We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Lunch Bar in SJDS” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barrio Cafe

Barrio Cafe
Del Mercado Municipal, 1c al Oeste, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
+(505) 2568 2294
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Dessert, International, Bar, Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Bella Coola, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Favorite Lunch Bar in SJDS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great lunches with healthy options and good portions. Hamburger specials on some afternoons and reliable fast internet. Good coffee and smoothies.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    98
    28
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Cool hangout spot and breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was one place my husband and I visited several times while in SJDS. We had breakfast there 2 times. Their coffee was hot, fresh and tasty. Breakfast was appeasing. We also had happy hour there and left there surely happy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best service in Nicaragua.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Expensive, expensive, expensive, but the AMAZING service is the best in Nicaragua. It's worth the price to actually be served in a timely manner, treated extremely well by ALL the waitstaff, and for the waiters to actually check in with you on a regular basis. Expensive, but overall worth it for at least one of your meals.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“half priced burgers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I went there for the half-priced hamburgers only to discover the reason they are half-priced. My friend and I had to move to a table in the courtyard due to and idling truck and the screams of drunken kids waiting for the tacos next door. There were three tables occupied in the restaurant and it to 15 minutes to get the bill. The waiter never asked if we wanted a second beer when he delivered the cheeseburgers.

This place has good potential for the evening, but not without a better staff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A great restaurant for a special evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We walked by this restaurant for a few days because it looked more like an average cafe from the outside and we were looking for a full-menu restaurant.

Then, one evening, we wandered in and staff directed us to the courtyard inside. Wow, what an oasis!

We were presented with an exquisite menu and the superb food was served by Jose C., a mesero which should be serving in the country's top restaurants.

His charming demeanor and willingness to make our meal an unforgettable one deserves special mention.

OK, it's not the cheapest place in town but definitely worth the price if you are looking for more upscale food, ambience and service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrio Cafe also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Been to Barrio Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrio Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.