We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So nice and so friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Victoriano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Victoriano to your Saves list
Hotel Victoriano
Paseo de la Mar, Costado Norte Edificio Claro, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Nosara, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So nice and so friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

The Hotel Victoriano is definitely one of the best and most beautiful Hotels in San Juan del Sur. The staff there is extremely nice and helpful! The whole hotel is just beautiful and that you can get your breakfast ordered into the room, is for sure what you want on a relaxing vacation!
The hotel is located just across the street from the ocean, so it's always nice to come back from town walking on the beach.
Would definitely recommend this place, even though it is a little bit pricy..

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    28
    5
    2
    7
See reviews for
16
38
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

We *really* enjoyed our stay at Hotel Victoriano... It lives up to the name, and all the pictures of 'beachside elegance'.

Pros:
- Great location at the end of the beach, so you are right in town yet not right in the middle of loud, crowded area where restaurants and hostels are packed in. Also have a great view of the beach.
- Clean, nice 'tommy bahamas' ish feel room with strong air conditioning
- Amazing breakfast (which is included with the rate) -- choice of typical (eggs and gallo pinto), pancakes or fruit.
- Nice pool in the front if you are kicking back and relaxing instead of taking the 'gringo bus' out to the beach 40 min. away

Cons:
- Reception is a bit slow...be sure to give yourself a good 20 min or so to check in or check out. If you make a local call to a cell #, they charge you by the second so it can get pricey...something they failed to tell us.
- There is a really loud rooster that crows at like 8am nearby...just bring earplugs!

While others were recommending Piedras y Olas, we couldn't justify spending 2x when this hotel was SO nice...we're glad we stuck to our choice and found the review on TripAdvisor!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

This hotel came at a steep price compared to the other hotels in the area; however, this hotel came far above our expectations. The staff gave us a coupon to, in my opinion the best seafood in Nicaragua, El Timon. The rooms were far above our expectations and after Several nights of cold showers, their luxury bathroom really hit the spot. In most hotel outside of the capital Managua you will find lizards crawling everywhere even in the rooms. This was NOT the case here infact zero bugs bothered us throughout our stay here. The hotel offered us a complementary breakfast after our first night. Let me tell you that this full course meal was NOT your "hot bar" breakfast. In the states it would have run near $100. Overall the hotel well out-shinned the area.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

The Hotel Victoriano is beautiful, elegant, regal. Located at the edge of San Juan del Sur's Malecon, it is right across the street from the beach and a very short walk (1 1/2 blocks) to the bars and restuarants. Formerly the property of Nicaragua's long time dictator Samoza, when you stay there you get the feeling that you are at a very wealthy person's beach mansion. Unfortunately when I was there a beach front room was not available but my room was very comfortable with hardwood floors, flat screen tv, air conditioning and a nice large comfortable bed. Also, the room they gave me was on the north side of the hotel and there is a night club very close and the music was much too loud for me but they gave me a new room which was perfectly quiet.
The staff was friendly but not as professional as they could be. For example, when I checked in they forgot to give me the key to the in room safe. The staff does not speak English very well or at all. But they were very friendly.
I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

We couldn't find a Hotel with a better location than The Victoriano and the price was unbeatable. The room fee includes a "very light" continental breakfast. We did not eat there at all. The hotel is great for its location (right accross the beach) and have a nice pool with ocean view, but the food is not great.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand cayman
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

My Fiancee and I recently visited San Juan del Sur. Beautiful over all, but as one reviewer said previously it does make it hard for you to get around and get directions(coming from a Spanish speaking person this is horrible), as I found out many of the people that work there are not from the area. My fiancee and I went to a few of the restaurants in the area, it is very quiet and safe as compared to the rest of Nicaragua. We decided to go to Hotel Victoriano for our last dinner there as it seemed very nice and refined. When we got there we were the only ones in the restaurant. we decided to sit on the terrace overlooking the ocean. here is where it all gets interesting. The waiter brought us our manu and had no clue as to half of the items on it. When we enquire about some of the items he either did not know or gave the wrong information. I order a bottle of wine to celebrate our last night there he could not open the bottle and so he took it to the chef to open it. he then brought it to the table as he pured it, there was cork in the wine. he changed it but only the glass and continued to pur the rest of the wine. about half way through the night i noticed that the rest of the cork was in the bottle and did not drink the rest. the chef came our and apologised for the salad that they had brough to my fiancee ( a caesar with mayonaise dressing) not caesar. the stakes were done the wrong temp. in the end we were charged for evrything including the salad that we did not eat, and the wine we did not drink.
The chef has no clue as to what he is cooking and/or how to make it.

I would not recomend this place for food to anyone. You would be better off going to other local restaurants and the prices are dirt cheap.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

Just like the pictures...Very nice rooms, we had a balcony room and loved it. Staff was wonderful great service. Just on the edge of town so the view of the bay was wonderful and could walk everywhere. Town was very nice, safe, good food with great prices

  • Liked — Location and the Staff
  • Disliked — loved everything
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Victoriano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoriano

Address: Paseo de la Mar, Costado Norte Edificio Claro, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Regatta Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Victoriano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Victoriano Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Victoriano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.