We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but not much more...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Esperanza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hostel Esperanza to your Saves list
Hostel Esperanza
Del BDF 1/2 c. al Sur | Frente al Malecón, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good location but not much more...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Ok, so the location is awesome, right across the street from the beach and it does have a large kitchen which we used and was fine. It also has a nice outdoor area with hammocks and bean bags etc. We stayed here because of the 98% review on Hostelworld, but are really stumped on how they got that.
The shared Showers were disgusting, mould all over the walls and curtains, you felt dirtier coming out than you did going in. All the walls are paper thin so you hear everything.
First we stayed in a private room with shared bath which was very run down and in need of some TLC. We then moved to the private room with private bath which was better although the toilet did not always work properly.
We paid $30 a night for the private room with bath which now we know we could have been in a cleaner, nicer place for the same price..

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    22
    16
    11
    6
See reviews for
1
23
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Nicaragua
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

The location is wonderful. It is located right on the beach. However, since they charge the same rate as other hostels in the area, I would stay anywhere else first. The rooms are small and seperated by plywood. The plywood is then covered by bed sheets. The shared bathrooms/showers are disgusting. I felt dirtier just walking into them. There was no toilet paper in either at 3 am when I woke up to use them, and the garbages were overflowing with soiled toilet paper. Just make sure you look at the place first, and then explore your options.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The managers were friendly, helpfull and social. We also stayed at Casa Oro for two nights, but preferred Esperanza. We paid $25 for a private room with bathroom. The kitchen was nice, big and relatively well equipped. We bought a large fish from the fish man (just across the road) and they let us cook it on the BBQ.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

After arriving in SJDS with no reservations and finding no availability at several other places, we stumbled upon Hostel Esperanza by chance and are now CONVINCED that it is the best place in town!! It was the only hotel or hostel in that part of town with an unobstructed view of the harbor. The others all looked out onto the row of beachside restaurants across the street. It doesn't get much better than lying in hammocks on the front porch and watching the sunset!

We were lucky enough to get the only double room with private bath, which is tucked away in the back corner of the courtyard and offers a sort of jungle atmosphere. Meanwhile the dorm room, which was spacious with numerous fans, allowed our two teenage boys to get the ultimate backpacker hostel experience! They were immediately immersed in a friendly, international social milieu and were able to experience the nightlife with newfound friends.

The proprietors, Betina and Ishmael, were extremely helpful, friendly and accommodating. They interacted as peers to the twenty-something backpackers, but were also able to keep the partying and noise levels under control when necessary.

We all agreed that Hostel Esperanza was a great place to stay and provided a unique cultural experience as well.

Well done Betina and Ishmael!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

This is a great place to meet people . . . . . it was a really nice international crowd while I was there. Social but relaxing. The beachfront location doesn’t hurt either. I really enjoyed the garden, patio and big kitchen. For a hostel at this price, the rooms and beds were nice – and everything was clean.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

it's an excellent place to stay, I was thinking to stay for a week and i expended a month. you can see a nice the sunset from the room, a relaxing and fun place to enjoy with friends, the staff are available to help on what you need, they are very friendly so they will be your friends. a very comfortable and spacious rooms all very clean ... what else I can say, definitely i'll be back

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

If you want a loud party scene or packed hostel check out pachamama or casa ora but if you are looking for a mellow, slow paced hostel to relax this is a great place right across from the beach. This place tends to attract more Spanish speaking or non English speaking guests and the front desk is not fluent in English at all times but a very peaceful, mellow vibe. Unlike some hostels this place has no curfew or real rules except to be respectful. Cleaned every day and with a cute courtyard this is a great choice for couples or small groups of friends. I would not recommend it for a solo traveler or a party atmosphere. My buddy and I had a great time and much thanks to Emily and Carlos and the rest of the staff. The dorm rooms are basic but the hostel has great computer access, a large grill and decent kitchen plus the staff is always willing to help out with any requests you have. Whether we were relaxing on a hammock watching the ocean from the courtyard, playing with the cats and dog that live there or walking back after the bars closed we always felt welcome and comfortable here. The beds are decent and the bathrooms clean, the price is middle ground for local hostels but a reasonable value for the location and views. Overall would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Esperanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Esperanza

Address: Del BDF 1/2 c. al Sur | Frente al Malecón, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 53 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Esperanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Esperanza Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Hostel Esperanza Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Esperanza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.