We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and friendly owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Puerto

Hotel El Puerto
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel El Puerto
Save
You added Hotel El Puerto to your Saves list
Town Center, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Santa Cruz La Laguna, Guatemala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service and friendly owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Clean, friendly, safe and free coffee-what more can you ask for??!! Would definitely stay again. $25 for a double room with WiFi and comfy bed. Nice and quiet in the evenings so easy to get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laiguana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We have been here for about a week. A good deal if you if you don't want to stay in a hostel. Something that could make this place even better would be to have breakfast or free filtered water refills included. We have been in Nicaragua for 2 months and this is our first tourist town so I kind of got use to perks like that.

The rooms and everything in it are very clean. No mosquito net but we are able to easily hook up our own. I feel safe here. They also send you laundry out to get washed if you need it.

Owner speaks English enough to fill in the gaps of my Spanish:)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AFlynn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We found this hotel by coincindence. It was super clean, owners are really nice, helpful and honest. It has a good location, it is quiet but so near to all entertainment in the night. The price is great (20 dollars for private room with bathroom), it has wifi and an excellent free coffee in the morning. They can do also laundry for you smeeling really nice like the towels in the bathroom :). Amazing! We felt really safe and Gertrud is the best! Klara an Vesna.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisyregrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This place is run by a German lady and it must be the cleanest, quietest, safest place in town. Every morning we were treated to excellent strong German style free coffee and my daughters 6 and 9 enjoyed the cookies. It is well worth paying the $9 extra a night for A/C. We got rooms on the top balcony which enjoyed a bit more of a breeze. The owner was very helpful and we were conveniently located to the SJDS beach front (without the noise and grot!). This place is great, don't bother looking elsewhere. The only negative is you cannot book a room online, you can only phone to make a reservation. The owner speaks very good English.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kabulkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hotel is great value for money - basic rooms but extremely clean with either a/c or fan. the owners are very helpful and will do all they can to make your stay enjoyable. I would definitely stay here again if i was to return to SJDS.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cailinloca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Basic clean rooms. Great location within the center and not far from shops, restaurants, beach. They serve you a coffee and a biscuit for breakfast. We felt very safe.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ichreisesehrgerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We found this hotel by chance as we had been let down by Hotel Maracuya and the Casa Oro was much too noisy. The owners were very helpful and let us have a room with fan/AC. The place was quiet and clean. There is no TV or internet access but as the electricity was off we didn't lose out. The owner was very helpful in giving us accurate information about where to eat and how to get back to Managua by bus. We ate breakfast at a nearby cafe called Comedor Margarita's. For $25 including tax this place was good value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Munbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.0 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#10 of 23 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#13 of 23 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Dolce Vita
Hotel La Dolce Vita
#12 of 23 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#14 of 23 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#6 of 23 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Villa Mar
Hostal Villa Mar
#1 of 1 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Puerto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Puerto

Address: Town Center, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Hotel El Puerto Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing