We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Azul Pitahaya

Save Saved
You added Hotel Azul Pitahaya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Azul Pitahaya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Del mercado municipal 1 cuadra al oeste, San Juan del Sur 0000, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 hotels in San Juan del Sur
Managua, Nicaragua
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Very friendly staff and delicious food. I highly recommend the chicken curry :9!!!!! I think is a good price, although the rooms are small, they are cozy and clean and the price of the room includes the breakfast which is a plus, and is a good hearty breakfast!! I also recommend the smoothies and the chocolate cheesecake :)!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    30
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
5
28
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Noisy, but I expected that. What I didn't expect was for our room to not be cleaned in the four nights we stayed there. For this price, I at least expect my trash cans to be emptied once in that amount of time (especially when you're not supposed to flush toilet paper), and it would've been nice to have the beds made and the floor swept at least once, too. I guess leaving our key with the front desk and hanging the "please make up room" sign on the door wasn't enough. The front desk service was otherwise great, but I'm sure there are better values and locations in San Juan del Sur.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Too old for a Hostel, too poor for Pelican Eyes? Perfect in-between solution! Room was spotless clean, a/c was heaven sent, cable and internet worked as promised, and the extra $10/night for a private balcony was money well spent. The barking dogs (which many have mentioned in their reviews) are a part of the culture in Latin America, so I barely even noticed the barking. Watching them play from the balcony was live entertainment, as far as I'm concerned. The staff was pleasant, helpful, and very forgiving of my Spanglish. The included breakfast was fine. Limited choices, but always hit the spot. Great location. They also have a generator, which comes in handy when the electricity goes, which can be often!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Had a wonderful stay here! It's located right in the heart of San Juan del Sur, the rooms were very comfortable with AC and hot water and the adjoining cafe serves the best lattes in town. There are lots of taxis and shuttles right outside so it's an easy hop on and off point for going to Playa Hermosa, Playa Maderas and other beaches. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to go back soon.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is a great B and B a block from the beach (more of a port than a surfing beach.) The staff was very helpful. They actually helped me and my friend plan a last minute surfing adventure and arranged a driver and private surfing lessons in less then 15 minutes we were out the door to surf. We met the owners and they were very kind. Amazing breakfast with interesting biscuits (jam filled ones and coconut ones).

I would stay here again :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

The room was very clean, the showers very hot, and the staff friendly. However...for the price, I expected more. The rooftop patio isn't open, the barking dog mentioned in an earlier review is still there, and the rooms each have two beds, making the rooms quite cramped. They say that the rate includes breakfast at the attached Barrio Cafe (one of the best in town) but they limit you to three choices: Gallo Pinto, toast, or a fruit plate + coffee. Anything else is extra. Unfortunately not worth the $45/night.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

We got to San Juan del sur from costa rica and ordered the hotel in advance. We were so happy we only booked it only for one night! It was ok but noisy, didn't smell very good and we woke up covered with Miskito bites....
The next day We found a different much nicer room for 26$ just down the road....

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felipe T, Owner at Hotel Azul Pitahaya, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Hi,

Thanks for giving us your comments of our hotel,. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience it caused you, we will work harder to solve these problems.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Azul Pitahaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azul Pitahaya

Address: Del mercado municipal 1 cuadra al oeste, San Juan del Sur 0000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 hotels in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Azul Pitahaya 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Azul Pitahaya, is a small hotel strategically located on the center of San Juan del sur. We are just one block away from the gorgeous horse shoe bay, surrounded by many local stores, bars, and restaurants. We also have for your service our beautiful Barrio Cafe where you can enjoy great food, drinks, and coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Azul Pitahaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Azul Pitahaya Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Azul Pitahaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.