We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So you want good service?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dorado's Bar Grill

Dorado's Bar Grill
Beach road in front of ENACAL | Calle Playa enfrente ENACAL, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
505-8685-6869
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Dennis Port, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So you want good service?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The restaurants that line the beach at San Juan del Sur all have basically the same menu: Fish-oriented with a mix of gringo favorites, such as cheeseburgers, French fries and chicken wings. They all have spectacular sunsets, cheap native beers and, of course, cheap Flora De Cana rum. What they don't have is Bob, owner of the Dorado. I have never met a more attentive and caring restaurateur in my life. Want to sit on the beach? Bob's there with a chair, table and umbrella. Don't see what you want on the menu? Tell Bob and he'll have it made for you. Bob's staff is complemented by Juan, a funny and entertaining Nica, and Stuart, a witty, world-traveling Englishman. As customers over a period of two months, my wife and friends were never bored and we left satisfied and happy with our bills. All in all, a terrific, laid-back place that leaves little to complain about, and, believe me, we're experienced complainers.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    13
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beach Bar!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Many great memories of days and nights spent enjoying our time in San Juan Del Sur. Bob's Dorado's Beach Bar is the place on the beach to watch hockey, soccer,and football! Meet friends, watch the famous sunsets,have dinner and relax. This is our go to place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Lobster south of Maine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

You must ask for the grilled lobster, it is not on the menu, although it should be added. For, I think, about $12, you get 3-5 tails. It varies based on the size of the tails. It was definitely the best lobster I have had outside of Maine. They should really add this to the menu!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
“Great food, staff, and the only place to watch hockey!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

By far the best restaurant in San Juan and it's even situated right on the beach. They have a great selection of food that never leaves you disappointed! Bob and all the staff are very friendly and make you feel right at home. Best part, they play Canucks games! And other sports games as well. Definitely have to check this place out, you wont regret it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Customer's right even when he's nuts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Bob the owner first thought he was letting me use his computer to call my U.S. bank on Skype. Then, I had to create a Skype account. All told, I occupied his machine for 40 minutes. Then I tried the food. Over and over and over. The sunsets over the bay are things of beauty. Great location, good seafood, good prices, good boss & staff. What more can you ask? Free computer use, you say? Aha!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dorado's Bar Grill also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Been to Dorado's Bar Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorado's Bar Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.