We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It COULD have been great......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Zone

Surf Zone
Surf Zone
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surf Zone
Save Saved
You added Surf Zone to your Saves list
Playa Marsella, San Juan del Sur 0000, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Travelling
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It COULD have been great......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

We booked SurfZone via the internet months before we went to Nicaragua, this is usually something I don´t do, but I got over excited for the trip. A few days before our arrival we were told we were upgraded to SwellView Villa (closer to Playa Maderas) due to roof damage at SurfZone. There were 4 of us in total. But on our way to SwellView Villa from Managua the owner called and told us there was no power at SwellView and that we needed to stay in San Juan Del Sur towm that night. The next day we moved into SwellView which still had no power and water, but we were told that it would be on at any moment so we stayed on. Overnight we had no power and water, and this continued into the following evening so we just left. The only reason I was really dissapointed was due to the lack of information and help about the sitiation, I know Nica often loses power for short periods of time, we´ve experienced it at other places in the country but we were constantly told it would be on in a few minutes or by 1pm etc, and obviously we were just being given false information. In the end everyone said they had no idea when it would come back. And really the power wasn´t a problem, it was not having water. The Villa was nice, it had a great view, although it was a little dirty.

In the end we were refunded the money (which was organized by Edwin), which is absolutley fantastic! But be a little wary about prebooking here.........

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

The place is beautiful. Great architecture, great layout, fantastic atmosphere. The pool is great.
Chely and Magenta do a fantastic job of making you feel right at home. You feel more a guest of their's than a guest at a hotel.
It is off the beaten bath. Quite remote, giving lots of peace and quiet. Yet walking distance to Playa Maderas - one of the best surf beaches around.
I highly recommend the Surf Zone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

I traveled with a few friends to surf a few days in Playa Maderas, Nicaragua and we stayed at Surf Zone. This place was super nice. It is all open air, surrounded by tropical jungle, with a small, but pretty pool. The paintings on the walls are awesome...palm trees, parrots, waves, sunsets...made of colors that all blend to create a beautiful, tropical atmosphere. The beach is about a 15 minute walk away and there is a sort of steep section to climb, but I thought it was an enjoyable hike, passing through the hills, by the palm trees and plants and flowers, accompanied by hundreds of butterflies. The waves can get really good at Maderas and the sunsets are amazing. Back in the hotel, we would rinse off in the pool or in the showers made of bamboo with rock floors and then drink some local beers while watching surf videos. If you rent a car or quad or call a taxi, you can be in San Juan Del Sur in 20 minutes to enjoy the nightlife or you can just lay low in the hotel and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. Breakfast is included in the already affordable price. Coffee and Gallo Pinto (Rice and beans) with eggs and tortillas...delicious, and the young man who cooks was very helpful and polite. They are also beginning soon to sell sushi and sandwiches and other dishes for lunch and dinner. Outside they have hammocks and lounge chairs that are perfect for resting in between surf sessions and they even have WIFI, for if you feel like playing on the computer for a while. I didn`t want to leave when the taxi arrived to pick us up. This place is not right on the beach or in the center of the action, but it is tranquil and comfortable and an ideal option for surfers!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Do not go to this plqce, you can do so much better in San juan Del Sur and even in the street where this so called hotel is located, this is 30 minutes drive from san Juan Del Sur.
The owner does not seem to be able to motivate his staff, heard horrible stories about him. The pool was dirty as was the rest of the place, we were stuck here and could only walk to the beach, 40 minutes walk !!!!!! The roof leaked when it started raining, there is no generator when the power drops, and it seemed to drop every night.... Avoid this place at all cost !!!!!! The internet even did not work...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

On the whole, loved Surfzone and we look forward to going back with friends during the winter holiday. Beautiful spot, nice rooms, and walking distance to two stunning beaches. Totally off the grid and away from the heavy party scene in San Juan, but close enough if you wanted to catch a shuttle in for some people watching. Chely was a great host and beautifully maintains the property. Our only negative experience was our interactions with the property manager - Edwin - who is based in San Juan. We booked Surfzone unaware that there are two additional related properties. When we arrived in San Juan we were booked at a hotel different from what he had asked for - pretty sure he tried to up sell and booked us in a more expensive room. When we explained that we had wanted the resort closer to Playa Maderas he tried to downplay the resort that we were requesting, noting that his was a better deal. The things that we found a little lacking at Surfzone were no doubt due to the fact that Edwin didn't relay our reservations to the property manager (internet wasn't hooked up, had to ask for towels, didn't have meals available, etc.). Despite the annoying start and somewhat shady character, we highly recommend Surfzone near Playa Maderas and are definitely heading back in the near future!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

We stayed in Surf Zone for three nights and it was amazing. The hospitality of the couple running the place is the best (try there delicious meals and cocktails!), the rooms are beautiful and because the hotel only has four rooms, you'll always feel that you have a luxureus hotel all for yourself! It's near to the best surfing beaches of San Juan and the hotel can hook you up with surf lessons of board rentals. If you're looking for a great chill out place out of town, Surf Zone is where you should be!

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

This place, near city centre San Juan del Sur, is the best!!!! When you´re looking for a relax place to just chill out, surf, enjoying nice dinners (homemade by this very nice and charming couple) or the best cocktails in town you should check it out!!
It takes about 10 minutes walk to reach one of the best surfbeaches in Nicaragua. Compared to other places in this area it´s by far the cheapest (still not really cheap) place to stay and does have a swimmingpool. Breakfast is included (nice coffee, fruitsalade,toast and sometimes Belgium pancakes or Crepes) and all rooms are clean.
When me and my boyfriend got there the ping pong table just arrived. Our ¨private¨room (I suppose there is a small dormitory as well) had this very nice balcony to chill out. They got wireless internet and do arrange surf lessons including boards.
Feeling like having a good conversation, just a chit chat, playing games or prefere to be on your own???? All possible!
I definitely can recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf Zone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Zone

Address: Playa Marsella, San Juan del Sur 0000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf Zone is set around a sparkling swimming pool, with lush gardens and an open plan chill-out area. Surf Zone comes with a professional ping-pong table, wi-fi and a passion for surfing. A tasty breakfast is included and other delicious meals are available at reasonable prices. There are 3 main options; Bed & Board, Surf Camps and Venue Hire…you can choose your experience. Surf Zone is located only 5 minutes from Playa Maderas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surf Zone Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Zone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.