We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular with the surf crowd” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Oro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Oro
Saliendo del Colonial, 20 | Varas al Sur, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Popular with the surf crowd”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

The good: the staff was helpful, the location is excellent and the hostel is able to offer a wide variety of activities including a daily shuttle service to nearby beaches. Daily freshly cooked breakfast is included in the price. The best part is the roof top bar. It's pretty much the only place to sit to read or just relax and have access to a nice breeze. Now, the not so good. We were required to prepay for the entire stay before arriving using Paypal and to pay a 5% booking fee. Once we arrived, we also had to pay $2 each for use of a towel, plus a $5 room key deposit. One night, one of the employees was supposed to be caring for the owner's dog, however, left it locked in a room, went out partying all night. The dog barked all night and no one know what to do about it. At least, the next day, the staff did offer an apology and some compensation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    37
    16
    13
    19
See reviews for
3
30
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011 via mobile

The dorms are a bit grungy and could do with some more attention from housekeeping, but put those things aside and Casa Oro is a really cool place to stay in San Juan Del Sur. The activities and shuttles they offer running to the surrounding Playas are really good, on site surfboard rental an coachin is convenient for those after this service, and the location is very central to the bars and places to eat in town.

Best of all it is really geared towards meeting people, so you can always find people to go to the beach with or have a few drinks with at night.

Oh and breakfast is included in the $7 dollar price for your bed, and is both generous and tasty.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

Casa Oro has a great location, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable rooms, free internet and has a ton of services available right in the building to get you out on a surf lesson, canopy tour or to the beaches which are the reason to come to San Juan del Sur. It's a great place to meet fellow travelers if that's what you're looking to do and with its very affordable room prices I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in San Juan del Sur. Only side note: don't order the 2x1 mojitos at the rooftop bar. It seems like a good deal but they don't taste good and you're much better off getting a Tona instead.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011 via mobile

We enjoyed cooking meals watching surf films and meeting many other travellers. There are many computers, surf boards and tours available. Seems to have a wide variety of travellers coming and going so be ready to party with everyone. Security guards were very friendly and the little girl who signed us in was very professional. Thanks for helping us meet good travellers we know you will stay busy.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

We stayed at Casa Oro for 6 nights in March and it just flew by! We had a private room that had a ceiling fan and our own bathroom. Only cold water for showering but after a day in the sun it wasn't bad. The cost was $45.
The location of this hostel is perfect, only a 2 block walk to the beach and all of the restaurants and bars.
We had a surfing lesson with Alfredo and surfed 4 days out of the 6 we had there. The lesson was $20 and board rental is under $10. They have shuttles that take you to the best surf beaches and its between $5-8.
About every other night the hostel has a BBQ on their rooftop patio and they have 2 for 1 happy hour as well. If you use the beach shuttle/board rental etc. etc. Quite often when you get back someone from the hostel will hand you a coupon for drink deals or free pancake breakfast on certain mornings.
Free internet and use of the kitchen is an added bonus.
This is the place to stay for value, convenience, travel info and to have fun and make the most of your visit.
Book in advance if you can.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

This hostel was recommended in my Fodor's travel book as being the best hostel in town. I am still confused about this. I found the hostel to be dark, dim and super loud at most times. The bathroom was relatively clean but still kind of gross. My biggest complaint is the loudness at night. I went to San Juan to surf and run on the beach and like to get a good nights sleep for this-- I didn't get it here. Left one night early because it was so freaking loud at night. Would not recommend this for someone looking for a laid back chill hostel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Very good value. Owned by a Montreal lawyer who really cares about the turtles; she organizes tours to see them-- we saw 5000 one night! Lively rooftop bar. Breakfast included. Surf shop downstairs which was very good ($20 for rental, lesson, rashy, and transport.) No hot water.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Oro

Address: Saliendo del Colonial, 20 | Varas al Sur, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 53 Specialty lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Casa Oro Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Casa Oro Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casa Oro to your Saves list