We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Palmas B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Palmas B&B
Save Saved
You added Las Palmas B&B to your Saves list
Bahia San Juan Del Sur, San Juan del Sur 84870775, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
North merrick, new york
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed at Las Palmas for one week at the end of February.
We had picked SJDS because after a difficult year, my husband and I needed to get away, relax and forget about our busy lives in New York.
Well, what can I say.....the moment we set foot inside Las Palmas and took a look at that wonderful view, we knew we were in for a treat.
We stayed at the king size bedroom, it was amazing. Every night we slept with the french doors opened (screen closed), we would get a soothing breeze and could hear the waves crashing in the distance. We had such a peaceful sleep every night! And the every morning we would wake up to the beautiful view.
We would get coffee while our delicious breakfast was being prepared (home cooking from scratch!), as we enjoy conversations with Steve and Yasmin. They were great hosts, they would give us planty of advise that would help us plan our day, they would even call and make reservations for us.
Steve and Yaz went way out of their way to make us feel confortable and get the best out of our time in SJDS. They even took us on a tour of Granada that included volcanoes Mombacho and Masaya and a boat ride around the Isletas; we had a great time and we would have never been able to cover so much territory on our own.
We rented a car for a coople of days, Las Palmas has an enclosed area to keep the car overnight, and Juan, their ground's keeper, was always ready to open the door for us as soon as we arrived.
On the days that we didn't have a car, Yaz and Steve would give as a ride into town or we would walk (it was only about a 15 minute walk). A couple of nights, we ran into Steve & Yaz in town and they gave us a ride back, the other days we took a short cab ride.
Steve & Yaz' home is beautiful, clean, comfortable and peaceful. We throughly enjoy our stay and hope we can stay with them again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
45
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Our review of four night stay at Las Palmas:

TRANSPORTATION:
We had arranged through Steve and Yasmin for a taxi to pick us up at our hotel in Granada. The taxi arrived an hour and a half early for some reason, luckily we were still there and not out for lunch. The drive was pleasant and we’re glad they arranged the pick up as it was difficult to find Las Palmas because there’s no signage.

ENTRANCE/ARRIVAL:
We walked through a large steel door which was the driveway and past that were steps with a view of the pool, the gardens and SJDS. We were greeted by Yaz and Steve and offered a drink. Their care-taker brought our luggage up to the King Bedroom while Steve and Yaz showed us around. We then changed into our suits and lounged by the pool and Yaz offered us a nice chocolate smoothie.

COMMON AREA:
There’s plenty of rocking chairs to enjoy the view of the bay at anytime of day. There were at least two hammocks to lounge in, the pool area always had one spot that had some shade to retreat to, and the pool temperature was perfect! There are a few cushions to lay on, a couple of chairs to sit on, but what’s really missing are loungers.

DINING AREA:
Large open air dining area to sit at with a great view of the garden and the bay in the distance. Plenty of seating and elbow room at the table as well.

ROOM:
Room was clean, had a great view of the bay from our room. The bathroom is a bit dated, but it serves its purpose, and the shower had ample hot water. The water system in SJDS apparently can’t handle toilet paper, so TP has to go in the garbage instead of the toilet. The bed was comfortable, ceiling fan provided a nice breeze at night and we didn’t turn the air conditioner on once. There’s also a tv and movies available if desired.

FOOD:
Never an issue. Breakfast every morning was both tasty and plentiful. Two of our four mornings we had egg quesadilla’s and both times we were offered more. I think one day I had three! There was plenty of fresh fruit, juice, and always enough coffee. The only day there wasn’t any coffee ready when we woke up was because of a power failure, but Steve made sure there was some instant (at least I think that’s what it was), and even then he made sure there was more than enough for the four people drinking it. Yaz invited us to have lunch with them one day, which was Taco day. If you’re offered this, don’t pass it up. It was only $5 a plate and the tacos (and rice and beans) were awesome! It saved us from having to walk into town just for lunch. Oh, and Yaz makes sure you try some local cuisine by serving up some tasty nacatamales.

ON-SITE MANAGEMENT:
Steve and Yasmin (Yaz) are the homeowners and have been living in SJDS for six years, I believe. Yaz is amazing and very hospitable. She offered us drinks upon arrival, while we were relaxing at the pool, and even drove us to a secluded beach for some beers and sightseeing. She was a joy to talk to. We went to dinner with them our first night (Yaz drove again) and a few days later they had to go to town and Yaz drove us into town so we could catch a bus to Playa Medeira (roundtrip for $5, $10 board rental, $10 surf lesson available when you get there). Steve injured his arm prior to our arrival and had no use of his right arm but was still able to make sure we had coffee every morning at a minimum. In our opinion, he comes across a tad negative and is quite the talker; however, he provided much needed input regarding SJDS, Nica, and some of the problems the area/country has. It’s appreciated when someone doesn’t sugar-coat everything. There’s definitely room for improvement in their knowledge of prices for area tours/attractions. They weren’t sure what the exact costs were for a few of the things we wanted to do, it was always a ballpark number. Yaz did phone to confirm one of the costs for a bus though. Costs are pretty important info in our opinion, as we didn’t want to take more money than necessary. There were no brochures or binders of area tours and/or excursions (at least that we could see). They did, however, have the local newspaper/flyer readily available, which had ads for tours/attractions. It was a nice read with a morning coffee. Both Steve and Yaz were able to recommend places to eat as well – a must visit is El Colibri, located behind the church in town - amazing food and atmosphere.

LOCATION:
The Good: The house sits up on a hill overlooking the bay of SJDS. It’s an absolutely fantastic view. Because it’s out of the hustle and bustle of “downtown”, it’s much quieter; however, you may still hear some music at night coming from town on special occasions – just use earplugs, if you travel you should know to bring them.
The Bad (but not that bad): It’s a twenty minute walk from the house to town, mostly on a packed dirt road. We timed our walk one day – and we’re not out of shape by any means, so twenty minutes is bang on. You should take a taxi coming back at night because it is quite dark. Steve will also advise you to do this. We typically paid 100-120 Cords for the night time taxi ride for the two of us ($4-$5 USD).
As for security, I felt very at ease there. There’s two dogs; London and Atlas (aka Fat Head), gates to get in, locks on doors and Steve locks everything up at night as well. Don’t be cheap and take a taxi home if you’re coming from town at night. And know how to get back to the hotel via the roads. We had a taxi miss the turn to get back to Las Palmas but my wife realized this quickly and we pointed our taxi in the right direction.

OVERALL:
We really enjoyed our stay at Las Palmas. There was plenty of beer and bottled water (both for purchase) and the pool and view can’t be beat. The location was ideal for us because it was away from all the hostels and night life of SJDS. We were offered lunch, rides into town, dinner out with our hosts (separate bills of course). It isn’t five-star by any means, but for the options available in SJDS, it has to be one of the best. We should mention that during our visit there were VERY high winds, easily 80 km/h gusts, which was most likely the cause of a few power/brown outs and also affected our sleep.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Our stay of 3 days Feb 15-18, 2012 was a welcoming luxury in the middle of our Nicaragua exploration. We stayed upstairs in the king suite with a beautiful view of the bay. We used the pool each day after exploring up and down the coast. Steve and Yasmine are the perfect BB hosts, very warm and genial but not intrusive. They easly became new friends.

My only regret is that Yasmine had only one bag of her mother's coffee (which she will sell at a very reasonable price when she has it) and I had to give it up to a dear friend, very delicious.

A word of caution, it is a 10 minute walk into town but I'm sure they would call a taxi if you cannot do the walk.

Bonnie and Jim

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the king bedroom for 3 days and it was superb, a very comfortable bed, you could lay with the balcony doors open and listen to the waves hitting the beach. The views from the bedroom, verandah and pool are all great. The pool is a real highlight, I really enjoyed swimming in it (it is 44 feet long) and just sitting by it having a drink and taking in the view. The verandah is a great place to sit any time of day, providing shade and breezes. It was only a short walk down to San Juan, where we tried restaurants suggested by Steve and Yasmin. They kindly gave us a lift to one restuarant and we joined them another night at El Colibri ( a great restaurant). The breakfasts are the best we had, varied, tasty and filling, served by Marjorie with a smile. It is a very realxing spot but as others have said what realy makes it are Yasmin and Steve. They are great company and we enjoyed talking to them about a whole range of things and also laughing a lot! Go you will love it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Yasmin and Steve's warm welcome was just the prelude to our delightful three-day stay. We felt more than welcome in their beautiful home and relaxing pool area. Satisfying breakfasts, engaging conversation , quiet moments in the leafy hammock area, canine company and
of course the incredible view over San Juan del Sur complemented the very comfortable room and private bath. But perhaps the best part was unexpectedly finding new friends who generously shared their home and time with us, helping us to make sense of what we were seeing and experiencing in Nicaragua. We so enjoyed our time at Las Palmas, and highly recommend this B and B to travellers who not only enjoy first-rate accommodation, but also appreciate the opportunity to learn about their chosen destination in a social setting.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Las Palmas over the new year period and gave us an absolutely brilliant start to our holiday. Steve and Yasmin are the very friendly and helpful owners who go out of their way to make you feel at home...and boy is it a wonderful home! The bedroom is clean and tidy and just what you would want as a home away from home- hot water and air con all provided. As guests you have free use of their pool which overlooks the whole of San Juan Del Sur so stunning views day and night. As we stayed over new year Steve and Yasmin invited to spend the evening with them and their friends at a restaurant and new year's bash- going out of their way to ensure we enjoyed ourselves. Yasmin arranged a zipwire trip locally for us and told us all the best places to eat and drink- really helpful when you only have a few days in town. The breakfasts were a highlight for me too (Yasmin I think your Tamale was literally THE best thing I ate in our entire 3 week trip- I have been craving one ever since!).

The B&B is in a perfect location with a panoramic view of the town but fantastic to be such a short walk away from it too.

We are so glad that we chose here to stay and can only echo everyone's great reviews...would advise you to book without hesitation!

Louise & Chris
x

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Las Palmas for a week during Xmas from dec 19 to the 26. It was our first time in Nicaragua and our first BnB. Staying with Steve and Yaz made the trip for sure! For the price of an average BnB we got a nice room with a comfortable bed, TV and our own large bathroom. But with Steve and Yaz, we also got a great staff that cooked wonderful meals, a serene and clean pool, a nicely shaded hammock area, a great veranda with what some people in town said was the best view of San Juan, our own gated parking area for our vehicle which They had found for us at half the price of Alamo or National. And we got our own guard dogs, Atlas and London. The dogs were great, they’d greet us when we awoke, lay with us at the pool and on the veranda during siestas and greet us at the gate when we came home late at night.

Yaz took my girlfriend shopping, brought her to meet the staffs families, give them Xmas gifts and to see how they live. While Steve and his son Eric who was in town visiting took me surfing to three different beach breaks, Maderas, Ramonso and Hermosa. Steve even lent me one of his own boards till I had found my own in town. They also offered to take us on day trips to see the volcanos, see the lake, and visit the town of Grenada. We declined but with their guidance did it all ourselves. Everything is within an hour drive give or take for traffic.

We met so many people thru Steve and Yaz that when it was time to move down into the city we felt like we lived there. We even were asked to go for dinner with them and their new guests to El Calibre on new years, and later met up with them and a group of locals for a new year’s bon fire and celebratory lighting of a Burning Man (scarecrow filed with random homemade fireworks, Yikes!) Where at midnight I asked my now fiancée to marry me :)

Staying at Las Palmas started and ended our trip on the perfect notes to make for the perfect trip. My fiancée and I highly recommend it!! Hopefully you too will have as good if not better a time staying with Steve and Yaz. We left their friends and wanting to stay and move in next to them!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Queen room but the King is deffinatly woth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Palmas B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmas B&B

Address: Bahia San Juan Del Sur, San Juan del Sur 84870775, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Palmas Bed and Breakfast is strategically located to catch the cooling breezes and fantastic coastal views from a hilltop above town and Bahia de San Juan. We are just a few minutes walk from the colorful, vibrant village of San Juan del Sur, and just minutes drive from several world class surfing beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Palmas B&B Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Palmas B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.