We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy place right near the beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Pelon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Pelon
10 meters east of Playa Marsella, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cozy place right near the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Mark was a great host and the place is very cozy and chill. You are steps away from the beach and a short taxi ride away from town. You can't beat the value. We got 2 double rooms for $70 a night and that was with breakfast. We are vegetarians and Mark catered to our needs. The rooms are small but enough room for us. Mark took us to a great pizza place down the road called Munchies Bluues Cafe and it was awesome and filled with locals. We will be coming back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    14
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
13
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlestown, RI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Casa Pelon is right on the beach and the swimming is great--it's not a surfing beach, so not too many people around. The hosts, Wendy and Mark, are very relaxed and generous. The actual rooms are small, but the open common area is stupendous, with hammocks and a perfect view. The food is wonderful, and the smoked meat is awesome. Easy walking distance to a few restaurants. Cabs into town are a little expensive, but Mark will gladly give you a ride if he is headed that way. As others have mentioned, maybe not the best choice for neat freaks.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We enjoyed a 4 night stay here, but you can't be too particular. Don't come here if you are a near freak. The location is stupendous, just off the beach of Marsella. it is a $20 cab ride to San Juan Del Sur, so we didn't go there often. Marsella is nice with great sunsets, but all the action is on Madera beach just to the north. Madera cannot be reached along the beach, we tried, but you can walk to it from Madera using the interior roads, which are scenic. It is a strenuous 40? minute walk, so don't plan on carrying a surfboard. Madera has a couple decent places to eat with fun surfing, great volleyball and boogie boarding (and lots of beautiful young people from all over the world). The owner of Casa Pelon is great about giving free rides places if he is out and about. Casa Pelon is so laid back that they gave us the keys for everything and we did our own laundry and hung it up and dried it once while we were there. This is a good place for the Deadhead and "live and let live" crowd. We really enjoyed another couple that stayed a night while we were there and then ran into them again on the ferry to Ometepe. Make sure that you say the appropriate greeting to everyone that you meet on the road in Spanish as the friendly locals seem to really appreciate any attempt at carrying on social niceties.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

This should be called B&B&D. I got breakfast and dinner at this nice little B&B. It has two guest rooms, so you won't be bothered with a lot of other guests. The rooms are enclosed but the common areas are mostly wall free, so it's like being outside all the time.
Pros: Wonderful hospitality, pick up and drop off. Willingness to take you to other places, like the store; Wendy is an amazing cook and Mark has some awesome BBQ; There is a truck that stopped by with a treasure trove of fruits and vegetables, comfortable bed with clean sheets and two pillows, hot water, and very quiet dogs. Surfing and fishing trips available and Frisbee golf. It’s also 30 paces to the beach that seemed pretty secluded.
Cons: No air conditioning, but there were screens on the windows in the bedroom and I never felt I needed air conditioning. Far from town, but if you are looking for quiet and relaxing, this is the place. There are a lot of wildlife noises. If you don't like that, either close the windows and turn on the fan or bring ear plugs. I found the sound of the waves and the crickets comforting, but there are bird noises that sound off a bit early. I closed the window and couldn't hear much after that.
There is a rainy season and a windy season, so call and find out when the best time to visit is. But if you’re looking to just kick back and relax from all the hustle and bustle of things, I think this place would be perfect any time of the year.

Room Tip: The are two adjoining rooms but they do lock. The bathroom is adjoined to one of the bedrooms, but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Casa Pelon is nestled in the palm trees at the end of the road on Playa Marsella. A great place to get away and relax in the hammocks with an awesome ocean breeze. Mark and Wendy are both great cooks, (loved Wendy's "beet salad") and hospitable owners that just made us feel like family. Great location to beaches and SJDS.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed with Mark and Wendy for 2 nights over Christmas 2011 and I wish we could have stayed there for the whole year. Casa Pelon is located in Playa Marsella, a small piece of heaven, with wide beach, dramatic rocks and perfect sunsets. There is no surfing on that beach, but Mark was kind enough to offer us a ride to the adjacent Madera beach where you can rent a board and the waves are good.
Mark and Wendy were welcoming and warm and made us feel at home. The rooms were basic but comfortable enough. They have 2 rooms and a bathroom for the guests, but since we came with kids, we took both rooms and so had the bathroom only to ourselves. The breakfast they cooked for us was delicious, with home-smoked bacon and yummy french toasts. Between the hammocks, the dogs and the relaxed atmosphere you really can't go wrong!
On our second day, Mark and Wendy had couple of friends over for dinner. Mark made sure we were OK with that and invited us to join. We did so with much pleasure, enjoying good food, drinks and company. As we mentioned that we are about to go to sleep, Mark made sure the party was over and we got our night's rest.
To sum things up, we really enjoyed our stay at Casa Pelon, the place itself, Mark ad Wendy, the direct access to the beach and the views all make it a beautiful getaway from the hustle and bustle of San Juan del Sur.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

I have never stayed here, but I have had several dinners here, and that alone is reason enough to visit Casa Pelon. This is some of the best food in all of Nicaragua, and definitely the best barbecue and smoked meats in the country. It happens to be set at one of the best swimming beaches near SJDS. I love the open air, tropical feel of the place. You can hear the waves crashing in the background. Mark and Wendy are terrific hosts. The atmosphere is laid back and easy. If you are looking for a low key and not fancy beach escape, this definitely could be the place to stay. If you like great meats, with a nice assortment of salads and garlic bread, make arrangements to eat here. This is truly one of the highlights of a visit to the San Juan del Sur area. I think it's best to email in advance a few days before you want to eat, as the meats are smoked for many hours, and everything is always fresh....but believe me, it's worth this small extra effort.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Pelon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pelon

Address: 10 meters east of Playa Marsella, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated on one of southwestern Nicaragua's most beautiful and tranquil beaches. Casa Pelon is located on Playa Marsella and is ten minuets from the fun town of San Juan del Sur and 5 minutes from the well-known surf break at Playa Maderas. We would be happy to arrange any transportation needs our guests may have. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Pelon Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Pelon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casa Pelon to your Saves list