We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel Oasis on Backpacker Budget” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa De Olas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa De Olas to your Saves list
Casa De Olas
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Lot 6, Las Escaleras, San Juan del Sur 0000, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel Oasis on Backpacker Budget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Many backpackers from Mexico to Nicaragua had recommended Case De Olas to us and we arrived planning to stay for 2 nights and ended up staying for 2 weeks. The rooms are private, clean, well appointed, with plenty of space (you can walk around the bed and their is room for your bags- Joy!) and best of all have beautiful linens, towels and quality mattresses and pillows, which was a find for "Hostel Budget". As the pictures show, the setting is stunning but Case De Olas crowning glory is most certainly the fantastic laid-back and homey vibe, all the guests opt to relax around the pool and bar area and talk to eachother which is a great forum for travel tips and the family-style dinners make it easy to meet new people from all over the world. Fred, Carla and their staff take personal interest in all of their Guests and we would not hesitate to recommend Casa de Olas to anyone, it makes a fantastic relaxing break from chicken buses and dirty hostels. Thank you so much for making our trip!

Room Tip: Private room one has sea views but is a little louder.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    39
    15
    7
    9
See reviews for
4
74
58
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

i came here intendending on staying for a few days and ended up staying 10 days. and might i add it was probably the best 10 days ive had in all my travels. the owners are friendly and make you feel like you're part of a big hostel family. i enjoyed the family style dinners they had every night, dinner was always delicious!!!! also the breakfast was fantastic. this hostel is conveinent, safe, and just an overall great place to stay. the veiw from up here is unbeatable and you can sit and watch the breathtaking sunsets every night from the infinity pool. also you can hangout with their adorable pet monkey buzz, yes, a pet monkey!!! you feel welcome by all as soon as you walk in to this place. i celebrated my 20th birthday while i was here and they went above and beyond for me. decorations, a cake and everything. its very fairly priced here and everything from taxis, massages and adventure tours are at your finger tips. needless to say i intend on coming back here one day and i cant wait! ill miss my hostel parents alot, and hope that business continues to be this great! thankk you soo much!!! xox

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I was supposed to stayed only a couple of days in casa de olas and have been 2 weeks Now and still here haha . Love this place!!!!!! The owners and staff cant be better!!! The monkey, the infinit pool, the bar, food.. All amazing!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Thank you Carla and Fred for working so hard to make this the most luxurious, homey, welcoming hostel we have ever stayed at! It's more like a resort than a hostel, with the amazing views, the beautiful rooms, the lovely stone work and gardens everywhere. Fred and Carla were so welcoming and accommodating of us, and the rest of the staff were so sweet and helpful as well! We loved the mid afternoon hot dogs by the pool, and popcorn at happy hour, and the delicious family dinners at night. It's a little ways out of town, but don't let that worry you, as it was never a hassle for us to get anywhere - Fred often helped coordinate outings into town, the beaches, and off to the National Parks. We are so glad we could stay with you and we will definitely be back! - Scott & Megan
P.S. Be sure to try one of Carla's delicious Mojito's, and be sweet to Buzz, as we love her!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful - they have private rooms and two dorms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Very Nice location and Nice rooms. We stayed in the dorms for 2 nights. The bed was good and big. We also stayed in a private room and they were very nice with a very big bed. Downside is that there is no door between the bedroom and bathroom. But we did not mind. The water is cold, but that's nearly everywhere in Nicaragua and we did not mind either. Very nice couple who runs the place and a nice open bar and Beamer where we watched movies and sports. Buzz the monkey is very cute and the breAkfast was delicious!! Loved the banana pancakes. The family diner served at Night was also good and worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE!!! It ruined my outlook on your average hostel. I left a few days ago and i couldnt give a nanny-goats shyt about the rest of the hostels around here. Freddo n Carla r pure champs, super friendly (and cute) bar gals, n Buzz will have u running after ur beer/cigis/toothbrush b4 u can say Spider-Monkey. Miss the family dinners n the family!!
Watch out for the shark attacks

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Best place to stay in San Juan!
Carla & Fred (like mum and dad) are the best hosts ever. Feels like being home- especially the family dinner every night.
After San Juan we travelled to Ometepe... But we've missed Casa de Olas and the people there so much that we went back there and checked in for the second time.

Casa de Olas was the best place we stayed in while our trip.

We miss it every single day.

Alissa & Dani

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
3.2 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
1.4 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#16 of 22 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
1.8 mi away
El Jardin
El Jardin
#5 of 22 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.6 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#9 of 22 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
3.5 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De Olas

Address: Lot 6, Las Escaleras, San Juan del Sur 0000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 59 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa De Olas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Olas, is a unique place to stay, blending the best of Bed & Breakfast, hotel and hostel together to create the Casa de Olas experience. We are situated on a hilltop over-looking the town and bay of San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua. Our location provides endless views over the Pacific ocean with spectacular sunsets nightly. Casa De Olas is designed for the more discerning backpacker and budget travelers who are looking to find an oasis of luxury at affordable prices. In total we have 10 rooms and can accommodate a maximum of 75 guests at any one time. We have dorm rooms that can accommodate from 4-6 people with one room housing 14. Casa de Olas is designed for those traveling on a budget or in groups. All rooms are spacious with en-suites. We think staying a little out of town is the best way to experience all that San Juan del Sur and the surrounding area has to offer. Australian couple Fred and Carla are your hosts bringing a wealth of knowledge from their native land with a long resume in the hotel and restaurant industry. Fred and Carla are warm and always ready to give a recommendation. Take a look at our website, TripAdvisor and Facebook pages to find out more and we look forward to having you stay with us soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Casa De Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Olas Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Casa De Olas Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa De Olas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.