We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great staff, great view.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Vivian

Restaurante Vivian
Paseo Del Rey Street | Avenida Costera, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua
+505 2568 2442
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Mediterranean, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Open since 1980, Vivian Restaurant offers visitors the port of San Juan del Sur a selected menu of seafood cuisine of good taste and quality. Mrs. Vivian and her son, are the soul that guarantee customers good service and attention that Vivian Restaurant offers.
Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food, great staff, great view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Vivian is relatively new to the San Juan scene. The staff is very nice. they go out of their way to make you feel welcome and you can tell they've had a class in costumer service. Anything fried they offer is very good, the batter is tasty and krispy.. ive also had the garlic octupus and its cooked correctly and that last naranja agria splash gives it a very good taste. the shrimp and pasta is pretty basic, if your looking for italian go to mauricio´s next to el timon. vivian is good, and the prices and reasonable and its beach front, so you get a great view with your food. If you have children they acn play in the sand while you dine. i suggest to try it next time your in san juan.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    40
    12
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Golden, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fresh fish, ocean side dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

So far this has been the friendliest place to eat. The staff are friendly, smiling, smartly dressed and the service is very professional. I loved the fresh breaded fish, it was melt in the mouth good. You can't get closer to the ocean than sitting on the sand. Great value.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rialto, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“They have one price and charge a different one”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Me and my husband went to eat at "Vivian RESTAURANT" and they have a "special Menu" at the front door. The manager convinced us to enter by giving us an special deal. But when we got the bill, he charged us for two dishes in one plate, when he offered us one plate with two dishes. The cake was like a rock and the food was bad AND DRY. The service from the waiter was nice. The manager is like a dictatorship, the employees are not aloud to contradict his words. The boy who served us knew that he offered one thing and charged for something else, but he could not say anything. Latin America looks bad thanks to people like this one in this restaurant. PLEASE DO NOT SUPPORT DICTAROTSHIPS

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible noisy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were a big group drive by recomendation. Most of us are locals, so we get first hand recomendation. On August 27th, 2013 the restaurant have a keyboard and a singer playin music. It was so loud that I wasn't able to tell if they were any good. They were so loud that my cochlear bones hurted. I said that I can't stand that noise, but some of my group were already sitted and they wanted to see if he recomendations about food were true or not. So I decided to break the group and took my wife somewhere else for lunch. After leaving the place my ears were ringing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“On the beach dining!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed eating on the beach overlooking the ocean. Appreciated the fact that Nicas filled the Nica owned restaurant unlike most tourist-filled places run by foreigners. The pescado entero was intriguing although a lot of work. It was quite warm as there was no wind tunnel. The waiters were very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Vivian also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Been to Restaurante Vivian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Vivian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.