We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional value for a stellar apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Terraza Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Terraza Guest House to your Saves list
La Terraza Guest House
Del Parque Central, 25 vrs oeste, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Exceptional value for a stellar apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My boyfriend and I just got back from staying here for two nights and we were very pleased. I have read through the previous comments and clearly they have improved on these as the sheets were comfy and clean and there was someone around at all times to assist us with anything we needed. We were on the third floor with 'flat mates' one of our two nights. The kitchen area and living area are shared and gorgeous. The cleaning lady came everyday. The hammock on the shared terrace is comfy and relaxing with view of the sunset over the ocean. One night we enjoyed the sunset from the rooftop terrace with some homemade cocktails and it was wonderful! But the main kicker, friends we met from Australia were staying at a hostel much farther from town in a dorm and they actually paid more than we did! This spot is central, great for the budget and very relaxing. We were very nervous about traveling to Nicaragua but felt very safe once there.

Room Tip: For just a bit extra per night you can have a private bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
17
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed at La Terraza for 10 nights and loved it. The apartment was super clean, the common areas are cleaned every single day and I had a nice big bathroom in my room. The owners were so kind and friendly. It was low season and I was able to just show up on their doorstep with no reservation which was great. If I ever return to San Juan I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This guesthouse effectively has two apartments, with three rooms in each apartment: one room has a private bathroom and the other two share a bathroom. We stayed in the room with a private bathroom; as it was low season, we ended up having the entire place to ourselves for $22 a night and made a lot of use of the living room and hammock in the communal area. I agree with others that this would be perfect for a family or a group of friends who could take all 3 rooms and have the whole place to themselves- the overall cost would be much less than renting out an apartment, with the same result. There is a roof terrace with great views of SJDS and the balcony is the perfect spot to hang out and relax with a book. The owners were very friendly and helpful and the location is perfect- right in the middle of all the restaurants and just a couple of minutes to the beach. I've given it 4 stars instead of 5 because I thought the apartment got a little hot and it could do with having air conditioning instead of just fans, but overall I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed in Room 6 for two nights at $22 per night. Shared bathroom and disrupted sleep that comes with the next room taking a shower at 4am. Fan only and a little uncomfortable at this time of year with humidity nudging 80%. Having said that this would be an ideal place for a long term stay or a group traveling that were to take all 3 room on each floor. Kitchen and lounge area a bonus and hammock on each balcony. Roof top terrace bare but a nice place to catch a breeze in a deck chair. Very central. Owner is English speaking. Good security with you having a key to the front door, the floor door and your bedroom door. Cold water only but not a problem given the heat. Walking distance from Rivas bus...head straight for one block and pretty much on the corner as you turn right towards the beach (opposite park and cathedral)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I shared a room at La Terraza and throughout the whole trip we kept repeating that it was the perfect place to stay during our 10 days in town. Katie, the owner, was incredibly helpful and very flexible. She ensured that we were picked up in Managua, despite losing contact with us before finalizing the details. All of our requests were taken care of quickly. The location in San Juan is perfect, right next to a beautiful church and park, around the corner from Zen Yoga studio, and walking distance to everything. One of the best things about this place is the view, from the balcony and the rooftop terrace. You can see everything, the mountains, the beach and all of the town. We will certainly be back to San Juan and will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltagalpa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

While many people come to San Juan Del sur for a rage surfed out party, or for a luxurious latin vacation, as a couple we came down looking for a relaxing good time, where we could hang out but also get away when we needed. This was an ideal place. We had AC for 38 a night, which was the best value I could find. The bed was nice and they cleaned the room for you. In addition the common room area was an added bonus. We shared it with two Danish volunteers who were also looking for a relaxing time. The kitchen gives one the opportunity to cook and to bring home leftovers. The balcony is amazing for hanging out late at night and the tv allows you to catch a game or show. The only problems were the internet did not function consistently, going on and off and the owner and the staff were often unavailable when we needed them, however very kind and helpful when present. Her husband was out of town which may have effected the quality of service. This being said this is a great value for any couple. I also recomend that family or groups rent out an entire floor for the week, where you can take advantage of the apartment. Overall, a great value and a rare quality middle of the road price range.

Room Tip: AC is recommended between April and June.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed at La Terraza for 10 days while taking spanish lessons and really enjoyed the location and the amenities. Ther are two floors with three rooms per floor - one with a private bath while the other two rooms share a bath. The three rooms share a kitchen, living room and terrace. Each terrace has a hamock and a great view of the main street and the water front. The overhead fans don't really create much of a breeze so it can be hot in the bedrooms...

The aparments were cleaned each day, they felt very safe (locks for each room, the apartment door and the outside door), the price was very reasonable and coffee and drinking water were provided. The market is only one block away for buying provisions and the Church and central park is just across the street. San Juan del Sur is a small town so everything is closeby.

I was there just before Easter so there were many parades that went down the main street to the church which we could watch directly from our terrace, an added bonus! I was also travelling solo and this was a good place to meet other travellers and much preferrable to a hostal.

Room Tip: The third floor apartment is definately the better of the two floors - better view of both the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Terraza Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza Guest House

Address: Del Parque Central, 25 vrs oeste, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your La Terraza Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Terraza Guest House Hotel San Juan Del Sur
La Terraza Guest House Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Terraza Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.