We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay at Chales” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chale's House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chale's House to your Saves list
Chale's House
Avenida del Mercado, 10 m south of the Market, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good stay at Chales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

I stayed at Chales House for 5 days and it was everything i wanted. Clean private rooms with a private bathroom for only $10?! that's unheard of. For the price i wasnt expecting much but i was surprised at how nice this place is. The Nica family that runs it is so nice and friendly as well. They have a central location which is perfect if you plan to stay in town SJDS. Also they have free wi-fi! i've stayed in hostel's around the world that were $35 + and not near as nice as this place.

Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
8
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We were recommended to stay at Chale's by the non-profit in town called Communidad Connect. We were staying at hotel near the church. What we really like about this place is it is run by a wonderful Nica family who are both friendly, helpful and professional. The rooms are very clean, good airflow w 1-2 fans in each room, colorfully decorated, very secure, ensuite bathroom, patio, and wifi.

We stayed at Chale's for two weeks, and found it to be a comfortable home base. Given that it's small (6 rooms), and the family is very accomodating (keys to side entrance in case you Return late, laundry and water) and care about your experience w them. We would recommend them to any small group, couple, or small family looking for privacy, comfortable rooms w bath, shelving in closets, and don't want to spend a lot of money.

Note that Saturday nights can be very loud in the neighborhood but the rest of the week it's quiet.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

I stumbled on this place while I was staying at another hostel in the town.

I asked if there was space and got the last room. At the hostel I'd paid $9 a night for a 7man dorm that was horrible...for $10 in Casa Chale s I got my own room with a double bed and ensuite bathroom. Best of all it was clean, well maintained and quiet.

Lovely people and lovely place. I wish there were more places to stay like Casa Chale s!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

Having hopped from a few of the other hostels in town, we immediately felt at home here. There are only 6 rooms (all private) and all come with double bed (some with a single bunk above) and ensuite. Our room was $15 for both of us.
The resident family are lovely, and great fun to coexist with. The kitchen is well equipped, as it also is used for the mini-bakery out front. Unfortunately they didn't have internet, but we were told it would be installed within the month.
The rooms were bright and spacious, but got a bit warm as they all open out onto the balcony. All rooms had 1 or 2 fans which helped.
Really a great little homely place, and a welcome change from the hostel scene.
A last note: if you can, try and get room 5 with its complimentary cable tv.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
1.6 mi away
El Jardin
El Jardin
#5 of 22 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#14 of 22 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
HC Suites Hotel
HC Suites Hotel
#16 of 48 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#11 of 48 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maracuya
Hotel Maracuya
#17 of 59 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chale's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chale's House

Address: Avenida del Mercado, 10 m south of the Market, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 59 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chale's House Hostel offers you pleasant, clean and accessible rooms. From our location you can reach on foot or by transport to the major attractions in San Juan del Sur.We offer several rooms with all amenities. Each room has either a matrimonial bed or bunk beds for up to three people, with their own bathroom, fan, and all at a great price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chale's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chale's House Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chale's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.