We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in San Juan Del Sur!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia del Sol Villas & Condominiums

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia del Sol Villas & Condominiums to your Saves list
Bahia del Sol Villas & Condominiums
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   From the Mayor's office 2.5 kilometers north | Behind La Talanguera neighborhood, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay in San Juan Del Sur!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We bought a groupon for a 5 night stay at Bahia Del Sol, and was not expecting such a great place! We visited with another couple (both mid-30's), and the villas were a perfect alternative to a hotel. The grounds and villas are well-kept, the staff is wonderful, and the location is ideal if you are visiting San Juan Del Sur. The staff is extremely accomodating, and were helpful both during planning our stay and while we were there. Mariela and Gladis were especially helpful and really do a great job at making guests feel at home.
We flew into Mangua, stayed an overnight there, and drove to SJDS. (about two hours-- NO street signs, so get a good map if you can GPS is sketchy). Renting an SUV is recommended, the roads arent all great for a car.
Once in SJDS, we visited Playa Hermosa (US$3 pp), did an ATV tour (US$60 for three hours), and chartered a fishing boat for 5 hours (about US$150) (ask the staff -- they are helpful with finding excursions). All were WELL worth the money and we got to see alot of the surrounding area with ease. Be sure to visit the fish market near the peir, and grill at your villa!
Great 4 day visit. We would highly recommend it.
Thanks, Bahia Del Sol, for a great experience. :)

Room Tip: Villa 7 has a great view and is right above the pool. There are a good bot of steps to get to the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    17
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Not my first trip to Nicaragua and my fifth visit to San Juan del Sur. Just wanted to try something different from Pelican Eyes and Palermo (other options in town). First the good news. The view is magnificent indeed. The villas are nice, or would have been in the 80s when they were built. Nice and spacious (3 bedrooms). Bathrooms in need of attention (ours were just dirty; soap scum in the shower and the glass plate around the shower knob, nice to have two wash basins but they weren't clean and smelled bad). Living room is just basic. The kitchen could do with some work. Would be nice if the living areas were airconditioned as well, not just the bedrooms. Maybe the other villas are nice in which case stay away from No. 8. Now the pool which is important to me if you're not impressed by the beach (dark brown very fine sand and high silica): Its small. And in keeping with the cleanliness standard in the villa bathrooms, its filthy. Three days I was there, the water got progressively murky. They never ran the filtration system if there was one. They would just come and fish out the leaves n insects once a day. I couldn't smell any chlorine as you would in every pool. That was a huge disappointment. And I think I picked up a skin infection while I was there, though can't be certain.

Overall, I am amazed at the rave reviews here. To be fair, the only thing going for it are the comfortable bedrooms, fantastic view and spaciousness. Oh, and it's cheap...certainly cheaper than Palermo or Pelican Eyes.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We ended our trip through Nicaragua here and are so glad we did. The condo was huge and full of light with amazing views of the ocean. The location is excellent since it is not "in" town, but an easy walk to town (although not a good walk to attempt in the dark since the road is narrow and not well lit). The staff was also excellent -very responsive to our needs and always very friendly. The bedrooms (three) were huge and cool with TONS of storage and the bathrooms (two and a half) were also nice. We would stay here again in a second!!!

Keep in mind:
1. The pool is very nice, with a bathroom and outdoor shower and shallow area for children. However, you'll have to keep a close eye on active little ones since one side of the pool drops off suddenly into the swim up bar area (we never saw it in use) and one end drops suddenly down a steep hill (they have put terra cotta planters here to try to block this area, but we still had to closely watch our kids).
2. As explained above, the location is fabulous if you want quiet relaxation within a decent proximity to town without being in town. However you'll likely accrue taxi costs as a result and many taxis wouldn't take us back to our hotel or who would charge us extra because they had to leave the paved road and enter the few blocks of unpaved access to the hotel which does a number on their cars (understandable).
3. Having a kitchen and access to a washer/dryer (for an additional cost) is great, but keep in mind you will have to stock up on all amenities yourself - including things like salt/pepper, paper towels, etc. The Pali grocery store is not far and an easy cab ride.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

we have stayed at several places around San Juan Del Sur. This place has a great location, nice views and large units. the A/C worked great and the pool was fine. The condo we stayed in was in dire need of a fresh coat of paint and there was garbage all over the grounds. With a little TLC and a good cleaning this would be a fantastic property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiadelSol2011, Manager at Bahia del Sol Villas & Condominiums, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We do apologize for this incovenience for the garbage, we hope that you will consider staying with us again on your visit to San Juan del Sur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Bahia del Sol was much better than we expected. The villa was extremely clean with every amenity you can think of. The bedrooms are spacious with a lot of closet space, the living room and dining room were very comfortable and the 2 1/2 baths were large. The views from the private balconies from the master bedroom and the patio were beautiful that included the beach and seaside mountains. It is a 5 minute drive from da flying frog zipline adventure, and a 15 minute walk to downtown, which has a lot of wonderful restaurants. Staff was friendly and was bilingual and they go out of their way to make sure everything is ok. The pool was cleaned every morning at 6 am and was wonderful. I will definitely return to the property when in town.They made an overnight run to the grocery store for us, so we could have it in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiadelSol2011, Manager at Bahia del Sol Villas & Condominiums, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Good afternoon,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Bahia del sol Villas & Condominiums.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The villas at Bahia del Sol were great. The villas are about a 20 minute walk into town. The balconies have a great view of the statue and the town/bay. It is a quick drive to the Pali grocery store to stock up on food, snacks and drinks. Staff was very friendly and spoke English very well, they helped us set up all our day excursions and gave great advice for things to do. The villa was clean and spacious. I would definetly recommend this place, it was a great stay and a great staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiadelSol2011, Manager at Bahia del Sol Villas & Condominiums, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We feel so glad, happy and also flattered for your comments about our service and attention towards you all. We hope you have made it home safe and sound. We feel so well that you liked and enjoyed your stay in our small condo hotel in San Juan del Sur.

Your comments make us want to keep on working even better always trying hard to do our best to offer a very good service and attention to make our guest have an excellent experience not only in our hotel but also in San Juan del Sur our small fishing and tourist town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel was excellent. An easy ten/fifteen minute walk into town. Very friendly and bilingual staff. Safe town, safe area. The hotel has everything you need. Clean rooms and bathrooms. A/C in bedrooms upstairs. 2.5 baths in the villa. Kitchen has six burner gas stove (matches are in the cupboard), pots and pans, coffee maker, full size refrigerator, and bottled water for cooking and drinking. They will even go to the grocery store for you! Can't say enough about this property and staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiadelSol2011, General Manager at Bahia del Sol Villas & Condominiums, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with everyone here on trip advisor your experience of your stay. It encourages us to keep improving, and it will help us to continue providing the best service and attention possible.

We feel really happy that you are satisfied with the service and attention provided by our staff during your stay, and your positive feedback is so very helpful.

Thank you for rating us and sharing your experience during your stay with us at Bahia del Sol Villas & Condominiums.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia del Sol Villas & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Sol Villas & Condominiums

Address: From the Mayor's office 2.5 kilometers north | Behind La Talanguera neighborhood, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 58 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia del Sol Villas & Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bahia Del Sol Villas & Condominiums is located in the most exclusive neighbourhood in town. We are located just 2.2 km north from La Alcaldia Municipal in San Juan del Sur, just 5 minutes walk to the beach and 10 minutes walk to town. Each of the fully furnished Villas is a very spacious 2300 sq ft (213 m2). They were designed and constructed using local building materials and modern architecture to give each luxury Villa a unique Nicaraguan flavour with modern theme. These air conditioned Villas have 3 bedroom and 2.5 baths with hand -fired red brick tile floors. The master bedroom and living room, both with large terraces, let you relax and dine in the fresh ocean breezes as you take in the spectacular ocean views. Rates are per villa, per night, covered in U.S dollars.• Rates do not include 15% of sales tax• Rates do not include tourism tax of 2%• Children under 3 years are free, ages 3 and up are included in rates.• Easter week minimum of 4 nights stay• National holidays minimum of 4 nights stay.• New Year minimum of 4 nights stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Bahia del Sol Villas & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Del Sol Villas And Condominiums
Bahia Del Sol Villas & Condominiums Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Bahia Del Sol Villas & Condominiums Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia del Sol Villas & Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.