We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent menu and great atmosphere!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barrio Cafe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Barrio Cafe Hotel to your Saves list
Barrio Cafe Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Mercado, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua (Formerly Hotel Azul Pitahaya)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Managua
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent menu and great atmosphere!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great menu, very good food and awesome atmosphere!! Great place to eat, drink and hang out! Wifi connections works very well and the staff is very friendly!!! I had the burger and the coffee is one of the best! Don Paco!

Room Tip: All rooms are around the scene, second floor would be probably best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    41
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
9
34
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Managua, Nicaragua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Very friendly staff and delicious food. I highly recommend the chicken curry :9!!!!! I think is a good price, although the rooms are small, they are cozy and clean and the price of the room includes the breakfast which is a plus, and is a good hearty breakfast!! I also recommend the smoothies and the chocolate cheesecake :)!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Noisy, but I expected that. What I didn't expect was for our room to not be cleaned in the four nights we stayed there. For this price, I at least expect my trash cans to be emptied once in that amount of time (especially when you're not supposed to flush toilet paper), and it would've been nice to have the beds made and the floor swept at least once, too. I guess leaving our key with the front desk and hanging the "please make up room" sign on the door wasn't enough. The front desk service was otherwise great, but I'm sure there are better values and locations in San Juan del Sur.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Too old for a Hostel, too poor for Pelican Eyes? Perfect in-between solution! Room was spotless clean, a/c was heaven sent, cable and internet worked as promised, and the extra $10/night for a private balcony was money well spent. The barking dogs (which many have mentioned in their reviews) are a part of the culture in Latin America, so I barely even noticed the barking. Watching them play from the balcony was live entertainment, as far as I'm concerned. The staff was pleasant, helpful, and very forgiving of my Spanglish. The included breakfast was fine. Limited choices, but always hit the spot. Great location. They also have a generator, which comes in handy when the electricity goes, which can be often!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Had a wonderful stay here! It's located right in the heart of San Juan del Sur, the rooms were very comfortable with AC and hot water and the adjoining cafe serves the best lattes in town. There are lots of taxis and shuttles right outside so it's an easy hop on and off point for going to Playa Hermosa, Playa Maderas and other beaches. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to go back soon.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is a great B and B a block from the beach (more of a port than a surfing beach.) The staff was very helpful. They actually helped me and my friend plan a last minute surfing adventure and arranged a driver and private surfing lessons in less then 15 minutes we were out the door to surf. We met the owners and they were very kind. Amazing breakfast with interesting biscuits (jam filled ones and coconut ones).

I would stay here again :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

The room was very clean, the showers very hot, and the staff friendly. However...for the price, I expected more. The rooftop patio isn't open, the barking dog mentioned in an earlier review is still there, and the rooms each have two beds, making the rooms quite cramped. They say that the rate includes breakfast at the attached Barrio Cafe (one of the best in town) but they limit you to three choices: Gallo Pinto, toast, or a fruit plate + coffee. Anything else is extra. Unfortunately not worth the $45/night.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
1.6 mi away
El Jardin
El Jardin
#5 of 22 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
1.9 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#16 of 22 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Dolce Vita
Hotel La Dolce Vita
#10 of 22 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
3.0 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#8 of 22 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrio Cafe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrio Cafe Hotel

Address: Avenida Mercado, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua (Formerly Hotel Azul Pitahaya)
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Barrio Cafe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrio Cafe Hotel, is a small hotel strategically located on the center of San Juan del sur. We are just one block away from the gorgeous horse shoe bay, surrounded by many local stores, bars, and restaurants. We also have for your service our beautiful Barrio Cafe restaurant where you can enjoy great food, drinks, and coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Barrio Cafe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrio Cafe Hotel Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrio Cafe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.