We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for single mom traveling with kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Rosa Nicaragua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mango Rosa Nicaragua to your Saves list
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Playa Marsella, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Delray Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great choice for single mom traveling with kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My 9 yr old son,23 yr old niece along with her 28 yr old friend and I recently had a fantastic 5 day stay at Mango Rosa. After much research and many emails back and forth to Greg (thanks Greg) we decided on MR for our spring break vacation and very glad we did .Mango Rosa was perfect. From the ease of car transport from airport (arranged by Greg with a very friendly English speaking driver ) to the friendly welcome at MR it was a perfect beginning to a great vacation .The accommodations were spacious clean and beautifully decorated with a rustic artisan flare .Greg has put together a great staff of dedicated friendly people who immediately make you feel welcome and at home . There were a few blips in our casita (a/c in Master BR and fridge not cool enough) that Greg personally addressed and corrected immediately. Dexter arranged for our activities . We went on a two hour horseback ride with Eduardo on the beach . A full gallop on the beach !!! That was day one . We also enjoyed the boat cruise and several trips to beach to enjoy the surf and sun . The short trip to town was great . The locals were enjoying an Easter week fiesta which was great to be a part of . Back at MR the pool and bar were great . We ate all but one meal at the resort because the food was great . They even tailored dishes to my finicky 9 yr old who claimed the pancakes were the best ever . I can't give enough praise to Dexter.. He went above and beyond transporting my niece and her friend to the beach at night so they could enjoy the fun of the nightly bon fires with the surf crowd .(thanks Dex). As a single mom traveling with kids I have never felt safer anywhere! I can't wait to go back in the rainy season as I hear the landscape is even more lush and beautiful . Thanks Greg . Hope to see you and everyone at Mango again soon !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    49
    13
    9
    0
See reviews for
79
90
22
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Mango Rosa is a laid back, comfortable, quiet spot close to Playa Marsella, Playa Madera, and San Juan del Sur.

The bungalows are large, well-equipped (full kitchen), comfortable, and cool (multiple fans/ACs in each). The pool is the perfect temperature to cool off during the day or warm up a bit at night.

Gerry makes THE BEST mojitos, and Dexter is a gem of a surf instructor/guide/go-to-guy. All staff members are friendly and accommodating and can quickly and easily arrange a ride into town or to a beach, activities, etc. If you have a car, it's easy to find your way around from here, and if you don't, the staff can arrange transportation for you!

I've read some others' reviews and feel the need to address a few things:

1. Bees. Yes, there are bees. Like anywhere else in the world. I saw bees everywhere I went in the San Juan del Sur area. Part of the reason for the bees is the beautiful, sweet-smelling flora all over the place. And at Mango Rosa, they skim the pool very frequently (the bees tend to cluster around where the flowers fall).

2. Location. Mango Rosa is one of the nicest accommodations in its price range within walking distance to a beach in the San Juan del Sur area. The beach in town is fine-looking, but accommodations near there are either very rustic or very expensive, and I wouldn't swim there as there is raw sewage nearby and it's a town, so the beach is in front of a very developed strip. The most beautiful beaches are secluded and a bit out of town and many have very rustic or no accommodations at all. Mango Rosa is a quick walk to Playa Marsella, a quick drive to Playa Madera, and a quick drive to town where there are some great restaurants. So I'd say the location is pretty ideal.

3. Price. You can spend $30 - $50 per night per person at Mango Rosa for accommodations, and in addition to a great location you get a huge bungalow with a full kitchen, a living room, a porch, and extremely comfortable beds. Sure, you can spend $6 per night for accommodations in Nica, but not in a private, spacious, air conditioned bungalow! And the food and drinks are much cheaper than US prices, and maybe just a bit more than expected because it's a tourist spot. Overall, VERY affordable if you're not unemployed/a shoestring-budget traveler.

Mango Rosa is not a five star hotel, and it is not meant to be. It's a chill spot for families, surfers, fishing enthusiasts, explorers, lovers, friends, et al.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was our first time to Nicaragua and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Mango Rosa was a great place to stay. Very friendly and welcoming staff, relaxed atmosphere, and a good variety of outdoor activities to choose from. Ben and Jose gave great surf lessons.
It was lots of fun to hang out in the common area and meet different people from all over the world. The rooms were very nice and comfortable.
We had an awesome time on the boat trip; some of us surfed while others went to a secluded beach. We joined up with them later, all had lunch, played in the water and generally hung out. On our return trip we fished, caught a variety and were lucky enough to see a whale breaching. We even saw large turtles swimming. When we returned the staff at Mango Rosa prepared our fish on a platter - What an amazing day.
Thanks to Greg, Dexter, and all the rest of the staff for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The most noticeable thing about this place is how relaxed it is. The casual nature of this hotel works both for and against it--on the one hand, it's very calm. However, it also means that it is getting a little run-down. The sheets on the bed had holes in them and it kind of felt like we were staying in the guest room of my grandmother's house. I think the cabins could actually be quite nice, and maybe they once were, but no one seems too concerned with that. We turned on the air conditioning in the main room, but then were unable to turn it off. We reported this to the front desk, who said they'd send someone. They never did. We then decided to check out early and again reported that the air conditioner was still one (one day later). The front desk again said they would send someone--I hope they did!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

A friend recommended Mango Rosa to me and we ended up staying there for 1 night. We may have stayed longer since the rooms were stunning... large, beautiful and well kept, offering many options for traveling groups or families. Unfortunately, I believe in 'you get what you pay for' and despite the high prices for Nicaragua, we definitely did not get a high end experience.

The 1st hiccup was that there are hornets all over the children's shallow section of the pool. My friends said they'd been there for many days and that occasionally someone would try to 'wash' them away with water but, ayeya! I was scared to death my little boy would be stung. I don't even know if he's allergic to that type of thing yet and the hornets would come and land on his life vest!

Other hiccups could have been because we caught them on a bad day but they included... 'nachos' that were so greasy, there was a pool of oil on the plate under them. Then, I ordered healthy veggies with no oils and was delivered veggies that were swimming in butter. No joke. We didn't eat them or the nachos and of course, still paid. The only thing decent was the burger. Also, everything in the restaurant was pricey for Nicaragua, almost US prices, but you are isolated so you have no choice but to pay. And... after paying top dollar to stay there, you're still expected to fork over more money for extras, like the yoga. Most other retreat-like places I've been to will throw in the extras like this for free.

The last hiccup was right when we were trying to brush teeth, change diapers and shower to check-out... the water went off. I told them this when we paid and they acted like it was not normal but, what a hassle. We left on the next leg of our trip with no shower, not-so-fresh breath and diaper hands.

I guess Mango Rosa offers beautiful rooms but is not to my taste, otherwise. I also would not recommend it to a friend.

2 circles go for the beautiful 'villa' style rooms and patios. -1 for the hornets at the pool. -1 for the greasy, barely edible food, and -1 for high prices, no water in the bathroom, and being isolated on an incredibly bad road.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Mango Rosa is a gem. The staff is extremely friendly and accomodating. The drinks and food were great. The small house we stayed in was lovely and fully equipped with new appliances and a tv. The fans and air conditioning were powerful and worked well for those warm nights. Dexter, who helps to manage the place along with Greg, took wonderful care of us. He transported us to and from town during the crazy Santa Semana festival, nearby beaches Playa Madera, Playa Hermosa, and even gave us surf lessons! We had an extra treat of watching baby sea turtles be released into the sea. He also drove us back to our airport hotel on our last day with a tour of Caterina on the way. Although the pool is smaller than appears on the website, it is still lovely and a nice respite from the sometimes windy days on the beach. And although this place is not directly on the beach, I can tell you the places that we saw on the beach did not look like places where I would want to stay. They were more beach bungalow style, without AC and subject to loud partying all night. No where near the serenity and quality and value of Mango Rosa. There is also a high end place in town called Pelican Eyes, but they charged per person for one night what I payed for five!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from an 8day stay at mango rosa. We had a great time. Was exactly what we needed to get away from work and the cold from home.
We arrived very late at night and were met by the security guard who was waiting for us. He let us in and made sure everything was good. Our first impression of our cabin was how clean and comfy it felt.
We were woken up the next morning by the howler monkeys, they are particularly vocal in the mornings. We enjoyed listening to them and the bedroom window afforded us a view of them playing and sunning themselves in the trees behind the cabins.
We were met in the restaurant by Greg who filled us in on the layout of the area, and let us know if there was anything we needed to just ask. Greg was very polite and cordial with us, giving us tips on where to find things in town and tours to go on. We felt very taken care of.
The staff were all great, and all spoke enough English to understand what you wanted or needed. We went into town and picked up a few groceries at the Pali. Prices were very cheap compared to home.
We really didn't do any real cooking in the cabin but what we did make was easily done with the kitchen items available.
The restaurant was very good. We did not have a meal we didn't like. They have theme nights with specials, we typically just got the special to try new items and were always impressed. The waiters were attentive and service was good.
The pool was great. You are only a short walk to the beach (5-15min walk) depending on which beach you want, but it was always nice to return after a day in the ocean to just float in the pool. It was big enough to do laps or just lounge on the steps.
We did the sunset cruise one night and had a fantastic time. We saw humpback whales, dolphins, a stingray and pelicans. It was beautiful!
We asked Greg to arrange a massage for us one day. We decided to have it in the hammock pavilion, would also recommend that. The sound of the breeze, birds, and pool in the background was awesome. Highly recommend getting one while your staying here.
We had a great time at mango rosa, and would stay there again with out a second thought. Our entire stay was so relaxed and the mood was mellow and cozy at the resort.
Thanks again Greg for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mango Rosa Nicaragua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Rosa Nicaragua

Address: Playa Marsella, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Rosa is the ultimate jump off point for adventure and travel around San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua. Situated seemingly in the middle of the jungle, but only a short drive to the beach or town. Mango Rosa is a full-service resort providing the perfect combination of comfort and escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mango Rosa Nicaragua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Rosa Nicaragua Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Mango Rosa Hotel
Mango Rosa Nicaragua San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Rosa Nicaragua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.