We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! A must stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa De Olas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa De Olas to your Saves list
Casa De Olas
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Lot 6, Las Escaleras, San Juan del Sur 0000, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing! A must stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Where to start. This hostel is incredible, the owners are the nicest people in the world, the rooms are amazing, the view and pool are amazing. This has got to be one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. I highly recommend it. I wouldn't stay anywhere else! You can take a shuttle down to the main part of town at anytime to check out the local bars, however I spent most of my time at the bar in the hostel or next door at another great hostel that has a pool and bar as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    28
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
4
68
51
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Found this place by accident, probably the best accident that has ever befallen somebody. I could write an epic review here, but it wouldn't even begin to describe just how great this place is, the view, the staff and owners, the monkey!! Plus add in the best food you'll eat in SJDS, just stay here, you have to experience it to understand.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I came here with the intention of staying for only three nights and three WEEKS later, I'm still here! Can not get enough of this place. Chilled vibes, great atmosphere, excellent staff and the best sunsets in the world! My best advice would be to wake up and enjoy the free breakfast, take the shuttle to the beach, return to Casa de Olas for the sunset (and happy hour 5-7pm [$1 beers!]) and finish the night with a delicious $7 dinner, served family style and cooked fresh daily by the excellent kitchen staff!
Make sure you contact the hostel at least 24 hours prior to arrival to check for availability. In the space of time that I have been here, I have seen many 'walk in' enquiries be declined due to hostel's constant occupation.
With no intentions of leaving anytime soon, I strongly advise all SJDS visitors to stay at Casa de Olas, it is bound to be the best stay of your travels.
P.S. The hostel contains a resident spider monkey by the name of Buzz. Once you have become friends, you will enjoy daily hugs and constant attention for the duration of your stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

-good people working there
-good views
-good monkey
-good pool.
-great funny and friendly owners.
-good accommodations
-good vibe.

I'd recommend it to anyone trying to chill and relax. Food was decent (although I snuck over to the naked tiger next door a few times to eat for a bit less) but the ambience of the casa de olas is great. We kept saying we were going to leave but couldn't. Fred and Carla (the owners) are so kind and friendly. I would recommend going into town though as well for either the day or what not. It's nice to see. It's quaint. Sunset at olas were beautiful though. Great work, keep it up!

Room Tip: We just stayed in a dorm. It was nice. Tiny bit unkept but doesn't bother us at all. It was a ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were recommended to Casa De Olas by some one in Puerto Viejo, once he had shown us the pictures we were sold. We spent the rest of our trip through Costa Rica looking forward to Casa de Olas. When we arrived we weren't disappointed.

We were warmly welcomed by Fred and the rest of the staff. Our room was absolutely beautiful. It was a large, private with plenty of space and had lots of little luxuries (like fluffy towels!!) that added to our experience.

Our plan was to stay 3 nights, and then 7, and then 9 and when we finally left....we decided to go back again on our way back down to Costa rica. In total we spent 11 nights at Casa De Olas and had the time of our lives.

The food is great, breakfast is included which was an nice treat. The family meals on an evening were cheap and added that little bit of home comfort that is sometimes missing when you have been travelling for a while.

All I can say to anyone looking to find a hostel in San Juan Del Sur is head to Casa De Olas, we met some amazing people, ate great food, drank far too much (Shark attack and finger banging!), surfed, drank a little more and made friends for life.

Thank you Fred, Carla and Buzz.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

i came for 3 nights and stayed for 9. a beautiful, relaxing (not at nights) and fun place in san juan del sur.
i would say that the highlight are the amazing owners... they will make u fell that you all one big family.. they would also make u very drunk b careful.
delicious dinner every evening in a very hommie atmosphere.
tnx for a great experience.
oz from jerusalem

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Many backpackers from Mexico to Nicaragua had recommended Case De Olas to us and we arrived planning to stay for 2 nights and ended up staying for 2 weeks. The rooms are private, clean, well appointed, with plenty of space (you can walk around the bed and their is room for your bags- Joy!) and best of all have beautiful linens, towels and quality mattresses and pillows, which was a find for "Hostel Budget". As the pictures show, the setting is stunning but Case De Olas crowning glory is most certainly the fantastic laid-back and homey vibe, all the guests opt to relax around the pool and bar area and talk to eachother which is a great forum for travel tips and the family-style dinners make it easy to meet new people from all over the world. Fred, Carla and their staff take personal interest in all of their Guests and we would not hesitate to recommend Casa de Olas to anyone, it makes a fantastic relaxing break from chicken buses and dirty hostels. Thank you so much for making our trip!

Room Tip: Private room one has sea views but is a little louder.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa De Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De Olas

Address: Lot 6, Las Escaleras, San Juan del Sur 0000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa De Olas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Olas is a unique place to stay. While some would consider us a hostel others consider us the ultimate B&B. We have dorm accommodation (an 11 bed dorm and six 6 bed dorms) for those traveling on a budget or in groups. We also accomodate the traveler looking for a little more comfort and privacy with private Queen rooms. All rooms have en-suites with Tropical Showers. (Note that when we say tropical shower we mean that the shower is not artificially heated and comes naturally from our well).We are a short drive or 5km walk (remember we are on a hill and not everyone likes walking hills) to San Juan del Sur beach. We want to be sure that this is clear :). We have an amazing view over the bay and town that provides epic sunsets. We think staying a little out of town is the best way to experience SJDS and the surrounding area including beaches, rain forest and Lake Nicragua.We have a shuttle service that runs at designated times each days, if you would like to travel into town outside of these times please let our staff know and they can advise how best to do this. We provide a free breafast for all guests. We also serve dinner 'family style' which means everyone sits down together for dinner.Safe travels and we hope to see you soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Casa De Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Olas Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Casa De Olas Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa De Olas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.