We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hostel i ever stayed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa De Olas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa De Olas to your Saves list
Casa De Olas
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Lot 6, Las Escaleras, San Juan del Sur 0000, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best hostel i ever stayed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I was supposed to stayed only a couple of days in casa de olas and have been 2 weeks Now and still here haha . Love this place!!!!!! The owners and staff cant be better!!! The monkey, the infinit pool, the bar, food.. All amazing!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    32
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
4
70
57
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Thank you Carla and Fred for working so hard to make this the most luxurious, homey, welcoming hostel we have ever stayed at! It's more like a resort than a hostel, with the amazing views, the beautiful rooms, the lovely stone work and gardens everywhere. Fred and Carla were so welcoming and accommodating of us, and the rest of the staff were so sweet and helpful as well! We loved the mid afternoon hot dogs by the pool, and popcorn at happy hour, and the delicious family dinners at night. It's a little ways out of town, but don't let that worry you, as it was never a hassle for us to get anywhere - Fred often helped coordinate outings into town, the beaches, and off to the National Parks. We are so glad we could stay with you and we will definitely be back! - Scott & Megan
P.S. Be sure to try one of Carla's delicious Mojito's, and be sweet to Buzz, as we love her!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful - they have private rooms and two dorms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Very Nice location and Nice rooms. We stayed in the dorms for 2 nights. The bed was good and big. We also stayed in a private room and they were very nice with a very big bed. Downside is that there is no door between the bedroom and bathroom. But we did not mind. The water is cold, but that's nearly everywhere in Nicaragua and we did not mind either. Very nice couple who runs the place and a nice open bar and Beamer where we watched movies and sports. Buzz the monkey is very cute and the breAkfast was delicious!! Loved the banana pancakes. The family diner served at Night was also good and worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE!!! It ruined my outlook on your average hostel. I left a few days ago and i couldnt give a nanny-goats shyt about the rest of the hostels around here. Freddo n Carla r pure champs, super friendly (and cute) bar gals, n Buzz will have u running after ur beer/cigis/toothbrush b4 u can say Spider-Monkey. Miss the family dinners n the family!!
Watch out for the shark attacks

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Best place to stay in San Juan!
Carla & Fred (like mum and dad) are the best hosts ever. Feels like being home- especially the family dinner every night.
After San Juan we travelled to Ometepe... But we've missed Casa de Olas and the people there so much that we went back there and checked in for the second time.

Casa de Olas was the best place we stayed in while our trip.

We miss it every single day.

Alissa & Dani

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Casa De Olas... absolutely amazing! I walked in planning to stay 3 nights and ended up staying over three wks! It happens to so many ppl who visit there. From the moment you are arrived you know you have walked into something special. Fred and Carla have made the place feel so homely and welcoming. From amazing home cooked family dinners each night (we attended everyone they are that good!), delicious breakfasts, 18mtr infinity pool, new spa, THE VIEW, affordable accommodation, beer garden, cheap drinks, movie nights.. the list just goes on and on. Don't believe me? Come see for yourself... just be prepared to stay a lot longer than you expected!! Thanks Carla Fred, it was definitely a stay to remember!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This place was pretty awesome! It has everything a traveller needs (including a pool) at a very good price. Family dinners are some of the best I've eaten, and the staff are super friendly. It's a little out of town, but they are pretty flexible with the shuttle, so getting back is no problem. The view in the afternoon is second to none. A little more spanish skills from the staff, and it would be perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Casa De Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De Olas

Address: Lot 6, Las Escaleras, San Juan del Sur 0000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 58 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa De Olas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Olas is a unique place to stay, blending the best of hotel, hostel and B&B. We have dorm accommodation which includes an 11 bed dorm and six 6 bed dorms for those traveling on a budget or in groups. All rooms have en-suites with Tropical Showers. (Note that when we say tropical shower we mean that the shower is not artificially heated and comes naturally from our well).We are a short drive or 5km walk (remember we are on a hill and not everyone likes walking hills) to San Juan del Sur beach. We have an amazing view over the bay and town that provides epic sunsets. We think staying a little out of town is the best way to experience SJDS and the surrounding area including beaches, rain forest and Lake Nicaragua. We have a shuttle service that runs at designated times each days, if you would like to travel into town outside of these times please let our staff know and they can advise how best to do this. We provide a free breakfast for all guests. We also serve dinner 'family style' which means everyone sits down together for dinner. Safe travels and we hope to see you soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Casa De Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Olas Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Casa De Olas Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa De Olas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.