We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barrio Cafe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Barrio Cafe Hotel to your Saves list
Barrio Cafe Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Mercado, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua (Formerly Hotel Azul Pitahaya)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Whitecourt, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Nice room when eventually got into it, but we did drop in by chance, so the did their best.
It is very conveniently situated and quiet. Restaurant is terrific and very busy so we are not the only ones who enjoyed it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    39
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
8
31
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We checked in on a Thursday night and stayed for only one night. The barrio has excellent food and great coffee and the staff is exceptional. The room was very nice and clean and included a safe. The only thing that made our stay not perfect was the noise outside. The music was on late and then randomly came on in the middle of the night. So I would recommend this hotel but not to an older couple or even families with young children

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

A great hotel. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, nice little cafe and bar with a good menu, and friendly and helpful staff. Sit in the bar and watch the world go by at the crossroads. It was so good, I will definately be returning.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felipe T, Director de Recepción at Barrio Cafe Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Google Translation
Buenas tardes,

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios, esperamos que haya disfrutado de su estadia en el Hotel.

Lo esperamos pronto!

Saludes,

Celina Guzman
Administradora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Very good location and rooms were clean. Barrio's cafe below serves great coffee and nice food. Overall nice people all around. Will love to stay again here on my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felipe T, Manager at Barrio Cafe Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Good morning Arum how are you, I really hope your trip has been so great.

Was a pleasure to attend you in the Hotel.

Thank you for your comments.

Have a great Holiday and Happy New Year.

Celina Guzman
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We were dropped off in San Juan Del Sur by a taxi and happened upon the Azul Pitahaya after walking one block. We planned to stay two nights, extended it to four and finally left because there was a busy weekend coming up and the hotel was booked full. The staff is excellent, very friendly and helpful and with a much better command of English than my limited Spanish. The rooms are very comfortable and actually have air conditioning, hot water and a small safe for your valuables. There is also a rooftop patio where you can sit, enjoy a drink. and watch the activity on the street below.

To get to the rooms, you will have to walk through a popular cafe, but this is no problem.You will be offered breakfast and/or dinner at the cafe for an additional charge when paying for a room. Unless you like the convenience, I would forgo this as there are many excellent restaurants close by. However the hotel is in the center of much activity that can go on till close to dawn so you might want earplugs if you have problems sleeping.

To get to San Juan Del Sur from Rivas, take a "taxi collectivo" from next to the central market, (Ask for directions) It is a much better deal than a regular taxi or a bus. The regular taxi drivers at the market will mob you and try to convince you to use them.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful views I have ever seen! Nice and relaxing during the day and at night the town if full of energy and great local cuisine.

Hotel Azul Pitahaya was a very nice hotel, located right in the middle of town, with a lively cafe called Bario Cafe attached. Great staff and good food.

Really enjoyed the whole experience. good surf and yoga as well!!

Room Tip: Book ahead if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felipe T, Director de Recepción at Barrio Cafe Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Google Translation
Buenas tardes Kyle, gracias por tu comentario esperamos verte pronto por el Hotel, nos alegra mucho que hayas disfrutado tus vacaciones.

Felices Fiestas!!

Celina Guzman
Administradora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stayed in Azul Pitahaya for 4 nights and really enjoyed my stay. When I come back to San juan Del Sur I will stay here. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The staff in the Cafe and the hotel were really friendly and helpful. Totally laid back and there is no rush to get you in and out as quick as possible which is a nice change. The food was good but there are cheaper options around but the shaded courtyard is nice to take you time. The location was great as you are only a minute away from the beach and the bus so was just up the road

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barrio Cafe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrio Cafe Hotel

Address: Avenida Mercado, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua (Formerly Hotel Azul Pitahaya)
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Barrio Cafe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrio Cafe Hotel, is a small hotel strategically located on the center of San Juan del sur. We are just one block away from the gorgeous horse shoe bay, surrounded by many local stores, bars, and restaurants. We also have for your service our beautiful Barrio Cafe restaurant where you can enjoy great food, drinks, and coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Barrio Cafe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrio Cafe Hotel Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrio Cafe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.