We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG We had such a wonderful time, we stayed an extra day, and still didn't want to leave.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa De Olas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa De Olas to your Saves list
Casa De Olas
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Lot 6, Las Escaleras, San Juan del Sur 0000, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“OMG We had such a wonderful time, we stayed an extra day, and still didn't want to leave.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

The view from the pool is beautiful. The location up on the hill allows a nice breeze. They have only been open 3 months so everything is clean & shiney. Fred & Carla are the BEST & they make everyone feel so at home in their home we fell in love with them and their place in paradise.

Room Tip: Book direct-Expedia charged us 2x the rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    28
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
4
68
51
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

This resort provides you with options to take it easy by the infinity pool or explore the surrounding beaches of San Juan del Sur. The accomodation is first class and hosts Fred and Carla ensure you want for nothing and will happily organize activities for you. Buzz the monkey provides hours of entertainment! Will be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

My girlfriend and I were looking for somewhere different to escape our busy city lives. We’re pretty seasoned travellers, but neither of us had ever been to Central America before and we stumbled across Casa De Olas and thought we’d give it, and Nicaragua, a go.

We definitely hit the jackpot. Casa de Olas gave us the perfect balance of relaxation (chilling by the pool, lying on the beach, watching the sun set with a cold beer) and activities (surf lessons, fishing trips, climbing volcanoes). It made for a great holiday.

The room, food, evening cocktails and overall hospitality were all fantastic! I’d definitely recommend…

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

I traveled to Nicaragua with my parents for this adventure. We were the first guests and must say we were the perfect first guests. Although the hotel was still under Reno's, the hospitality was fantastic. Fred and Carla made our trip, from the first night we felt like were staying with friends. Lots of laughter happened on this trip.
The food was fresh and flavorful, our glasses were never empty unless we wanted them to be :) San Juan del Sur is a cute and friendly town. My Dad ran every morning and by the second day the locals were saying Hi to him. The Sunsets took our breath away each and every night :) Our main goal for this trip was to Relax, which we successfully achieved . We also fed our adventurous side, volcanoes, caves, horseback riding, fishing, yoga to name a few. The beaches are Amazing!!!
I am counting the months for my return, as for my parents it is a trip they will never forget!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

We were looking for a place where you could do as much or as little as you like. This place was perfect! When we weren't relaxing by the infinity pool (that overlooks the town), we were wandering through the town taking in some of the local culture. Then as afternoon came, Fred and Carla were the greatest hosts with drinks by the pool and buzz the monkey doing his thing. The rooms are clean and modern and give a sense of homeliness. This boutique resort was such a great getaway and I do think that San Juan Del Sur will soon become an 'IT' spot.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

Arriving in a place like Nicaragua can be an adventure in itself. But when Fred (Resort General Manager) told me that he was coming by to pick me up at the airport, I was wrapped! Terrific to have local knowledge and this was just my first taste of what was to come for the rest of the week. I have never had such hospitable hosts, the view was incredible from their infinity pool, and the beach was surreal! All-inclusive was incredible value too. I have already booked my next vacation down there as I love Buzz the monkey! Thanks guys!

Room Tip: Do all-inclusive deal, can't get better value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa De Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De Olas

Address: Lot 6, Las Escaleras, San Juan del Sur 0000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa De Olas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Olas is a unique place to stay. While some would consider us a hostel others consider us the ultimate B&B. We have dorm accommodation (an 11 bed dorm and six 6 bed dorms) for those traveling on a budget or in groups. We also accomodate the traveler looking for a little more comfort and privacy with private Queen rooms. All rooms have en-suites with Tropical Showers. (Note that when we say tropical shower we mean that the shower is not artificially heated and comes naturally from our well).We are a short drive or 5km walk (remember we are on a hill and not everyone likes walking hills) to San Juan del Sur beach. We want to be sure that this is clear :). We have an amazing view over the bay and town that provides epic sunsets. We think staying a little out of town is the best way to experience SJDS and the surrounding area including beaches, rain forest and Lake Nicragua.We have a shuttle service that runs at designated times each days, if you would like to travel into town outside of these times please let our staff know and they can advise how best to do this. We provide a free breafast for all guests. We also serve dinner 'family style' which means everyone sits down together for dinner.Safe travels and we hope to see you soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Casa De Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Olas Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Casa De Olas Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa De Olas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.