We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome staff, Great rooms, Perfect location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Irish House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Irish House to your Saves list
Irish House
From the Market, 2 Blocks to the North, San Juan del Sur SJDS, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Newport Beach, California, United States
1 review
“Awesome staff, Great rooms, Perfect location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed at the Irish House for a week during my first trip to Nicaragua and wow this place is great!! The staff and Roberto are extremely helpful, friendly, and treat you like family. The rooms are nice and clean and its in a great location just a block from the beach. Next time I come to Nicaragua, I will DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
6
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in the summer, and it was perfect. Great location, great value, and the owners were very warm and gracious to us. We loved our trip and would go back! We also enjoyed the tavern, owned by the same couple-a warm and friendly place all around!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I am just reviewing the bar downstairs, not the rooms but if the rooms are anything like the bar then you are better off sleeping on the beach. I was in Nica with 2 Irishmen who wanted to check it out. It's a total dive which is not a big deal. I did have flees jump on me from the one sofa in the pub which make me wonder about the place upstairs.

This is just a warning review. Check this place out before you commit.

Definitely don't waste your time staying and drinking here. There are better places.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irish_house2013, Propietario at Irish House, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
we apologize but the schedule of attention at the bar is starting from 5pm and maybe the staff did not inform them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interlochen. Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at the Irish House for a week last January and were treated like family by Bob and his wife. They could not have been more welcoming or helpful. The location is central to SJDS with the Mercato just down the street. Our room was clean and comfortable and we always felt safe. We have and will continue to recommend the Irish House to those visiting SJDS.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicaragua
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We only stayed two nights in San Juan and didn't research hotels beforehand. We found the beachfront hotels far to expensive ($80 and up) so we went on looking for rooms at the second street. We found prices a lot more affordable but found nothing special until we came across the Irish house. We liked it at once. Spacious, a kitchenette, and a balcony. The owner was very friendly and the place looks rather safe. At two minutes from the beach the location is great and next time we go to San Juan we will not look for another place but go directly to the Irish House.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We were down in SJDS for a month. The Irish House was a routine stop for us to get a pint and have a chat. It's the only place in town to get Guinness (if you are so inclined). We met Roberto, the owner, our first week in town. He is extremely hospital and is a great resource for getting to know SJDS. He really goes out of his way to help you out. I highly recommend the Irish House.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I just came back from San Juan Del Sur. Stayed at the Irish House for last 4 nights and wish that I stayed there from the beginning of my vacation. There was consistent gusty wind in that town during my whole stay, and at the previous place I didn't feel safe from it, not mentioning that it was so loud and sounded creepy at night (because of tin roofs and thin walls). I spent 2 sleepless nights over there and decided that was enough. Then I met a woman who recommended this place she stayed at, the Irish House, which is in a sturdy building, and even though the wind gets loud sometimes, it feels very safe to be inside. Just use your ear plugs if it keeps you from sleep. It is 2 minutes away from the beach, and even though it's in the middle of everything, the noise didn't bother me at all. The owner of the House Roberto is a very nice man, and the rooms are kept very clean and neat. There is also a kitchen where you can make yourself some coffee and breakfast if you wish. I really enjoyed my short stay there and have only good things to say about the owner of the hotel. I will absolutely recommend this place if you are looking for something not expensive but safe!

Room Tip: all rooms are adequate, on the second floor there is a balkony and many windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Irish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irish House

Address: From the Market, 2 Blocks to the North, San Juan del Sur SJDS, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Irish House Hotel is located in the heart of San Juan del Sur in a very central area of town with many shops, bars and restorant close. in a friendly atmosphere with an Irish bar where it is the only place where you can enjoy a Guinness and Jameson. Irish House Hotel has a perfect terrace overlooking the sea where you could enjoy the sunset with a barbecue, beer and of course the best of Nicaragua FLOWER CANE RUM. The hotel is Built 3 years ago and is in perfect condition both outside and inside. book your holiday with us and will have an excellent service from us which will help make your stay the best.Irish house hotel has private apartments for 2, 3, 4 and 5 persons all with TVCable, wi fi in the apartment, bathroom, kitchen and fridge, safe and private balcony with nice view. (towels and bed linen provided and changed every 2 days)located in the town center just two blocks from the beach and close to bars and restorant. recidencial area and secure 24 hours.Facilities Bar Car Parking Lounge area Internet / Wi-Fi 24 hour reception Safety deposit Tours/Travel Desk Express check-in / out Late check-out Laundry service Reception (limited hours) Room service (24 hour) Room service (limited hours) Wake-up calls Bar(s) BBQ area Café Internet access in public areas Internet café Newspapers Outside area Pets allowed Television room Sofa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Irish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irish House Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Irish House Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.