We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average accommodation for the price you pay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Oro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Oro
Save
You added Casa Oro to your Saves list
Saliendo del Colonial, 20 | Varas al Sur, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average accommodation for the price you pay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My partner and i stayed at a private room with bathroom. The rooms are dark, old and very basic. Not worth for the price you pay. You can find better accommodation staying at the locals houses. The hostel was generally noisy at night with music blaring from reception and or the rooftop bar. Breakfast was not too bad but small quantities. You pay a deposit for the key, so make sure you get your money back if you havent lost yours.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilly D, Manager at Casa Oro, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
We’re sorry for your disappointing experience. Our private room rate is standard for hotels in the area. San Juan del Sur is known for its party atmosphere and being in the centre of town, Casa Oro is a convenient location for late nights. While we do not promote our place as a party hostel, young backpackers do stay here. We encourage guests to make reception, bar or security staff aware of any disturbances, especially if they are outside our bar close at 11pm; and reception close at 9.30pm. We appreciate your feedback, have noted your comments and are looking into any possible issues. Kind regards and safe travels ~ Casa Oro Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    41
    20
    15
    21
See reviews for
5
33
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I went with a friend and stayed at a private room with bathroom for one nigth (the next night we look for something better). To get to our room you had to pass through a garage area (or it looked like it), it was messy, room was not nice, the service was not good.

Pluses that I found here: the breakfast is very good, the buses to the beaches go from this hostel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilly D, Manager at Casa Oro, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thanks for the feedback. Glad you enjoyed our breakfast and shuttle services. We usually receive positive comments regarding our cleanliness, so we are looking into the matter. As a hostel we clean private rooms only upon check out, or as requested.

Did you share your disappointments with recepción? We might have been able to relocate you if we knew you weren't satisfied. The entrance to the room you are referring to is via our surf shop, not a garage. Although some garages do store surfboards – so we understand the confusion! Casa Oro is mostly a surf hostel with a large selection for our guests. We aim to keep the surf shop neat and tidy, which is sometimes difficult with 30 boards being used by hostel guests. Thanks again for the feedback. It assists in making us the best hostel we can be. Happy travels ~ Casa Oro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

my girlfriend and I stayed at Casa Oro for 3 nights in a privada con bano and had an awesome time! the room was very clean, good mattress,ceiling fan and big bathroom. the hostel is ran by nice and friendly people, it's very well organized with its shuttle service to the beaches and to see sea turtles in the night. this last activity costs 28 bucks but it's totally worth it.
good roof top bar with a friendly and competent barman.
on the ground floor there's a cool common kitchen area where in the mornings they serve free breakfast..THE BEST!!
for me San Juan del Sur was great and staying at CasaOro made our time the best I had in Nicaragua.
friends who stayed in the dorms said the room and beds were good too

Room Tip: in Nicaragua look for a room with high ceiling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I've been to San Juan del Sur more than one. I did try different hostels with different services, but my choice stopped on this one. First, for the price : the hostel offers a really great service for a cheap price, you can get a dorm bed for 8$/night WITH a breakfast included that changes everyday. Second, Casa Oro has different services : beach shuttles, fishing tours, excursions in the night to see the turtles, surf lessons and more for prices hard to beat. Third, the service you get there is professional and bilingual (English and Spanish). Fourth, it is really clean... staff people are cleaning the place everyday which isn't always the case in backpackers' places. Fifth, you get the chance to access internet because they do have computers and iPads. Sixth, you can get in the hostel at ANYTIME in the night without a key because there's a night guardian... this is really amazing because most of the hostels will give you only ONE key and if you are a group of 3-4 people, it's possible that you might not want to enter all at the same hour. And last thing : it is clearly in the CENTER of San Juan del Sur.

Room Tip: If you want it less noisy, I suggest the dorms upstairs or a private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilly D, Manager at Casa Oro, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. It’s heart-warming to have guests appreciate our efforts. Kind regards & safe travels – Casa Oro Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Really noisy dorms. Staff is not nice, not helpful and badly informed. No towels included. Turtle tour was far too expensive. And you can not store your luggage (they want to charge you 2 dollars for that)... I would definitely not recommend this place.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilly D, Manager at Casa Oro, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenient stay. Did you hare your grievances with management or another staff member? Please let an organization representative know in person whenever you are dissatisfied with any service, as we can then hope to improve your stay immediately. We could have tried moving you to a quieter room and perhaps clarified any cultural differences with the staff that may have contributed to your perception of their attitude. Unfortunately it's not usual hostel practice to include towels at dorm prices and as mentioned below, the feedback from ( the Turtle Tours normally include its good value for money ($28 for a 4 to 6 hour tour including a 30min presentation on the sea turtles and why they are at risk of extinction, transport, entrance fee to the park which is itself $10, an English speaking guide, a policeman on board for protection, and a free souvenir post card - all this leaves the tour cost at $18 ($28 - $10 entrance fee). Competitors offer the tour for $30-$40pp and do not offer any presentation nor security. Best of luck on your journey - Casa Oro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

While we did not stay at Casa Oro, we found them in the latest Lonely Planet guide for good turtle tours for those on a budget.

$28 got us on the night-time trip to La Flor beach which is one of the seven beaches in the world for a certain type of turtle. Six have to be signed up or the tour does not go, and the tour was told to meet at the hostel at 7:30.

We were given a 20-minute presentation by one of the local biologists. Then packed into the back of a pick-up truck for a 30 minute ride on paved and dirt roads to the beach reserve. The truck road was open air and extremely rough....reminded me of being a kid many moons ago in Arkansas. (Not sure how Nica's seatbelt laws came into play here.... but we did not have that option.)

Given red mini-flashlights once we arrived, our group was given strict instructions on how to proceed, where to walk, what to look for, how to use our lights and how not to (for the protection of the turtles). We were very fortunate to locate a mother turtle just arriving and watch her through the entire egg laying process. The whole thing takes a bit more than an hour.

All in all, a fantastic experience. And for 28 bucks a pop, something not many people ever have the chance of seeing. Casa Oro tours does a solid job. Just take care, if you have any back problems - the truck road is exciting but not at all kind to those of us over 50!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask about how realistic seeing the turtles are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Clean, good breakfast included, fast wifi, and GREAT surfing lessons (and transport). I took surfing lessons with Alfredo on playa Maderas, and it was the best lesson I've had. For $25 I got transport to the beach, a board, rashguard, and a 4.5-hour lesson! Alfredo stayed with us until we were too tired to surf, and has some great pointers. By the end of the lesson I could consistently get up on the board.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Oro

Address: Saliendo del Colonial, 20 | Varas al Sur, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 53 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Casa Oro Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Casa Oro Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.