We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kagga Kamma” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve to your Saves list
Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
4.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Off R303 | Southern Cederberg Mountains, Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve 6836, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Kagga Kamma”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

A magical place, very serene and peaceful, and with very friendly staff.

The outlook is spectacular, though the widlife is not in abundance if this is something visitors are expecting. Getting there is not too difficult, it is off the beaten track a little, but the roads are passable.

The lodges themselves are comfortable and very clean, and we would be happy to stay there again if the opportunity arises (which we will try to ensure it does!)

Room Tip: Rooms are more or less the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    66
    33
    14
    15
See reviews for
35
97
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We should have been forewarned by the concessionary rates offered by this resort; clearly, the owners are not able to fill the resort at full rates, the reasons for which became apparent during our visit. The location is amazing and is reached by dirt roads, which we found to be in very good condition. We were put in one of the resorts “cave” rooms; these are not “caves” at all, but man made structures. Once we had got over our delight over the location, unfortunately most other things were downhill ; specifically :-

• The room was very small and was in dire need of refurbishment
• The whole of the front wall of the room comprised a sliding glass door; however, this door had to be kept closed and the curtains drawn in order to maintain any degree of privacy
• The bathroom was very dated and flooded each time one took a shower
• The “caves” were quite distant from the dining facility, which one had to use for all food and drink
• Food and drink not priced; you only find out the price when you are presented with a bill on leaving
• The “braai” around the “Boma” was very poor. Poorly lit, very smokey and the meat was inedible due to being excessively fatty, tough and over cooked
• Would not tell us the location of Bushman paintings as they want to take us there themselves, in their own transport, and charge us for the service
• Marked walking trails are not at all well marked and I got lost on both of them
• The waiting staff were most obliging but the receptionist, barman and rangers were offhand
• The “souvenir” shop was next to useless

Finally, management, as one of their selling points, offer all sorts of massages and pampering for the ladies. However, needless to say, these were not available during our 2 day visit.

All in all we were most disappointed with our stay. With a refurbishment, and a lot better management, this venue could provide the visitor with a memorable experience

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed at Kagga Kama with overseas guests. The time share 3 bedroom units were in the process of been renovated and the unit we had was terrible. That been said the Kagga Kama lodge units were amazing and the staff most helpful and friendly. In particular Megan Kay was outstanding and is a credit to the tourism industry in South Africa. Megan's helpfulness and pleasant demeanor made the trip and sorted out our issues. The rest of the Kagga team was excellent as was the spa. The sighting were good and the resort very clean and well maintained other then the chalets that were yet to be renovated. Bush paintings and the rock formations make it a geologists dream.

Room Tip: stay in the lodge rooms and you need a 4x4 vehicle to drive yourself around the reserve. Temps can v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Really stunning place and well worth seeing...but oh soooo pricey!
Probably over sold on the web site. Chalet was very small but comfortable. Not enough place for more than 2 people. Food was good. Surroundings stunning.
Staff very avarage. Would be a great place at 1/4 of the price.
Remote and quiete. Getting there was quite fun with 50 km gravel road and the Kat-bakkies pass.

Room Tip: Enough said
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is the most wonderful little place we visited, the beauty of the Koue Bokkeveld is stunning, the food fantastic and the peace absolute bliss. The staff are friendly and really good, service is excellent and the cave rooms fantastic. This is a definite place to go back to time and again, the peace is just so fantastic, away from the noise of the city, we heard black back jackals crying early in the mornings, what a lovely sound! Wish I could retire there!!!

Room Tip: If you like nature etc. the cave rooms are great! I thought it was so cool!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

First piece of advice if you want to come here - as for a [big] discount. Mind you, even with 50% off the published price it still felt waaay too much for what you get.

- location is out of the way but that's what you're going there for isn't it? No specific need for 4x4 but one of these would give you more freedom to explore the reserve by yourself
- accommodation is simple and okay (scraping the bottom of the barrel for 4 star quality though)
- food is passable but isn't going to win any awards (not as bad as some reviews suggest)
- 'game' drive is a bit of misleading term. a nice drive around our property on which you may see one or two animals might be a better description
- the cave art etc. is worth going to look at and the star gazing is good as there's pretty much zero light pollution

A nice spot to visit and the intention of the owners is good, they just need to tone down the price (a lot) and give the place a little bit of a revamp

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Our family spent three days here. It is a long drive on a gravel road-somewhere around 50-55 kilometers.
Fantastic views of the Karoo and great rock formations. The facilities of this place are a bit dated and the food is good. The price? Expensive! I understand why it would be a bit expensive considering how far you have to travel to get to a simple grocery store - but all the same your going to drop a small fortune.

Room Tip: Caves are fun for the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve

Address: Off R303 | Southern Cederberg Mountains, Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve 6836, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kagga Kamma is an absolute treat for travellers seeking a unique and inspiring experience. On your visit you will see a part of Africa that is unlike any other. The Cederberg Mountain’s otherworldly rock formations, a crisp sky stretching endlessly overhead and beautiful rock art from an ancient culture, is the backdrop to a wonderful adventure. Kagga Kamma’s accommodation options are as unique as the landscape it is set in. The Bushman Lodge offers spacious en-suite thatched rondavels/huts. The famous 'cave suites' built against the sandstone rock formations will take you back to a prehistoric time without taking away any modern-day luxuries. Kagga Kamma also offers a one of a kind Outcrop open-air “room” where guests can sleep under the stars in sheer luxury - definitely a not-to-be-missed experience.Speaking of the stars...Take a tour into the milky way when you visit our mini-observatory. It promises to be an inspirational experience when you view the Karoo night skies through our 10-inch telescope. While the sun is out you can opt for a journey back in time with our popular rock art tours. Our expert ranger will interpret the 6000 year old Bushmen paintings and living sites scattered all across the nature reserve.Other activities to be enjoyed at Kagga Kamma include relaxing nature drives with our knowledgeable guides, hiking trails, quad bike safaris, mountain bike trails, a 4x4 route and our Kagga Kamma Relax Spa. Even eating out at Kagga Kamma will be a matchless experience when you visit the restaurant for breakfast and lunch, and an outdoor lapa surrounded by beautiful rock formations for dinner under the starlit night skies in summer time. There is also a pub and lounge area with Wi-Fi internet, as well as satellite television for watching sports events. GPS co-ordinates:Latitude: S 32 44 45Longitude: E 19 33 46 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve Hotel Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.