We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful breakfast, great staff and reasonable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barrio Cafe

Barrio Cafe
Del Mercado Municipal, 1c al Oeste, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
+(505) 2568 2294
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Dessert, International, Bar, Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sutter Creek, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast, great staff and reasonable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Bacon and cheddar omelet with real cheese and real bacon!!!! We are going back for lunch today, great ambience and people watching.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    98
    28
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our go-to place for breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

With great food and excellent service Barrio Cafe was our go-to place for breakfast while staying in San Juan del Sur. My husband and I are early birds so having a place that opened at 6AM, including Christmas Day, where we could sit and relax with coffee and breakfast while catching up on emails and news from back home using their very reliable Wi-Fi connection made it very convenient before setting out on our daily adventure. And it was apparent that we were not the only ones who felt that way as we often saw fellow travelers there numerous times which gave us the opportunity to learn about where they were from and the purpose for their trip to Nicaragua. The open air restaurant offered your typical Nica fare, coffee, eggs, rice and fruit, which was my husbands favorite, or you could have a big bowl of fresh fruit with yogurt, and a side of rice, which was my favorite.The manager on site was very attentive, professional and friendly, as was the staff, always ensuring that your needs were met. I am still learning Spanish and they were very willing to let me practice with them and would help me when I stumbled. We did not eat there for lunch or dinner, but for breakfast I think you would be hard pressed to find a better place to start your day.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we had in San Juan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We went here for lunch on a recommendation from a family member. We were not disappointed. The food was fresh and creative. The service was very good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not What I Was Looking For”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

It's a great spot if you're not a budget shopper. Finding cheap good food in San Juan Del sur is simple and this place was especially expensive for the area. It was also disappointing that the menu was in English and the waiting staff didn't bother to speak spanish to us. Come on! We want some culture San Juan! Granted that a expensive meal in Nicaragua runs the same price as a normal meal in the States.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonthill, ON
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Sangria time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

it was nice to find a little place to sit in and have something other than a Tona or Mojito for a change. Had to try the sangria (by the pitcher, naturally) and a bite to eat.
The flavour on their crostini was amazing - great little snack to share or order 1 for yourself - you won't be sorry. Service was great and just sitting there relaxing you will be surprised how many fellow travellers come in and are happy to talk and share stories of what to do and where to go in Nicaragua.
One thing we have noticed is that most restaurants love to load their menu items with sauces - seems to be a common practice or misunderstanding that this is what people want - my husband had the spicy fish and chips which he said were good but bathed in some sort of tartar or aoli sauce - ask, if it comes with sauce, try and get it served on this side.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrio Cafe also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Been to Barrio Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrio Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.