We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place and nice owner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Puerto

Hotel El Puerto
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel El Puerto
Save
You added Hotel El Puerto to your Saves list
Town Center, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
innsbruck
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good place and nice owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The big sized room was clean and well equiped. You can chose between fan and AC (+10$).
It's actually pretty central, just two minutes to walk from the beach and all the restaurants.
You get coffee and cookies for breaktfast for free.
We had a nice stay, just one thing: the annoying cock which starts crowing in the early morning.Every morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    16
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
29
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Gertrude (german older lady) is an excellent owner and host and her hotel is one of the best 1 Star places in San Juan : Very clean , rooms are big , showers are excellent , room service at request. It is no suprise that we find here 3 other couples from europe that stay here for months in wintertime. Location is only 3 blocks away from the coastline . There is no possibility to have breakfast in the morning but free coffee with biscuits is available in the morning. Fridge with cold beer and water is available.

Room Tip: on the first floor , there are the rooms with view on the hills (no seaview)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

With clean rooms, reasonable prices and excellent security, this is a solid place to stay in San Juan del Sur. There is no hot water in the rooms, but guests can choose to use high-quality air-conditioning for only 9 dollars more per night. The hosts are friendly and attentive. The location si quite central. The only complaint I would have is the incessant hammering that goes on during the day from a nearby building. It is no fault of the hotel, of course, but still detracts from the overall experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz La Laguna, Guatemala
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Clean, friendly, safe and free coffee-what more can you ask for??!! Would definitely stay again. $25 for a double room with WiFi and comfy bed. Nice and quiet in the evenings so easy to get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We have been here for about a week. A good deal if you if you don't want to stay in a hostel. Something that could make this place even better would be to have breakfast or free filtered water refills included. We have been in Nicaragua for 2 months and this is our first tourist town so I kind of got use to perks like that.

The rooms and everything in it are very clean. No mosquito net but we are able to easily hook up our own. I feel safe here. They also send you laundry out to get washed if you need it.

Owner speaks English enough to fill in the gaps of my Spanish:)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We found this hotel by coincindence. It was super clean, owners are really nice, helpful and honest. It has a good location, it is quiet but so near to all entertainment in the night. The price is great (20 dollars for private room with bathroom), it has wifi and an excellent free coffee in the morning. They can do also laundry for you smeeling really nice like the towels in the bathroom :). Amazing! We felt really safe and Gertrud is the best! Klara an Vesna.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This place is run by a German lady and it must be the cleanest, quietest, safest place in town. Every morning we were treated to excellent strong German style free coffee and my daughters 6 and 9 enjoyed the cookies. It is well worth paying the $9 extra a night for A/C. We got rooms on the top balcony which enjoyed a bit more of a breeze. The owner was very helpful and we were conveniently located to the SJDS beach front (without the noise and grot!). This place is great, don't bother looking elsewhere. The only negative is you cannot book a room online, you can only phone to make a reservation. The owner speaks very good English.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Puerto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Puerto

Address: Town Center, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Hotel El Puerto Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Puerto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.