We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Atmosphere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Colibri - CLOSED

El Colibri
Behind Catholic church, southeast corner, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
8863-8612
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Best Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Loved this for a special family dinner or occasion. Make sure to have reservations! Beautiful setting - great food!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    59
    20
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

This place was fantastic. Excellent service; I had the bruschetta app and polenta (of all things! In Nicaragua!) entree.

In general, I was most impressed by the relaxed ambiance, and the tasty sangria helped too! Definitely don't miss this place on your beach visit! And don't forget to order a chocolate salami for dessert!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Really great Italian food. Delicious fresh fish, steak and pastas. The place itself is very chilled out and the staff are very helpful.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Lucia Cotzumalguapa, Guatemala
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best meal in Central America”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We've backpacked extensively through Guatemala, Belize, Costa Rica and Nicaragua, and have spent time in El Salvador and Honduras and El Colibri is easily the best restaurant we've eaten in. It's romantic, it's delicious, and it's affordable gourmet food that is hard to come by in Central America. It's definitely a little pricier than what you'd expect in Nicaragua, but it is well, well, worth it if you are willing to treat yourselves. The owner seems incredibly friendly, too. Get anything with a sauce- they're incredible! The sangria is yummy, too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“GREAT meats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I just returned from a week in SJDS and my boyfriend and I ate at El Colibri three times. The white tuna special blew my mind. Seriously, that fish was like butter. I also had the kebabs and the fillet mignon and both were fantastic. Good sangria and margaritas too. Minus one star because the service the last night we were there was slooooow. Granted, most things in Nica take a little longer, which is actually kind of nice and perpetuates a more relaxed space. But, I think we waited for an hour for our food. That was Saturday night, though, so the key might be to go during the week when they are less busy.

I love the ambiance of this place and the little painted rocks. Very romantic and kind of magical.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Colibri also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Colibri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.