We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much more than just a place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Las Nubes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca Las Nubes
Km 136 | La Cuesta, San Juan del Sur 95472, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“So much more than just a place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

We stayed at Finca Las Nubes in the Villa Hermosa over New Year's with 2 other families. We had a beautiful experience. Chris and his wonderful staff took such good care of us from meeting us at the airport to setting up surf lessons. The house and view were amazing and we loved the pool! Analuce and her assistants cooked us tasty meals with fresh veggies and the best fresh-squeezed juice imaginable. And the coffee...yum!

We respect what Chris is doing down there in San Juan del Sur. He makes you want to move down there and join the cause. My children had so much fun on the horseback ride around the farm, and couldn't get enough of Pepito, the monkey.

Thanks to Baldo and Ana for taking such good care of us and providing us with insights into local culture we would not have gotten otherwise. We hope to come down again and see you all. Lastly, as other reviewers have said, it's so wonderful you almost don't want to share it.

My advice to anyone going down there...go with an open mind and lots of bug juice!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    4
    1
    0
    5
See reviews for
49
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
california
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

My friends and I were a bit nervous after reading articles of tourist experiences in Nicaragua. However, after arriving at Finca las Nubes, we stepped into a hilltop paradise straight out of our dreams. Located 10 min from town on a beautiful breezy mountain farm, we lived in a state of luxury. When either swimming in the disappearing edge pools overlooking the ocean and surrounding valleys or hiking the butterfly trails or observing the howler monkeys who live here; we felt extremely blessed.
The service was excellent and the nica food delicious. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
We had surfers in our group and they had a great time with very fun waves.
The location of this place allows you to disconnect from the hustle and bustle of town if you desire, while also making it convenient if you wish to go.
This place is beautiful and built like a palace. Thanks again to the staff
Go to Fincalasnubes.com for pics

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

It is so hard to even think of the right words to describe Finca Las Nubes. We traveled with a group of six - 3 siblings and spouses who are all great friends and had the time of our lives! The farm, hacienda, staff, food, weather, views, adventure and relaxation were unbelievable. Chris and Natalie were the most gracious hosts and their service staff including Marcelino, Juan and Ada Luz delivered the type of service you cannot find anywhere in the United States. All of the staff on the farm made us feel so welcome and at home within minutes of our arrival.
Waking up each morning to a fresh cooked breakfast, squeezed juice, amazing sunrise and the farm pets (a monkey, deer and a couple of dogs) was just about the best awakening I've ever had. It's nearly impossible to sleep late because you don't want to miss any of the day! The views from the farm are picturesque and the sunsets each night were breathtaking. A short drive and you're in town with yet even more friendly locals. Our group had the opportunity to go surfing, sailing to a private beach, ziplining, horseback riding and exploring on the farm. Each day was made only better by the absolutely amazing meals prepared for us. I wish we could have brought Ada Luz home with us!
It's a catch 22 to talk about this place. On one hand, we want everyone to know just how amazing this vacation was, but on the other, we'd like to keep it our little secret, a special place to visit that isn't too touristy. We wish nothing but Chris and Natalie and our extended family at Finca nothing but the best. Besos to them all!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

This was the best vacation I have ever taken. I went with my wife, brother, sister and their spouses. Finca Las Nubes was more than I ever expected. Chris, the owner, and his daughter Natalie were great hosts. The staff was wonderful. It takes me 2-3 days to relax when I go on vacation. At Finca I was relaxed immediately. I truly did not know that I could get that relaxed.

Every morning I would get up there would be fresh coffee and someone in the kitchen preparing fresh juice and breakfast. I have never had more than a taste of coffee a couple of times, and never liked it. At Finca I had a cup every morning because it was so good. It was more like hot chocolate than coffee because it was fresh, from Chris's other farm, and roasted perfect. Every meal we had on the farm was amazing. We would spend half the meal trying to decide if it was better than the other meals. The entire farm was amazing and what Chris has done and is planning on doing is even more amazing.

The title does not lie. Everyday Pepito, the Monkey, would play with Madonna, the Deer. They were either snuggling together or Pepito would just go for a ride. A couple of mornings we woke up to howler monkeys in the trees outside our house. There was amazing wildlife all over the farm. There are new trails being cut, and we were the first visitors to walk on one that was brand new. We never felt unsafe on the farm. Jose mans the front gate 24/7, and if you bring him a coke he may show you the monkey dog show. If you are lucky enough to stay with Chris and his family you will not regret it.

The only regret I have is not purchasing one of the hammocks. I was worried about getting it on the plane. Now that I am back in the US i realize it would have been worth it.

The payment is required up front. It may seem a little weird, but we read reviews on here that had us prepared and we had no issues.

I could write much more, but I don't think you would believe it. You must see and experience for it yourself.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MO
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

My husband and I were seeking a vacation, which began with the usual search on Hotwire, Bookit, etc for an all-inclusive resort. We were about to book our trip to Dominican Republic - we were awaiting a call back from a resort representative. Coincidentally, my husband recalled an article in his GQ magazine about fabulous, unknown destinations. One of these destinations was San Juan del Sur. We googled the area and found Finca Las Nubes! We arranged the trip with the help of Chris (the owner) and his daughter, Natalie. Their assistance put us at ease, especially since this was our first vacation in Central America.

We were met in Managua by Javier, who drove us wherever we asked during our stay. He is a friendly, adventurous man and his guidance was invaluable. Our home, Casa Buena VIsta, was awesome! We had a private pool that overlooks the ocean. The home is open air and maintains a comfortable temperature due to the smart construction and breeze. Be prepared to start your day with a beautiful sunrise, a cup of freshly roasted coffee, and a book in a hammock. You will eat amazing meals prepared by your own personal cook (including lobster and fresh juice from the organic fruit grown on the farm) - thank you, Juan. Be sure to try Flora de Cana, the rum of choice in NIcaragua. Have a drink while star gazing pool side.

The beaches are some of the most beautiful in the world. Playa Coco is a quiet beach, just a few miles from Costa Rica. Maderas is a surfing hot spot. We spent a day hiking Ometepe Island, known for it's volcano and gigantic waterfalls. In San Juan, we zip-lined at Da Flying Frog Canopy, which was a blast!

On the property, be sure to take a guided horseback ride. Check out the gardens. Visit with Chris and his family - it is awesome to hear how he developed the property and his plans for the future. Spend some time with Fedrico and Aldan, a doctor and P.A. from the U.S., who live on the property and are going to run a wellness clinic there in San Juan. Visit the property's organic store and hold the coolest monkey on earth!

Useful tip: If you do not know Spanish, either take a class before visiting or take a common words/phrases book with you. There is so much I wanted to ask and was crippled by my lack of speaking and understanding Spanish. This is not a touristy area, so the locals do not know English.

We felt safe and spoiled during our stay and hope to go back soon. Perhaps with our kids. Or maybe we will decide to keep this romantic, treasured place "ours" for now!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

Words simply cannot describe the Smith Family's wonderful week at Finca Las Nubes and our hacienda overlooking San Juan del Sur and the Pacific Ocean. From the moment that Javier greeted us at the airport in Managua until Ada Luz greeted us at our home we were put at ease. Each and everyday we were cared for like royalty and given not a care in the world. Each member of the staff we came in contact with were caring, outgoing, friendly, and truly became part of family. Juan Pablo took care of our every desire at our home. His work ethics at 22 years old were beyond belief. Marcelino took our son to the best surf spots and served as our guide across Lake Nicaragua to the volcanoes. Our breakfast, lunch, and dinners were carefully thought out and so well prepared. Thank you Ada Luz, Juan Pablo, and Lidia. Our home away from home surpassed all expectations. Unbelievably well-constructed, open air atmospheres and truly no need for air conditioning with the constant breezes. No telephones and a real escape from reality and the stressors of life. We leave renewed and thankful for the opportunity you extended us. We look forward to returning in the near future if you will have us. And most importantly, we leave with hearts full of love for our extended family in Nicaragua. Muchas gracias for all your love.

-Lloyd, Marie, Erik, and Stacy Smith

P.S. Ada Luz is a magnificent hostess and consierge. No woman could be more sweet.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

Amazing place with great view of San Juan Del Sur. Food was great which was prepared by the staff. Most, if not all of the food was produced on the property, all organic. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The concierge service was the best I've experienced.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Finca Las Nubes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Las Nubes

Address: Km 136 | La Cuesta, San Juan del Sur 95472, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 Specialty lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury all inclusive villas located in forest preserve. Fabulous views of the entire Pacific coast and volcanoes in Lake Nicaragua. Gourmet organic meals, 5-star service, including chauffeur. Infinity pools, swim up bars, horseback-riding, surfing, fishing, canopy tours, etc. Fully functioning organic farm with wood shop, nursery, cows, goats, chickens, etc. Overall the most incredible experience of culture, nature, activity, farm life and pleasure in the most beautiful setting with the most accommodating staff anywhere on the planet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finca Las Nubes Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Finca Las Nubes Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Las Nubes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Finca Las Nubes to your Saves list