We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bambu Beach

Bambu Beach
North end of Beach, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
505-5682-101
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Food was great, service was great and sitting right at the beach. Life should be so good all the time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    55
    27
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We ordered pasta with lemon and garlic prawns and bang bang chicken. We were looking forward to something else than rice and beans and expectations were high. We got a pasta sauce that tasted of burnt garlic and cream. There was only five shrimps and the portion was to small. The bang bang was chicken drenched in some black sause that tasted weird and poured in a bowl over halfcooked noodles. I couldn't finish it. Food wad badly cooked and expensive and they charged 30 cordoba for 50 cl water.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfork, Montana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A few steps away from the bustle of town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Tasty, interesting meals and a great atmosphere right on the beach. Lots of great choices - and they all go down better with the homemade hot sauce!!! Join the locals for Thanksgiving dinner with several turkeys cooked all different ways with all the US and Nica fixings!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“Great quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

If you don't mind paying a bit extra for being away from noisy tourists, bad music and greasy menu's with photos of food in them, this place gives you really great quality taste-wise with rich taste and safe sea food, good service, a nice sunset view and a beautifully relaxing and classy interior. Best food-experience in San Juan del Sur.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Quaint and Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Very friendly and some of the best food in SJDS. Be prepared to relax and enjoy dinner, it's not going to be a quick meal! Very family friendly and I would say, my favorite dinner spot and a little further down the beaten path! I love the breeze off the ocean while we are dining, it's lovely.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bambu Beach also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Been to Bambu Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bambu Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.