We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“did I stay at the same hotel as other reviewers???” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Pelon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Pelon
Save
You added Casa Pelon to your Saves list
10 meters east of Playa Marsella, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“did I stay at the same hotel as other reviewers???”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We booked two nights and ended up leaving. Originally, we saw he posts about a cozy, relaxing home on beautiful Playa Marsella with a warm, inviting host. This is no what I arrived to. There was an earlier post the owner, Mark, having parties and taking over the house but disregarded it. I shouldn't have. We met the other couple staying and it turns out they were mutual friends of mark. We decided to walk to playa maderas and down to the mango rosa to swim and have drinks. When we got back, the closest restaurant was already closed for dinner. So unless we wanted to walk back up the long, dusty road in the pitch black we were SOL. The website indicates a full kitchen, that really means an over frozen fridge (which actually my husband had to take a butchers knife and chop ice off off as it wouldn't shut). Anyways, everyone was drinking cocktails and hanging out on the patio and another couple mark was friends with came over. While everyone drank (without offering us anything or even the option to buy anything) and talked on and on about deer hunting and cherry farming without even trying to include us. My husband went to bed at 730 and I followed shortly after since it was obvious we were not welcome in their little party. Our room was so spartan it felt like a jail, not a cozy house on the beach. We spent 9 nights in Nicaragua and were never as hot at we were here. It was painful. No real breeze, the side window screen fell out against the burglar bars so bugs came in all night. I wanted to cry all night. In the morning, we decided to checkout and stay elsewhere. Best decision ever. For $10 more a night we stayed at Hotel Alcazar in SJDS with AC, plush bedding, and a kind staff. If you insist on being near Marsella, the Mango Rosa is beautiful with an amazing staff (and only $45 more per night!). We met a couple who stayed at Pacific Bay hotel and said it was gorgeous and the owners actually drove them from Marsella to San Jorge ferry. Avoid this place at all costs! Oh, and we did email Mark to advise we were checking out early (and we were not asking for money back since we did check out early) and offered to buy him and the group a round of drinks if they came into SJDS as a token of kindness and never got a response. Go figure.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelonbbq, Owner at Casa Pelon, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
It is unfortunate that these people were not happy with there stay. As the owner of Casa Pelon I take these kind of reviews seriously and will address the issues of broken screens and a refrigerator that needs defrosting. Something that needs to be done often I might add. On the other hand the clients said that they walked home from Mango Rosa around 7:00pm and went to bed hungry. Mango Rosa serves food until 10:00pm and there are 3 restaurants within 200mts of Casa Pelon that serve food until 8:00pm. I also provide flashlights and lanterns for nighttime excursions. As for the dusty road...The rains have fixed that. The rooms have fans that are operational and very effective against the rare occasion of a hot night. We are on the beach and the breeze is very constant. I feel that these guests needed to do a little more homework. If they wanted to pay more and wanted the hustle and bustle of SJDS they should have considered it first.

Mark Kane (AKA Pelon)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    16
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
17
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Nice front porch to hang out with the best view, just 20 meters to the beach, top location! Playa Marsella was wonderful in April and except for the week end we had the beach for ourselves. Mark let us stay at his place altough he was gone for a trip himself, which was great and worked out well! We had the pleassure to meet him on our last day, tried some very tasteful ham and got great breakfast. Thanks a lot for all, was a pleasure to stay at your guesthouse and meet you!

Playa Marsella is a 15 min taxi ride from San Juan del Sur. it is not so much a surf beach but very nice for swimming. It was perfect to relax! Mark has two rooms that he rents out.
Would always go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Casa Pelon is by far one of the best hostels I've visited. Mark was a perfect host and made me and my boyfriend feel right at home from the moment I arrived. Not only did Mark introduce us to his friends and got us integrated into the local community, he also let us sample his delicious smoked meats. The breakfast each morning was delicious and well-varied and a welcome opportunity to try Mark's meats which are incorporated into the recipes. Mark was also on hand to organise tours and cheap taxi rides wherever we needed to go. The hostel is located a stone's throw away from Playa Marsella and you can walk down to the beach and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere for yourself. Alternatively, you can sit on Mark's patio and enjoy listening to the sound of the waves while resting on the hammock. The hostel is also close to Playa Madera which is a perfect hangout if you like surfing or fancy a more upbeat beach atmosphere than what Playa Marsella has to offer. I also have to make mention of Mark's support staff who also contributed to our pleasant stay. Antonio is an all-round worker at Casa Pelon and he whips up some of the best gallo pinto I've ever tasted at a moment's notice. Mark goes out of his way to ensure that his guests are having a great time and is truly a genuine host. Well done Casa Pelon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

A chill, intimate environment. We had just been partying for a few days in San Juan del Sur, and the day and a half we spent here was perfect for relaxing at the end of our trip.

The B&B is located in a house a stone's throw from a beautiful and quiet beach. The rooms are small but clean. This isn't a sterile hotel but a house with people living in it. Mark, the owner, was super attentive. He helped us track down local transportation, gave us ingredients for our dinner, and for our breakfast included delicious bacon that he'd smoked himself (our vegetarian had his own delicious omelet). I'd definitely recommend Casa Pelon to anyone looking for some relaxing beach days.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Casa Pelon of Playa Marcella is by far the nicest bed and breakfast I have seen in all my year of traveling. It was a pleasant and relaxing change of pace from staying in hostels most of my trip. Wake up to the sound of the waves just 100 meters form your bedroom door, a great outdoor patio/living room/kitchen, and real laid back vibes from the man himself, Mark 'Pelon'.
I spend a full week there, enjoying some of the best tacos, smoked meet, and by far the best mustard I will ever have. The house is beautiful and classic, decorated by a cool collection of art from the locals, including a small but neat collection of ancient Indigenous stones found in the mountains above. The night life around Marcella is relaxed, there is a great restaurant right on the beach front run by a really nice Nica family, and on rare occasion a live band rolls through for some evening entertainment. I highly recommend Casa Pelon for anyone looking for a more secluded, safe, and cleaner beach to hangout on. The prices are great, the serene beach is priceless, and transport into town is close, and easily accessible for anyone.
Hit this place up!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island BC Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had the pleasure to stay with Mark at Casa Pelon where we lounged around staring at the most beautiful view of Playa Marsella and listening to the pounding surf. Close to great bars and restaurants. Very nice breakfast in the morning and enjoyed the stories Mark had also.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Bathroom wasnt clean when we got there and wasnt cleaned over the 4 days that we stayed. Owner had guests over after a party, stayed up late being loud outside our room, and again in the morning. It's his house he can party if he wants to. there were several instances where he acted very unprofessional and should rethink his actions or rethink his business.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Pelon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pelon

Address: 10 meters east of Playa Marsella, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated on one of southwestern Nicaragua's most beautiful and tranquil beaches. Casa Pelon is located on Playa Marsella and is ten minuets from the fun town of San Juan del Sur and 5 minutes from the well-known surf break at Playa Maderas. We would be happy to arrange any transportation needs our guests may have. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Pelon Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Pelon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.