We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here in San Juan del Sur” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Colonial to your Saves list
Hotel Colonial
1.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stay here in San Juan del Sur”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here for three nights while we explored the surrounding area. The hotel was nearly empty the first night, but we preferred to have the place to ourselves. The courtyard was my favorite. It's a great place to sit outside and winddown for the evening. The included breakfast was adequate but nothing special, however it was comparable to the other hotels we stayed in during our trip to Nicaragua.

There was cable TV, AC, and a fan.

Staff was friendly, attentive and some spoke english when we needed it. It's only a block or two from the water, but SJDS is pretty small, so most of the hotels would be close to the water.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    24
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
16
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nicaragua and oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

good accomodations-good service-2 blocks from the beach-good breakfast-has parking for my car and accepted my small jack russell terrier dog-nina-in fact the staff fell in love with her and she loved them also-has large garden and patio-highly reccomend it

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Cost us $50 for two, brekkie included, AC, decent room, pretty garden, nice people and smack bang in the middle of town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We needed a hotel room for one night in San Juan Del Sur on our way up north. Hotel Colonial worked out great. Rooms are small and simple but great for the price. The hotel is a block off the beach but very quiet. It has a nice little garden area where we sat and had drinks (we bought our own, they don't serve you) the night we got in. Breakfast was included in the price of the hotel which was convenient for us as we needed to get on the road, however it wasn't particularly tasty. We didn't really spend time in San Juan Del Sur but if you are planning to Hotel Colonial is right in the heart of it all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

This was a nice stay for 2 days. Breakfast was free, the room was clean but relatively small. Nothing to complain for the price, particularly during the Easter holiday. It was walking distance from the beach and also close to the sort of touristic centre. I would go back for sure. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Hotel Colonial is located in the heart of San Juan del Sur. From the hotel it is only a short walk to the beach or to the most popular restaurants in town.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.The rooms are small but perfect for the traveler who doesn't want to spend lots of money and is only using the hotel room as sleeping/bathing quarters. Our room had A/C, fan and hot water, and was very adequate for our needs. The free breakfast was a somewhat small offering of scrambled eggs, gallo pinto, toast and coffee. Even though the hotel is very nice (especially for the price), if you plan on spending a lot of time in your room and would like plush, roomy accommodations you would be better off booking elsewhere. But if you're looking to be in the middle of it all for a decent price you can't go wrong with Hotel Colonial.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Our room was small. The flimsy curtains do not block outside light. This is no problem at night because ambient light is low. Noise was no problem for us. We slept until around 8 am each day. The room was clean and cleaned daily. The hot water was produced by a contraption on the shower head. Your choice of water was extremely hot, lukewarm or cold. The WiFi is free but works only in the lobby area. The breakfast is included and adequate but gets boring. Each morning from 6-10 am you get an egg prepared the way you like, gallo pinto, toast, butter, jam, orange juice and coffee. The outdoor garden area is attractive with tropical flowers, fruits, and birds. There are places to sit in the garden. The location is excellent. It is about a two minute walk from the beach, restaurants, and ATMs. The manager seems to be the only one who speaks English. This is maybe a one star hotel. If fancy and luxury is your cup of tea, you need to go somewhere else. All in all this place kind of grows on you. We spent four nights. If we return to SJDS, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Colonial 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial is an Oasis in the heart of San Juan, one block from the seashore with its lively restaurants and bars, and close to ideal beaches for surfing.Hotel Colonial combines the nostalgia of past centuries with the new millenium, a traditional latino interior garden converts the hotel into an oasis of tranquility in a lively fishing village.Nostalgia combines with modern commodities - air ccnditionning, television, wireless internet, private baths, complete breakfasts, secure parking.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colonial Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.