We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent warm friendly B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Solvang

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Solvang to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Solvang
10611 Standing Stone Rd., Huntingdon, PA 16652   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$105 room-breakfast-wifi
Ranked #1 of 2 Huntingdon B&B and Inns
Gesher Haziv
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent warm friendly B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stopped overnight in this southern colonial home surrounded by forests and spacious lawns while travelling from NYC to Columbus Ohio.
The rooms are all gems with a warm atmosphere
The breakfast made in the local kitchen was nice but lacking quantity and selection.
The care taker Stephanie was extremely friendly and helpful.
We highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Last weekend I had occasion to stay at the Inn at Solvang, near Huntingdon, Pennsylvania. It was wonderful. The inn is a few miles outside of Huntingdon on a sizable acreage. There were four of us and we had booked the "Ivy Suite" through the Internet. The suite is on the top most floor and has two rooms and a bathroom. It is also right under the eves.
I am a bit over 6 foot 4 and it became immediately apparent that I might have some issues with height in the shower and also with the length of the bed. Another person in our party was elderly and had problems getting up the stairs to the suite.
Realizing that this was our problem since we booked the suite ourselves, I nonetheless spoke with the innkeeper. She was incredibly gracious and offered other rooms to us. We thankfully accepted.
The house itself was built in 1937. It is furnished very nicely, with each room having a separate motif. There is a large sitting area with a fireplace and a "music" room with a piano and a harpsichord. Breakfast is served in the dining room. (see photo below)
Coffee, wine, etc is available 24/7. For those who have to be connected to the internet, there is wi-fi. Albeit it was a bit dodgy in the music room.
It is a bit out of town, but definitely a place you want to consider.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This beautiful spot with a handsome home in the country was a prize to find. The grounds are lovely and other structures interesting to see along with an eye-catching white gazebo in the back yard. The innkeepers were gracious and professional. Fresh home-baked cookies were in our room on arrival. There is fresh coffee 24/7!!! The 3-course breakfast was absolutely delicious! This place is perfect! We are anxious to return some day! It's like home away from home!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband & I recently enjoyed a short vacation in central, PA. This Inn was one of the highlights. The staff are friendly and fun. The ambiance warm & elegant. The Garden room was comfortable, spacious & features a great tub! Breakfasts were delicious & healthy. The surrounding countryside was saturated with fall color. Folks in nearby town were super friendly. I definately recommend this Inn. Also close to Penn State!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

There are only positive things to say about the Inn at Solvang. It is all good - beautiful home and grounds, friendly and caring hosts, great breakfasts. It was a true pleasure to enjoy this great home and to experience the elegance put in place by the original owners. Our room was quiet and peaceful. We very much enjoyed our stay and will return. June & John, Maryland

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We were very privileged to be able stay in such a beautiful property. It felt like we were on the set of Gone with the wind! Stephanie and Debbie were really welcoming and made us feel at home. They looked after our every need. Home baked Cookies on arrival, endless help yourself coffee/tea. The hearty breakfasts were enough to fill us for the day, beautifully presented in lovely surroundings. The location was good for us as we were dropping our daughter off at Juniata College before heading home to the UK. A perfect choice.

Room Tip: Ivy suite, great for a family of 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We enjoyed every minute at this lovely Inn. The staff, ground, ammeities, and food was excellent. We hope to return again as one night was not enough. The music room is very special with the grand piano and harpsichord. The leather reading chairs are hard to leave. Stephanie helps to make you feel at home and does all she can to make your stay a memorable one. We have visited a number of Inns and rank this one at the top. We took in the nearby Raystown Lake and the Car Museum. We also enjoyed our drive up Big Valley. A very scenic ride. I am sure you too will enjoy at stay at Solvang.

Room Tip: The suite on the third floor is a great value for a family and includes a huge balcony overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Solvang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Solvang

Address: 10611 Standing Stone Rd., Huntingdon, PA 16652
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Huntingdon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Huntingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by forests and spacious lawns, the three story, brick, southern colonial home provides a tranquil retreat, or a gracious alternative to motel or hotel accommodations. Privacy is yours as well as the convenience of an innkeeper just steps away.Solvang allows you to unwind, enjoy a stroll through our woods, fish our private trout stream at Stone Creek, play 18 holes at Standing Stone Golf Course, or enjoy a relaxing massage by our nationally certified therapist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Inn at Solvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Solvang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.