We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chale's House

Save Saved
You added Chale's House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Chale's House
Avenida del Mercado, 10 m south of the Market, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best kept secret!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

When I arrived to San Juan Del Sur, to be honest, I was a little overwhelmed. The bus drops you off in the middle of the town and you have no idea where to go. I ended up staying the first night at Pachamama Hostel because that is where someone had recommended. The following day, I went out and looked at nearly every hostel in the entire town. I wanted to get an idea of price, quality and cleanliness in town. The best hostel (guest house) that i found was Chales House.

There are places that are less expensive, and there are places that are higher quality, but for the price there is no place better! Chales House costs $7.50 USD per person, when there are two or three people. If you are traveling alone, then a room is $10 USD per person. These are private rooms with a closet and bathroom. The bathroom has a toilet and a shower and is incredibly clean. The whole place is clean. There is a kitchen that all guest have access to. The kitchen is great! It is equipped with pots, pans, plates, bowls, sharp knives, and silverware. It has a four-burner stove and an oven. The whole place has wifi as well, including in the rooms!

The guest house is run by a family who lives on the property and they are very accommodating. They will help answer any questions you have. If you need anything for your room just ask them and they will get it for you. Plus, suki, the dog is always around to keep you company.

I have nothing bad to say about this place, but there are a couple inconveniences that i should mention. One, the kitchen closes pretty early at around 9-10pm and is locked. So if you need anything from out of the refrigerator, i.e. beer, then it would be good to inform Carlos, or to take it out before the kitchen is locked. Two, when the main door is locked at night and when the family leaves the property, there is a side gate that you have to come in. The problem is that there is only one key for the room, so if you and your travel partner split up at night, then you risk getting locked out because there is no other way in except with the key to the lock. Keep in mind, this is done for your safety and the safety of your belongings, but it would be nice to have an extra set of keys for each person.

I can't wait to go back!

I highly recommend Chales House and will be staying there the next time I go to San Juan Del Sur

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at Chale's House for a week and really liked it. The place is very central, near the market of San Juan del Sur, where also the busstop is. I will really miss the "Rivas, Rivas, Rivas" call of the busdriver, shortly before they leave.. You feel like you are in the middle of thie "normal life" of the people here.
The room was simple, but cozy, comfortable bed, ventilator and some space to put your clothes. Clean private bath with cold shower, that just worked fine. Comfy bed.
We went surfing to Playa Maderas with Arenas Caliente Surfshop almost everyday and enjoyed the beach and the layed back atmosphere of the town and Chale's very much. The owner and his wife are very firendly and helpful and after a couple of days it feels a bit like home.
Of course, there are lots of hostels and hotels in town, so you have a big variety. You can have a room or apartment with a private balcony and seaview, which CHale's House does not offer. But for the price (we payed 14 US-Dollars for a double in low season) you really can't complain! We would definitely go back to Chale's!

Room Tip: The rooms upstaires get lots of air, nice and cool(er) at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and really felt relaxt and safe here. Very clean room(s), very friendly staff and overall just a very nice stay. They really thought about setting up the hostal and making guest feel safe and at home and it works!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We thought we might only stay a day at Chale's House but we ended up staying a week! Carlos and his wife are approachable and friendly and very accommodating. Once you check in, they will leave your room alone just like it's your own, but will be happy to change sheets or provide you with TP or anything else if you need it.

They allow you to use their kitchen, as long as you clean up after yourself. There are 2 areas to hang out-downstairs at the picnic table and upstairs on some chairs.

You may also meet their beautiful and adorable 4 year old girl and Sookie, their super lovable mini-dobermen. She may bark at you when you first come in, but she'll soon be looking to jump in your lap for a pet.

Chale's house isn't super big, maybe 10 or so rooms, and as a rule they don't encourage partying. Since we go to bed early most nights we had very restful nights sleep every night. But they don't mind if you and a few friends have a few beers and cook in the kitchen.

The rooms are squeeky clean, with good mattresses, decent pillows, clean sheets etc. Our room had 2 fans (TWO! WOW!) and the people in the room next to us had 1 fan and a TV. The rooms are secure and Chale's house feels like a sanctuary from the hustle and bustle yet it is located right in the heart of San Juan del Sur like 10 feet from the buses. You can walk to the beach in about 2 minutes.

Also the Wi-fi was very good. My husband needs it to work so we depend a lot on it. Very occasionally the signal went out, but only for short periods of time so we found it didn't interrupt our work much at all.

We loved Chale's House and were sad to leave it! We wish them much luck and success in the future.

Room Tip: Room #1 (our room) has 2 fans and the most breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband and I stay here everytime we go to San Juan. I love it. It's a little place, nothing spectacular in the appearance but very comfortable and clean. Every room that we have stayed in has a bathroom, including dorms. The beds are very comfortable, allowing for a great night's sleep. The staff are Nicas and very friendly, not sure if they speak english. The best part is the price. For what you get it is a great value. The location is not a bad one either, just a few blocks from the beach and good eating spots. I've never tried to use the kitchen so I can't say if it is public or not. Anyway, this is a small cozy place with lots of charm, and like I said, very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

This homestead/hostel is very nice and clean. They have a nice set up with 6 rooms on second level and (I think) 2 on the bottom level. Our room had a shower and great ventilation. Carlos and Jessica are terrific cooks and there are several nice sitting areas around the house. The location is perfect - right in the center of town and there's a market and pharmacy next door. I highly, highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed at Chale's House for four days while on a voluntourism trip. It is ideally located--close enough to everything to be within one or two blocks' walking distance from restaurants, bars, the library, market, beach, etc, and far enough away to have a peaceful night's sleep. Carlos and Jessica, the owners of Chale's House, were extremely hospitable. As a component of our trip, Chale's House was considered our homestay with a local Nica family, and we ate many of our meals with Carlos, Jessica, and their family. Over delicious, home-cooked meals, we talked about life in Nicaragua, things to do and see, the progress of our service project, what life is like back home in the States, and so on. The rooms we stayed in each had their own private bathroom with a shower. I stayed in a room with a large bunk bed with a full sized bed on the bottom and a twin on the top. There was wi-fi throughout the hostel. Laundry service is available and the clothes I had cleaned were returned to me within the day. Both the rooms and the public spaces were clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay at Chale's House on a return trip to San Juan del Sur.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chale's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chale's House

Also Known As:
Chale's House Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur
Address: Avenida del Mercado, 10 m south of the Market, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 51 Specialty lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chale's House Hostel offers you pleasant, clean and accessible rooms. From our location you can reach on foot or by transport to the major attractions in San Juan del Sur.We offer several rooms with all amenities. Each room has either a matrimonial bed or bunk beds for up to three people, with their own bathroom, fan, and all at a great price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chale's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chale's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.