We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway in Nicaragua!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Rosa Nicaragua

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Playa Marsella, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 hotels in San Juan del Sur
Athens, Ga
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Getaway in Nicaragua!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is a great little getaway in San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua! Although you are definitely in a beach town with dirt roads, as soon as you step foot into this resort you feel in paradise! The staff by far makes the experience! They will go out of their way to make sure you are completely comfortable and at home. The freshly squeezed orange juice in the morning is delicious as well as all the items on the menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner! The villas are very comfortable and spacious with great kitchens! Most importantly--they are very clean! When you go, be sure to ask for Barney ;)

I look forward to going back to visit sometime soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lapangarosa, Owner at Mango Rosa Nicaragua, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your note and it was great having you and the family here with us over the holidays. so glad you enjoyed Mango Rosa and the surrounding area. Have a fantastic year and hope to see you in the future...............p.s. Barney (the lab) says hell..Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    46
    13
    9
    0
See reviews for
74
86
21
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Our accommodations were very clean and well maintained as well as the grounds. It was nice and relaxing. We would definitely come back!! Staff were super friendly and accommodating. Cabana's were nice and relaxing!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lapangarosa, Owner at Mango Rosa Nicaragua, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your response and for joining us, I really hope to make it up to Vancouver myself when it warms up there. glad you enjoyed the amenities and accommodations we offer as well. In the meantime safe travels and stay warm....Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Where do I start. This "resort" has had its better days. The pool area and main building are very nice and well maintained. On the other hand, the cabanas are far from kept up. They are not maintained, dirty and need of a good paint job. I would not put any food items down in the kitchen. My wife and I had so many insect bites from sitting on the couch and even the chairs outside its wasn't funny. This was the most expense place we stayed in Nicaragua and was the least enjoyable. We could not use the pool because a group of about 8-10 guest staying at the house partied all night all day long for three days straight. No kidding, No sleep, A guy just took all his clothes off in front of everyone including the kids and jumped in the pool. I saw others vomiting in the pool and in the landscape. Management did nothing. I could go on and on but its not worth it. We left early. Staff was pleasant and I felt bad for them. The best time I had was when the car was leaving. Don't make the same mistake I did. Down the road was a place called Casa Maderas. We ate there and wishing we had stayed there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lapangarosa, Owner at Mango Rosa Nicaragua, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I just had a meeting with my entire staff and the accused guests regarding your comments. Although there were some mixed stories of what went on, this is definitely an isolated case that is not promoted, condoned nor tolerated at Mango Rosa. As I stated in your wife's previous review it is quite a feat to control the human race, but if this would have been brought to my attention while you were still here during you two day stay, I would have had a better chance to make amends of the situation and well as any issues you had with your cabin. With this said do accept my apologies, and folks if you have any issues with your stay while with us here at Mango please ask for me, even though I cannot always be everywhere, I am still just a phone call away and my staff can get in touch with me................As far as Travelers go, whether you are coming to Mango or anywhere else, please be considerate and respectful of your surroundings and fellow travelers........Thank you and have a great day!! Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Not quite what I was expecting of a Nicaraguan vacation to be. We had an obnoxious family that took over the bar, pool, and restaurant area the entire time we stayed at the resort so there was no chance of enjoying it. Our bungalow was in dire need of updates. It needed a serious paint job, a good cleaning, a toilet seat that wasn't plastic would help, maybe a few lamp shades that weren't dry rotted and some patio furniture cushions that are made for the outdoors and not made out of bean bag stuffing would have been nice. Oh it might help to put some plants in the pots instead of having empty and broken ones lying all around a bungalow that you are charging $98 a night for!! It doesn't hurt to spray for RED AUNTS either !!
Thanks for a great anniversary NOT!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lapangarosa, Owner at Mango Rosa Nicaragua, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Sorry you did not enjoy your stay here at MR, I sincerely hope the rest of your travels in Nicaragua were what you were looking for. Controlling behaviors of all, where they come from and mixing it all together is a pretty hard feat. Not sure about the Anti-American comment as the family I think you are referring to are not Americans. Safe travels and Happy Anniversary!!! Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

My daughter and her boyfriend are travelling around Central and South America and wanted to stay put somewhere for Christmas and New Year. We stumbled across the Mango Rosa. It has amazing reviews and just seemed the perfect spot, Unfortunately due to a last minute change in plans my daughter did not end up staying at the Mango Rosa however I wanted to write this review as the after service was exceptional. We had already paid the full amount to Mango Rosa and even though cancellation was last minute they still had no problem refunding our monies. This is a reputable establishment run by reputable people who you can trust! very refreshing - thank you

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lapangarosa, Owner at Mango Rosa Nicaragua, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your note and yes I have always been a firm believer wherever you end up in the World, don't forget about your integrity. I trust your daughter had a great stay here in Nicaragua even though they were unable to make to Mango. Hope to see you in the future..Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spent one night here after an awful experience in a place down the road. The property was very pretty and well maintained. Greg, the owner, was very nice and shared his experiences with us. The cabaña we stayed in (Costa Blanca) was enormous and just lovely and we were lucky to get it for that night as it was the last room available as it was high season. (I would just recommend a new faucet in the bathroom as it does not extend far enough into the basin and leaks on the floor. ) The food was good as well. It was not the least expensive accommodation for sure but the value was there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lapangarosa, Owner at Mango Rosa Nicaragua, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for you note and I am glad we could accommodate you for your last night in the area.
Thanks for the heads up on the faucet as well, in fact just replaced it as suggested.
Safe Travels and hope to see you in the future, Safe Travels...Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed over Christmas 2013 with our 5-year-old son while visiting San Juan Del Sur and the northern beaches. My impression of the accommodation was generally very good and we enjoyed ourselves over the few days that we stayed here.

Why to go:

Good location near Playa Maderas and Playa Marsella. It was useful to have a rental car because it is quite a long walk to the beaches. They do, however, offer a shuttle a few times a day from the hotel. The bungalows are tucked amidst the jungle vegetation and we had howler monkeys hanging out right outside our windows on a few occasions.

Comfortable bed and spacious living space with a full kitchen. Good wifi signal.

Nice restaurant and bar. The food and drinks were great and the staff always very friendly. There was also a great tropical vibe with music and travelers always hanging out.

Relaxing pool area, perfect to enjoy a beer or tropical cocktail and our son enjoyed swimming most afternoons after a day at the beach.

Drawbacks:
…were few…
Lots of ants in the kitchen and bathroom (to be expected in a tropical location, though).
No hot water (didn't really mind since the weather was so hot) but this was fixed after bringing it to the attention of the staff.
Distance to SJDS town (could be a good thing or a bad thing).

Overall, a great stay and with high recommendations.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lapangarosa, Owner at Mango Rosa Nicaragua, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for joining us here at Mango, you are your family were very peasant to have for the holidays. thank you for sharing your tips as well, it is very helpful for travelers to know where they are coming and what to expect especially in Nicaragua. Have a Great New Year and hope to see you again...Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mango Rosa Nicaragua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Rosa Nicaragua

Address: Playa Marsella, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Rosa is the ultimate jump off point for adventure and travel around San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua. Situated seemingly in the middle of the jungle, but only a short drive to the beach or town. Mango Rosa is a full-service resort providing the perfect combination of comfort and escape. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mango Rosa Nicaragua Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Mango Rosa Hotel
Mango Rosa Nicaragua San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Rosa Nicaragua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mango Rosa Nicaragua to your Saves list