We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Terraza Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Terraza Guest House to your Saves list
La Terraza Guest House
Del Parque Central, 25 vrs oeste, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Taos, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great for Families!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We extended our stay in San Juan del Sur because of our experience with this lodging, which is the only place we could find at a reasonable price point that offered nice common spaces for each apartment, fully equipped kitchen(even a blender for guayaba pina smoothies in the morning), extremely clean, nice balcony with hammock, very personable and helpful hosts, and some separation of space with the bedrooms, which has become important when travelling with teenagers! Price point was less than Casa Oro, but a bit more than some of the other hostels, but well worth it for the amenities, privacy, and location.

Prior comments about noise are true, but this is the norm in Central America, and Mexico. I am an early riser, so the 6 a.m. church bells did not bother me(I am already enjoying the roosters and parrots by this point).

Regarding AC, we never felt it was necessary. We had just come out of two weeks working and camping in the jungle on a finca, so perhaps our perspective was skewed. The ceiling fans were more than adequate.

Room Tip: If you are needing quiet, the lower apartment with the bedroom facing the courtyard/roof, versus the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
16
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

As our reservation for a double bed room ensuite with Hostelworld did not work out, we got the apartment for the same price which was very huge and comfortable. Everything is in good shape, lovely interior. The kitchen is fully equipped and the living area invites to cook together and have a nice evening. However, ask in advance if the air conditioning is included in your price as we had to pay this extra and no one told us beforehand. La Terraza is only 3minutes walk from the wonderful bay and all restaurants, shops and an Internet Cafe are nearby, just across the road. Staff is friendly and helpful. Arrange your tours with the hostel Casa Oro which is just a minute away from La Terazza.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This place combines some of the comfort and privacy of a nice apartment with the price and sociability of a hostel. We met some really nice people who were sharing our apartment and the owners were also welcoming and were extremely helpful when we had to stay on a few extra days due to a lost passport. The balcony area is great for relaxing and there are beautiful views from the rooftop at sunset. We looked at a good few options in San Juan del Sur and this was the best value we came across. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our group of 6 girls had the top floor apartment which has 3 rooms. It would have been much more comfortable with AC, as it was very hot even at night. We thoroughly enjoyed the terrace and the hammock, and I especially loved that we were right downtown yet away from most of the noise (at night). Unfortunately it's right across the street from a church whose bells start going off at 6am. I highly recommend booking through a hostel booking website, because that's what we did and it saved us $30 per night, which is what we would have paid had we booked directly through the La Terraza website. I think next time I would look for a place with AC, although I would miss that balcony...

Room Tip: The room with the two twin beds may be the most comfortable to sleep in the heat (away from body hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

La Terraza slept 6 of us pretty well. It was a little cramped, but the addition of a twin mattress on the floor helped. The balcony was definitely a highlight. It was hard to leave it. Katie was really helpful during the planning phase of the stay and also during. She suggested Nica Sail and Surf for the day sailing trip which turned out to be the favorite day for many of us. It seemed like a really good value. My only complaint is that the ceiling fans in the living room and balcony seemingly did not work. That would have made our stay more comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had an awesome time at la terraza. The location is perfect - not far away, but far enough from the noise...it was a cute and clean place with a nice common area. Would def stay here again! We had two rooms with a shared bath...one room had two twin beds and the other had a double.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed in sjds for a few nights and only managed to get a room for this gem for one of those nights. The second floor was set up beautifully and cleanliness seems to be a top priority. The location is far enough away from the beach to make for a quiet night. owners were helpful with organizing a day trip for surfing as well!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Terraza Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza Guest House

Address: Del Parque Central, 25 vrs oeste, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your La Terraza Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Terraza Guest House Hotel San Juan Del Sur
La Terraza Guest House Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Terraza Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.