We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From nov 2008 to jan 2009 Casa Oro great times” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Oro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Oro
Saliendo del Colonial, 20 | Varas al Sur, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“From nov 2008 to jan 2009 Casa Oro great times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2009

I was at Casa Oro hostel in San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua, with my brother for a period of 39 days over Christmas and New Year’s and it was just great.. Casa Oro hostel is a very cool place where you just feel at home, that is why we stayed so long. The kitchen is well equipped and we had a fantastic time cooking with friends and watching free movies on the 42 inch plasma screen TV. The mattresses are good and the place is kept clean. Of course it got really busy during the Holidays but the staff always managed to get us what we needed.
We were at the right place because Casa Oro offers a great deal of services, it’s the only place in town that is well organized and with a great staff , some of them speak 3 languages and believe me it helps when you need information. From the hostel we got the beach shuttle, the canopy shuttle, the turtle expedition, and the best of all the surf rentals and lessons with Alfredo. Everybody who had a surf lesson with Alfredo will agree with me I am sure, this guy is gooooood. We also took the turtle tour because there were lots of turtles and hatchlings to see and we were just amazed by what we saw at the Reserve. The tour was well organized, eco-oriented and given in English. They gave us a very informative 30 minutes presentation on the wide screen TV with pictures and short video of these incredible creatures. They are really concerned about the protection of the turtles and involved with the reserve’s activities. Hi to Lilly, Bismara, Samuel, Anthony and Cyrielle.

Delta_bravo1

P.S : to Stefan many thanks for the info about turtles babies !!!

  • Liked — the adventures activities and eco-expeditions
  • Disliked — the olds private rooms
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    37
    16
    14
    19
See reviews for
3
30
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlemont, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

What the hell is the Lonely Planet boasting about with this hostel? Yes, the place is an information center, and is a great way to get to the beaches or go on excursions-- but you don't need to stay here to take advantage of those services.

For $18/night (private room, shared nasty bathrooms, and shared cold showers that say you must keep your shower under 2 minutes) we stayed in a craphole closet-of-a-space with an open window onto the loudest courtyard space. Drunk people yelled all night (we're talking until 6am) even though there is supposedly a 11pm quiet time enforced. In all fairness, the noise level depends on the guests.

Go stay at Casa Feliz instead...Oh, and definitely hit up the Pelican for happy hour on Wednesdays and Fridays...and to play with monkeys in the back of the hotel!

  • Liked — absolutely nothing.
  • Disliked — noise level, dirty everything
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Oro

Address: Saliendo del Colonial, 20 | Varas al Sur, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 53 Specialty lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Casa Oro Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Casa Oro Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casa Oro to your Saves list