We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view -keep an eye on your tab ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa De Olas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa De Olas to your Saves list
Casa De Olas
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Lot 6, Las Escaleras, San Juan del Sur 0000, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great view -keep an eye on your tab ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Best view I have seen at any hostel. If your looking for somewhere to waste away your days and get drunk - this is the place for you. We ended up staying here 3 nights over the weekend, with a great 'all-you-can-drink boat cruise' on the Saturday and an all-you-can-drink bar on the Sunday (as 'Sunday Funday' was cancelled) which both involved a lot of alcohol. The staff were friendly and always up for a drink. The breakfasts were great, different daily.

When we checked out and saw our bill we noticed that some items were added on that we didn't buy. 2 dinners ($7 each) were eventually taken off the bill but we had to pay for 4 drinks ($2 each) we didn't buy (as the guy serving that night said he remembered me ordering the drinks - even though there were about 30 people at the bar and he had a few to drink as well). so make sure you check your bill before you pay and keep an eye on what you are ordering as they seem to not take much care in the tab system they have.
The drinking water is charged at $1 a day even if you don't drink any and the beer is cheaper next door at Naked tiger and dorms are over half price cheaper at naked tiger.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    28
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
4
68
51
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Best views
Best rooms
Best shuttles
Best drinks
Best food
Best movies
Best guests
Best bar staff
Best owners
Best monkey

In short. My stay at Casa was alright.

In truth it was the best hostel I've ever stayed at. Within days you feel like part of the Casa family. I stayed too long, drank to much and left a just little of my dignity behind. Good times.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

First of all id have to start with the roast dinner and movie night on a Monday - delicious .
This beautiful hostel in the foot hills of San juan del sur really makes all the people who stay here become like a big family . Free shuttles to the beach and double shot drinks .If your a boy a monkey cuddle from buzz is a great hangover cure in the morning (she doesn't like girls) . Fred and Carla the owners are like the mum and dad fix everyone needs when travelling . I have not locked up one item of value since being here which is not like me . I leave my key in the door of my room and leave for hours . I have travelled
For about 10 months now
And this is this best run hostel . It's also next door to the naked tiger which has an awesome
Atmosphere and lots of fun . If your coming to San juan stay on the hill town sucks !!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just got back from Nicaragua and had an amazing stay at Casa De Olas. Fred and Buzz (the Monkey) are a joy to behold. Sunday night roast and movie night, took me back to Sundays at home. Great stuff! The view is nothing less than spectacular. The bar cheep and the Tona beer surprisingly good. They have a great car service to get you around to the beaches and town.
Highly recommend for a cheap fun getaway!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hostel has a nice pool, good food and cheap beer.
The staff make you feel welcome straight away and explain the rules of the hostel (don't drink with your right hand, don't say "mine" or "ten" etc.
If you want to know why, just try it out when you stay there!
Good, comfortable bar that brings all travellers together and a family dinner each night. We had $3, all you can eat pizza. Not bad!
Rooms are a bit more expensive than others nearby but it is worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This place is great, Carla and Fred have created a very comfortable, homely hostel. It's got an amazing view, infinity pool, delicious breakfast, great bar and a killer atmosphere. The rooms are nice and not too hot, lots of room for socialising and the Monday night roast can not be missed!! Do not miss this place! Free shuttle into town, and shuttle to the beach is very handy!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Unbelievable! Without doubt the hostel of our trip. Great setting, great views, great drinks, great staff and particularly great owners. Fred and Carla have created an exceptional hostel in one of the best spots in San Juan. Great shuttle service into the town and to the beaches. Stayed too long, drank too much, but wouldn't change a thing.
Staff were awesome, Tobin and Lucas were top blokes. Fred throws a hell of a party.
Cannot recommend it enough!

Big love, the English docs.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa De Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De Olas

Address: Lot 6, Las Escaleras, San Juan del Sur 0000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa De Olas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Olas is a unique place to stay. While some would consider us a hostel others consider us the ultimate B&B. We have dorm accommodation (an 11 bed dorm and six 6 bed dorms) for those traveling on a budget or in groups. We also accomodate the traveler looking for a little more comfort and privacy with private Queen rooms. All rooms have en-suites with Tropical Showers. (Note that when we say tropical shower we mean that the shower is not artificially heated and comes naturally from our well).We are a short drive or 5km walk (remember we are on a hill and not everyone likes walking hills) to San Juan del Sur beach. We want to be sure that this is clear :). We have an amazing view over the bay and town that provides epic sunsets. We think staying a little out of town is the best way to experience SJDS and the surrounding area including beaches, rain forest and Lake Nicragua.We have a shuttle service that runs at designated times each days, if you would like to travel into town outside of these times please let our staff know and they can advise how best to do this. We provide a free breafast for all guests. We also serve dinner 'family style' which means everyone sits down together for dinner.Safe travels and we hope to see you soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Casa De Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Olas Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Casa De Olas Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa De Olas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.