We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Juan del Sur Beach

San Juan del Sur Beach
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Grecia, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have to admit to being a little nervous on my first trip to Nicaragua. We went for 3 days and enjoyed every minute. We stayed at Hotel Gran Oceano, modest, clean and family owned. The beach was clean, the people were super friendly and the restaurants very good. This beach is in a bay and the waves are good without the undertow. Must go to The Christ of the Mercy, which is a colossal statue of Jesus Christ that overlooks the bay of San Juan del Sur. Get a local taxi to take you there, have climb stairs but the view is breath taking. Our 23 year old grandson went with us and we met people from Holland, France and Germany. They had a impromptu soccer game and had a great time. Look forward to a return trip.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    70
    61
    21
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“FIESTA Y PLAYA EN SJDS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Visite las playas de SJDS con un amigo en mi paso por las tierras de centroamerica
Dejando atras la isla de Ometepe llegamos via dos buses y un taxi hasta el centro.
Las playas son enormes, mucha extension de arena; el mar obviamente es frio.
sjds esta lleno de bares y discotecas para disfrutar de la vida nocturna.
Alejandote del "centro" hay muchos restaurantes y supermercados para comer por no mas de u$s 3. Para llegar es ideal compartir taxi para dividir los gastos.
TODO esto vigilado por una escultura gigante de cristo en la punta del cerro.
RECOMENDADO




Visit SJDS's beaches with a friend in my step along the lands of centroamerica Leaving behind Ometepe's island we come route two buses and a taxi up to the center. The beaches are enormous, many extension of sand; the sea obviously is cold. Sjds I fill this one with bars and discotheques to enjoy the night life. Moving away from the "center" there are many restaurants and supermarkets to eat for not mas of u$s 3. To come is ideal to share taxi to divide the expenses. ALL THAT been vigilant over a giant sculpture of crucifix in the top of the hill. RECOMMENDED

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A less-than-appealing beach near much better options”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

San Juan del Sur beach is better as a spectacle to watch locals playing ball and catching fish, and backpackers relaxing, than it is as a beach where one may actually want to swim. While the waves are very gentle and appealing for smaller children, I can't ignore that 1) the town's "river" and drainage conduits and ditches all run directly into the small bay, across the surface of the beach; 2) the the town's "river" and drainage conduits and ditches are full of excrement, garbage, and a mix of toxic chemicals. The worst-case scenario has to be when the filthy water of the Rio San Juan del Sur actually connects with the ocean water, which didn't happen in the 3 weeks I was there, luckily. Because it was hot every day and my son wanted to swim, I took him to this beach multiple times. It was convenient and close. However, there are great beaches north and south of San Juan del Sur (Maderas, Remanso, Hermosa) where I at least felt better about the water quality due to a visible lack of dirty drainage water entering the sea at the beaches. Doesn't mean the water quality is better, but it made me feel better to swim at those great beaches. Overall, it's pleasant to get an ice cream at Eskimo or pick up some beer or soda and walk the beach or sit on a towel, but I never felt really comfortable in the water and shied away from it most of the time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must wear shoes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The beach is not only filthy but littered with debris. Wear shoes, avoid tetanus. The surrounding beaches are amazing but do not plan to spend much time in the sand here.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
190 attraction reviews
Reviews in 216 cities Reviews in 216 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Lovely beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great surfing beach
Nice bars and eating places on streets nearby too
Recomended
Pity I hadn't more time there

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Juan del Sur Beach also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Been to San Juan del Sur Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Juan del Sur Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.