantastic week in San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua in February, 2012. We flew into Liberia, CR due to the very inexpensive airfare, but then faced the problem of crossing the Penas Blancas border into Nicaragua with a tight time deadline as we had to pick up our 4x4's by 6 pm in order to be able to reach our villa at balcones de majagual in the jungle north of town. I contacted Edwin Ruiz on the recommendation of someone on the tripadvisor forum, and it could not have worked out better. Edwin's representative met us promptly at the Liberia airport and drove us to the border, where Edwin was waiting to meet us in another shuttle van. We literally walked 50 feet across the border and continued on our way. Edwin filled out all the necessary immigration forms, and took our passports into the offices for the proper stamps while we waited in the air-conditioned van. The entire border crossing took maybe 15 minutes. The Penas Blancas border is very confusing, with poor signage and multiple lines to wait in. I know a couple personally who crossed the border on several occasions using Ticabus, and the process took them more than four hours each time! Edwin's fee for the transfer was more than reasonable, roughly equivalent to what we would have paid to cross the border with Ticabus or TransNica (while sorting out immigration on our own).

The transfer went so smoothly that we decided to ask Edwin to take us on a guided tour of Granada, an active volcano, a boat tour of Lake Nicaragua, and Rivas. We had a really great day with him, and were able to appreciate some parts of the country that we otherwise would not have gotten to see.

Both prior to and during our stay, Edwin always responded to emails and phone calls promptly. He speaks perfect English (as well as Spanish and French), is constantly smiling, and is genuinely fun to be around. He has an extensive knowledge of Nicaragua's culture, history, and politics, and spending time with him really enhanced our Nicaraguan experience. Whether you're looking for a guided tour, or a transfer from the Liberia or Managua airport, I would highly recommend that you contact Edwin Ruiz.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
1 review
“Outstanding Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We got dirt cheap flights into Liberia, Costa Rica and didn't want to mess with getting to the border, crossing the border and then getting to SJDS. Based on reviews I'd seen of Macua Tours, I contacted Edwin and he was great from start to finish. We were greeted at the airport and quickly driven to the border where Edwin was waiting for us. He made the paperwork and clearance a breeze and before we knew it we were in Nicaragua. He then promptly directed me to buy the 7 year-old Flor y Cana rum at duty free - a decision we did not regret. Hi knowledge of Nicaragua history made the drive very informative, We planned to use Macua for at least one day trip (to Masaya) but had such a great time in and around SJDS that we decided to save for the next trip. Edwin was right on time to pick us on on departure date and we were back to the Liberia Airport with plenty of time to spare.
The only minor negative (very minor) of working with Macua Tours was having to prepay via Western Union. Prepaying was fine, it is just that PayPay would have been much easier.
Overall, a great experience.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive, Alberta, Canada
1 review
“Amazing trip to Nicaragua with Edwin!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had an incredible adventure with Edwin! He took us places and told us history that we would probably not otherwise had known. He speaks excellent english and even thought our sense of humor was funny!!! We can hardly wait to go back. We are leaving on December 4,2011 for 2 weeks and taking 2 of our girls- which will be an experience they won't forget! Can't wait!!! Gary And Bev Krochak Alberta Canada

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolina0574
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Service, Informative Tours & Fun People!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Edwin is a great guide that truly cares about the tourists - I was solo but went on a trip with 25 Canadians - really fun day. We packed a lot in during a short amount of time. I highly recommend using Macua again - I cannot wait to return to Nicaragua and see more of the country, led by Edwin, of course.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macua Tours & Travel - Day Tours also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Been to Macua Tours & Travel - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macua Tours & Travel - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.