We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took us by surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauricio's San Juan Pizzeria

Mauricio's San Juan Pizzeria
Calle de la Bolsa, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Took us by surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

One night my husband and I said, let's just do pizza. We usually try to eat traditional food of where we're visiting but decided we were just in the mood for pizza. Well, by the end of dinner we were more than happy with our choice. We split a pizza and a pasta and both were delicious. Service is good. We ended up eating here again our last night in town instead of the "nicer" restaurant we'd planned on.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    49
    18
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great local italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Excellent pizza restaurant. Our friends has pasta and said it too was excellent. Tiramisu for dessert was excellent and when you get a bill for $12 per person for large pizza, wine and dessert you know you have a good deal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tasty large pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Excellent value for money, large pizza, tiramisu and liqueur for $12.50. All the pizza ingredients were tasty and on a thin crust. Good service and quick. Lots of locals eat here regularly. Only downside was the heavy rain was bouncing off the wall and the bench was getting soaked.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Rivas, Nicaragua
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“proud to eat here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

the food at Maurizios is fantastic especially for the price. great atmosphere, both on the beach or by the park. somebody wrote, "one of the best pizzas in Nicaragua." Well that's an understatement. I don't know where else in Nicaragua you can eat food this good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The sausage pizza had hot dogs instead of sausage. My girlfriend had seafood fettuccini that was pretty good (the homemade pasta made it), but the pizza was a disappointment. Had some pizzas delivered and that was cool, but the cheese tasted as if some of the salty Nica cheese had been substituted for part of the mozzarella.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mauricio's San Juan Pizzeria also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Been to Mauricio's San Juan Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauricio's San Juan Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.