We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Pacifico Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added El Pacifico Hotel to your Saves list
El Pacifico Hotel
Bario La Talanguera, San Juan del Sur 06667, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the best in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

we just saw this place coming back down from the jesus statue and thought we woud chance it coz it looked like it was out of our budget but luckily and unbelievable it was´nt.

friendly staff. lovely affordable rooms. nice swimming pool area and also close to the beach. its ideal!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great people nice food you will enjoy your stay. We will return often? Beach is within walking distance as so is the town. Taxi service to local towns at a reasonable price. The owners also offer pick up service as well as return service to the Airport for a reasonable fee.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Just returned home to Costa Rica after a lovely, relaxing stay at El Pacifico. We chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews we had read and we were not disappointed. The room was great value and very comfortable, the pool and gardens were beautiful and Kerstin & Clemens were the perfect hosts. As we were only staying for one night, we ate at the restaurant and both of us had delicious meals....one of the best we have had in Central America! We would highly recommen El Pacifico and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Our room (12) had lots of morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed at El Pacifico for one night. The room was spacious and had A/C! We pretty much had to pool to ourselves which was great. The hosts are very nice and the dining area is lovely.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

what can i say the owners are awesome they treated us like we were family . The hotel is Private . The pool is just right. only a block and a half from the beach. We have been to big fancy resorts and luxury hotels all over north and central America but for some reason our hearts pull us back to El Pacifico

Room Tip: second floor balcony facing south
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Though it's a bit trickier to get to than places in the centre of town - it's just over the river so taxis have to do quite a big detour to get there - it's actually still very convenient. It's still only 15 minutes walk from town and you can be on the beach in less than 5. It's also closer to the large Christ figure that's just been erected on the clifftop overlooking the town; you can climb up in about 10 minutes.

Your hosts are charming and speak perfect English, (and German and Spanish). The rooms are basic but very clean and airy with a tv and wi-fi. The veranda is very welcoming and the pool even more so. Sauntering to the bar in the middle of a hot day for a rum and Coke was *extremely* pleasant. Breakfasts were good too.

Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We have stayed at El Pacifico twice now, once in March 2011 and more recently December 2011 and each time was fantastic. The hotel is situated on the hill where the large Jesus statue is and a quick 10 minute walk will get you into town which you can access by either the streets or walking along the beach. The hotel is in a perfect location getting you away from the possible noise of the town. We always felt safe walking at night. Rooms are basic, spacious and clean with regular cleaning. Beautiful gardens around the lovely pool with lounger chairs. In addition the rooms have their own outdoor chairs in front of each room. Basic breakfast included with more breakfast items available to order on the menu. Wi-fi available, book exchange and hammock in the dining area. The owners are very friendly (and so are the dogs!) and always willing to help with any questions you may have. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Pacifico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pacifico Hotel

Address: Bario La Talanguera, San Juan del Sur 06667, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your El Pacifico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pacifico Hotel Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pacifico Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.