We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YABBA, DABBA, DO!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve to your Saves list
Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
4.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Off R303 | Southern Cederberg Mountains, Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve 6836, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“YABBA, DABBA, DO!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I thought this place was wonderful, a delightful surprise and unlike any camp I've ever been to before. We were in one of the cave rooms which I LOVED!! The staff was attentive & knowledgeable, scenery was amazing and I so hope I get to go back again some time. It was late August which was their winter and I was bowled over by the abundance of wild flowers in a desert environment. We had some good game viewing that even surprised the guides. During the day in the bright sun it was quite warm, even sunscreen time, but once that sun went down it was cold so the fire in the bar was most appreciated. I posted photos on my Facebook page and said, "Just call me Wilma Flintstone!"

Room Tip: Get one of the higher number caves for the best views & privacy, I suggest 13 or 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    66
    32
    14
    15
See reviews for
35
96
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Although very cold, this was one of the most memorable places I have ever been! We stayed in the Honeymoon suite - the romantic turn down we were given absolutely blew us away - thank you for a wonderful time - the food was perfect, the atmosphere cosy and the views were awesome.

We will definitely be back in the summer months to experience nature at it's best. Thank you to staff and management for creating a wonderful memory!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed there the weekend of the 6th of September with 3 other friends and what an experience! The outlook-points or viewing points are just to die for, buy an extra battery for your camera because you will take a million photos because each one is different! It is so safe, you feel so free, you feel like you are on another planet it is absolute blissful. The people were really helpful, the service is a bit slow at the restaurant but you dont mind as the view is gorgeous. So much to do, a weekend is definitely way too short would love to go back there and stay for a week. We experienced a massage as well and it was really a treat! The self-catering apartments were beautiful and have everything that you need I will definitely recommend this place to all my friends. The bedding is crisp white and aircons and stunning fire places. The stars are beautiful and the peace you cannot describe.

Room Tip: the self-catering was so worth-it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a special place and the people who explain it to you do so brilliantly. Accommodation is a combination of chalets, huts and "caves" (rooms built into the rock with some concrete assistance). Food is well prepared from good ingredients but is a little bit stuck in the 1970s - though if you're getting some exercise out there you'll be grateful for the solid nourishment. The real star is the fynbos estate, 15,000 hectares of it, and when we visited this weekend, in the first burst of spring. Game stocks include zebra, wildebeest and bontebok, but walking around one of the hiking trails (blue - a good three hours of total absorption) we saw a Cape Eagle Owl, frogs, endless lizards and some of the most jawdropping vistas I've seen in half a lifetime of pretty regular travel. Plus you really are in the middle of the wilderness. So if you want cutting edge toiletries there are plenty of international hotel chains ready to oblige, and if you want the latest in culinary practice, the Cape's full of great restaurants. But you'd be missing the point.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Kagga kamma.

Well where shall I start?
I know the good bits-
Staff- reception and the Game Rangers were very good.
Ummmm
The bed was very comfortable........
Driving around the Reserve in my own 4x4 was very enjoyable especially during a snow storm.
The area was stunning even in the extreme cold, that just added to the whole experience, snow, sunshine, rain and all the time more snow on the distant Mountains around the Ceres.
Don't expect to see much Game, we saw 2 Wildebeest and that included the same one twice!
Maybe they were hiding because of the snow.


We stayed in a cave!
Well a room with two real rocks in- cooperated and a lot of fibre glass rocks to make a ceiling etc.
Don't get me wrong it was fine, but sold as something different on the website.

We were quite happy with the accommodation, we had aircon for some heat and also brought along a small electric heater to give some warmth to the bathroom (other reviews mentioned how cold the rooms were).
The shower was no more than a trickle, because of low water pressure.

Both swimming pools looked very good, if you are thinking of visiting in the summer.

Now we get to the dodgy bit!
The restaurant was like something from Faulty Towers, I think Manuel was the chef though!
The Bar and restaurant Staff were terrible, it's like we the customer were an in-convenience and had walked uninvited into their front room.
Friday night was a Buffet night, the starters consisted of a terrine, calamari, mussels all in edible they were an embarrassment. The only edible part was the bought in chicken nuggets!
The mains consisted of Nuked Chicken & some sort of game ( I think?) for mains they kept taking the meat from the hot plate and re- heating it!
The desert was OK because it was a bought in Malva Pudding.
All this for R240 per head.
I Would not have fed it to my dog (I don't actually have a dog but you get my gist)!

I did go and mention this to reception after dinner, and apparently it was the first night they had done a Buffett.
I would have gladly paid a 100 Rand more for something decent.
At least with an al a carte menu you can choose not to order and pay for more if you don't like what you see.

The second night was al a carte!
We played it safe and went for beef steak with roast potatoes and veggies.........
Well a very nice steak, with 2 small carrot strips, 2 single green beans, a slice of raw pepper and two hard potatoes
The potatoes got sent back, but never returned!
We were asked if our food was OK, by the serving staff (no) by the Manager ( what Manager), no it was one of the rangers!
He went to ask about the under cooked potatoes, apparently the chef told him "The Whole Bag of Potatoes was Faulty".
Bless Manuel, perhaps he meant Fawlty!!

The restaurant, bar and kitchen staff lack direction & Management, there did not seem to be anybody taking charge or responsibility apart from the Game Ranger, but I don't think even he would have washed the dirty table cloths!

We booked on a Groupon deal, so saved some money.
Would we return?
No not even with another Groupon deal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve hotels

Invercargill
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I booked a cave for a night for my husband's birthday. The whole experience was awesome, from the moment we checked in until when we checked out the following morning. I can not fault in any way the service that was provided by the staff - the food at the restaurant was delicious and very prompt in delivery.
Our cave, while smallish, was cosy and very inviting. The lights had been installed in the roof to make it look, from a distance, like natural light coming through the ceiling - a nice touch. The tiles were cold to walk on, but in saying that, there was a rug on the floor beside the bed. There was ample bedding to keep us warm at night, along with an A/C - heater unit. We were quite happy to amuse ourselves, wandering around the grounds, admiring the pool, and doing the 3km loop trail (which took us through great rock formations and along the edge of a small stream to some rock art). Breakfast the following morning was a great affair, with a selection of cereals, fruit, and juices to chose from, along with hot items of your choosing.
There was no tv in the room, but this actually added to the atmosphere, rather than detracting from it. If you're in need of your daily fix, a tv is located in the bar area. Due to my desire to sleep in the outside area (which we were unable to do due to the cold front coming through), I corresponded with management several times over the course of making the booking and arriving, and they were awesome in their correspondence with me. All up, we really rated this place, the location, the food, and the service, and hope to return here when the in-laws come to visit!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The road is long and hard but that is what 4x4's are for , a wonderful get away you can’t beat the scenery both during the day and the stars at night, I have been all over this wonderful and beautiful country of ours, and am yet to find the peace I find each time I go to Kagga Kamma, put it on your bucket list, a must.

Room Tip: Chalet 10 what a view and close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve

Address: Off R303 | Southern Cederberg Mountains, Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve 6836, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kagga Kamma is an absolute treat for travellers seeking a unique and inspiring experience. On your visit you will see a part of Africa that is unlike any other. The Cederberg Mountain’s otherworldly rock formations, a crisp sky stretching endlessly overhead and beautiful rock art from an ancient culture, is the backdrop to a wonderful adventure. Kagga Kamma’s accommodation options are as unique as the landscape it is set in. The Bushman Lodge offers spacious en-suite thatched rondavels/huts. The famous 'cave suites' built against the sandstone rock formations will take you back to a prehistoric time without taking away any modern-day luxuries. Kagga Kamma also offers a one of a kind Outcrop open-air “room” where guests can sleep under the stars in sheer luxury - definitely a not-to-be-missed experience.Speaking of the stars...Take a tour into the milky way when you visit our mini-observatory. It promises to be an inspirational experience when you view the Karoo night skies through our 10-inch telescope. While the sun is out you can opt for a journey back in time with our popular rock art tours. Our expert ranger will interpret the 6000 year old Bushmen paintings and living sites scattered all across the nature reserve.Other activities to be enjoyed at Kagga Kamma include relaxing nature drives with our knowledgeable guides, hiking trails, quad bike safaris, mountain bike trails, a 4x4 route and our Kagga Kamma Relax Spa. Even eating out at Kagga Kamma will be a matchless experience when you visit the restaurant for breakfast and lunch, and an outdoor lapa surrounded by beautiful rock formations for dinner under the starlit night skies in summer time. There is also a pub and lounge area with Wi-Fi internet, as well as satellite television for watching sports events. GPS co-ordinates:Latitude: S 32 44 45Longitude: E 19 33 46 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve Hotel Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.